We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great deal!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Carousel Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beach Carousel Motel
Ranked #69 of 108 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Germantown, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great deal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed at the Beach Carousel during the week on June 3rd and was very pleased. The rooms were efficiency's and very clean. The beds were comfortable and great water pressure in the shower. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the location was within a block of the boardwalk and beach. Would recommend this motel to others and would stay there again myself.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ravon1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    49
    14
    5
    18
See reviews for
73
23
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thomasville, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have only been to Virginia Beach one other time then this past weekend june of 2013. This was the weekend of the soccer tourn. Beach Carousel was pretty good, place was a little dated, but we had an efficiency unit that had two double beds, and small kitchenette. For us and our kids, it worked great. Close to the beach, shopping, and restaurants. For the little bit of time we spent there, it was just fine. WIFI worked just fine. the Cleaning staff worked with us each day, due to the weather, and with having so many people checking in and out that weekend. One great thing i will say about the owner/manager of this hotel, we left behind something, and he called us and let us know. Was very nice of him to do so. Not many places would do that, and he was willing to send it to me.

If we could give the owners/management one suggestion, it's this. units on the first level have no place to hang beach towels from the day on the beach or day at the pool. since most of the units have painted plywood front below the windows, maybe think about installing (2) towel racks for each unit on the outside right below the windows. This was your guests have a place to hang wet items to dry over night. Will not really be seen either with the parked cars there in the front of the units.

But, overall for the economy of the units, and amenities they have to offer. This place was pretty good. Just keep in mind it is dated somewhat. But most of the time your sleeping there. Thanks for the Great long weekend stay. Had a blast.

Room Tip: would recommend a efficiency, has a small kitchenette, works well for breakfast and lunches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rewtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at the motel for a week. It is definitely worth the money. The rooms are clean, it is close to the beach and pier, and the staff members were great. We wanted something that was clean/affordable and this was it. With 2 kids we didn't want to be spending most of our vacation cash on a hotel, yet for their health and safety we wanted something clean. Thanks beach carousel for making that possible :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Afam1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The place is 3 min from the beach, there a lot of nice restaurants close by, also it is quiet, clean. I cannot say that the place was great since I had some little issues, but in general for the price you pay it is a good deal!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank opalko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

I travel quite often and tend to do a lot of research prior to booking any potential place to stay. That being said, I obviously did NOT do enough research with regards to this establishment!!!! The pictures on the website and the customer reviews are ridiculously misleading and should NOT to be used as any type of accurate description of what this place truly is: a run-down, over-priced, outdated motel:-(
The gentleman who checked us in at the office was very kind and efficient...the room (on the other hand) was not so pleasant.
As soon as we opened the door, the overwhelming smell of must smacked us in the face. None of the switches were connected to any of the lighting (either that or they just didn't work) and the individual rooms resembled prison cells (cold, dark, and lifeless) rather than the bright, inviting vacation rooms pictured on the website. The front window was completely sun damaged and in desperate need of repair...yet the marquee sign read "newly renovated rooms"!!!
Once we were over the shock and disappointment, I went to speak to the manager to inform him that we could not stay at his motel given its current condition (especially for $179/night). I was then rudely told that he would do nothing further but switch us to another room because the room was "nonrefundable". I declined switching (given the state of the motel) and kindly requested a refund (even if not for the present night but for the next two nights of stay) but he arrogantly refused. His unprofessionalism and ignorance continued and escalated to the point where I finally walked out and immediately phoned AMEX to file a dispute.
During that time, my husband went back into the office to get the manager's name. My husband expressed his displeasure with their poor service and stated "Your sign says Newly Renovated Rooms...well it takes more than two small flat screen TVs to make them newly renovated...that's false advertisement!"
Upon returning to the car (which was approximately 10 rooms down from the office) and attempting to find another place to stay, we looked up to find the manager outside at the marquee sign TAKING DOWN the "newly renovated rooms" portion of the sign!!!!!! Our mouths completely dropped to the floor...so much so that we couldnt even get to our phones quick enough to take a picture of him doing it.
Rude, sneaky, and dishonest NEVER makes for a good manager and is a direct reflection on the entire establishment!!!!
All that being said, do yourself a favor and avoid this motel at all cost!!! Either find a different hotel/motel close to the beach or go inland approximately 10 minutes and stay at a place that actually takes pride in their establishment and values their customers.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gypsyqueen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

My family and I use Beach Carousel every year for your family vacation. The staff is friendly, professional and accomodating and the prices are unbeatable. The rooms are clean and spacious and we have never had any complaints. I recommend the Deluxe apartment style room for larger families. It comes with two bathrooms, two beds and two futons.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keshaun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

The room was very clean and spacious and came with a good-sized ensuite. There were plenty of laundry facilities available to use for only $1.75, and it was only 100m from the main strip and the beach front. It's just a shame it was too cold to use the pool! Very helpful and friendly staff. Even let me keep my car in the car park a couple of hours after checking out, meaning I could go scavenge the local diners...

Room Tip: It was cheaper to get 2 doubles than just a double room - scout around on the internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
19 Atlantic Hotel
19 Atlantic Hotel
#59 of 108 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.8 mi away
Schooner Inn
Schooner Inn
#50 of 108 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oceans 2700 Hotel
Oceans 2700 Hotel
#54 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alamar Resort Inn
Alamar Resort Inn
#55 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#62 of 108 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
Econo Lodge on the Ocean
#6 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Carousel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Carousel Motel

Property: Beach Carousel Motel
Address: 1300 Pacific Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3461
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 108 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Carousel Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small motel located one block off of the oceanfront strip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Beach Carousel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Carousel Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing