We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I-Hop competition”

Pocahontas Pancake & Waffle House
Ranked #14 of 1,435 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Goodview, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“I-Hop competition”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I-Hop would be their only competition and I don't recall seeing any of those close to the beach. This place is just across from the beach and has a decent size dinning room. Staff was pleasant and food was hot.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    629
    418
    157
    40
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quick service, family-oriented but mediocre food”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We ate breakfast here on New Year's Day. The staff was warm, friendly and efficient. They had geared up for the crowd, but we arrived early and were seated promptly. Come early if you can!

The coffee was a bit weak, but the attentive staff kept it full. I ordered the breakfast sampler with pancakes and French toast, and my boyfriend ordered the sampler with waffles and French toast. On the plus side, the food arrived quickly. However, the preparation was inconsistent.

The eggs and pancakes were decidedly undercooked while the sausage and waffles were over-cooked. The French toast was tasty, but was lukewarm and a bit soggy. My eggs were fried in oil and were super-slick with it. The bacon was tasty (but skimpy on the portion size). It seemed as though the kitchen is designed for massive crowds and couldn't handle a slower pace.

The place seems best suited to larger groups and families with children. The menu is quite large with many options for breakfast, brunch and lunch. The pancakes and waffles offered a variety of toppings (for an additional cost), so there is something for everyone. It is pricier than an inland pancake restaurant, but very reasonable given its location on Atlantic, across the street from the oceanfront.

I would try this again on my next visit, as it has gotten good reviews and we may have hit it during an off day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheddarempire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Always the Perfect Breakfast”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Pocahontas serves breakfast. if you're looking for dinner, this isn't the place. In fact, they're not opened in the evening. But if you want the best breakfast anywhere, this is the place. The service is incredibly fast, the food is incredibly delicious, the menu is huge, and the price can't be beat. And the quantities - if you leave hungry, there's something wrong with you. And don't let the crowds deter you. The crowds should be a perfect example of just how good everything is. And if you're not a breakfast eater, try the salads. They're fresh and wonderful, too. For a perfect way to start the day, you can't go wrong at Pocahontas.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ColumbiaSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Great Great!”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Pocahontas has become the standard bearer for weekend breakfast in my family. Food - great! Service - great! Atmosphere - great! The only downside is that it is always packed or nearly packed. Having said that, it never takes long to get a seat.

The menu has a bounty of traditional breakfast fare, always well prepared. Their pancakes are a standout - wonderful. And they have a nice selection of healthy choices.

The servers are experienced, courteous, and proficient.

The atmosphere is a throwback to the 60's, before America got wimpy with its over-sensitivity to political correctness. The decor and murals depict the Captain Smith, Pocahontas, Jamestown story; there is a real wooden Indian standing in the dining room, and you enter the back of the restaurant through a tee-pee.

Pocahontas is extremely popular. We go during the tourist off-season as it can be too crowded during the summer. But i'ts worth the short wait if a seat isn't immediately available.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A bit pricey for breakfast but good for Gluten Free”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Convenient to our condo and had a gluten free menu. We had pancakes and they were good. Basically your typical breakfast fare. Good service.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank UKFanLex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pocahontas Pancake & Waffle House also viewed

 

Been to Pocahontas Pancake & Waffle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing