We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food but instant tea!”

Pocahontas Pancake & Waffle House
Ranked #16 of 1,428 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Chesapeake
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food but instant tea!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This place boast the top five breakfast in Virginia according to Southern Living Mag. It was good the service was awesome it's just that... Why with all that good food you would not have some fresh brewed southern tea? It is what part of Virginia dinning to makes the south the south but they are so busy and efficient maybe they just don't have time to fresh brew. The coffee was dead on and ready when you walk in the door but you have to wait to be seated so step outside and people watch right on the Atlantic Ave. They move people through very fast. The food is more then you can eat. I had the blue crab cheese omelet and the kids had more pancake they any kid needs. I am sure for breakfast food they could be top five in Va but it's not the whole package with only lacking fresh brew tea and I noticed that many people were drinking ice tea. This is on the strip in Virginia Beach so expect a crowd, expect to get good value in a very nice decor of Virgina / Jamestown History. Expect great service it looks like a well organized fun place to work so employees seem to take pride in the product they are serving. Fun Visit

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    403
    155
    40
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

You will get more food for your money. I ordered the eggs and smoked ham and I had so much that I could have shared it with someone.:) The food did taste really good and the staff were really nice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naha, Japan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Large portions, excellent food, kid friendly”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We ate here this morning, our family if four got in after a 20 minute wait. The wait was well worth the food! Very large portions, and excellent taste. Waitstaff was very friendly. 3 stars for atmosphere because tables are packed in tight with very little wiggle room. Will definitely come again, we all left full and satisfied. Ranked kid friendly because it is a loud restaurant, kids meals were right around $3.50 with very large portions (our kids split one)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fam4trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We ate here twice during our stay. Very crowded but they seat you quickly. Its a little loud in the restaurant. Food is excellent. Their belgian waffles are the greatest. Their omelettes are delicious also. Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smokymountainlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One very happy customer!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The service here is incredible! We went back multiple times during our stay in VA Beach. The food is ready super fast and you never leave hungry...I actually wished I had gotten half of what I had ordered on my first choice. My recommends are the biscuits and gray, scrambled eggs, omelets and choc chip pancakes. Will absolutely be back!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley89_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pocahontas Pancake & Waffle House also viewed

 
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Pocahontas Pancake & Waffle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing