We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place is Great!”

Pocahontas Pancake & Waffle House
Ranked #14 of 1,435 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This Place is Great!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We ate here several times when we were on vacation here in VB...and we were very happy each time. They serve great breakfast food, and they do it fast with good service.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    630
    418
    157
    40
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Decent food, poor service, wildly expensive”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I was thrilled to find that they serve gluten free pancakes. My husband and I ordered breakfast but were directly under an air conditiioning vent. The place was pretty empty so we got up to move to the table next to us. The host moved us two tables over so we were inches from the podium he stood behind. He punched the podium and periodically stared at us the entire time we were there. We weren't rude and were very appreciative of his offer to help us move to another table. Cost for breakfast? $40 for two people! I might have returned despite the high cost (not often I can find gluten free pancakes), but that dude's attitude ensured that we will not be returning.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank YKNOTVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not as good as last time.”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I really liked their waffles last time but this time they were hard and flavorless. Very disappointed! The place was very busy but waiting over 10 minutes to pay the bill was ridiculous. I think I may have to move on and find another place for breakfast next time I visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Good Food, Friendly Staff But Some Flaws”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and daughter loved this place, so we ate breakfast here all three days of our visit. My son and I enjoyed it as well, just not as much. The food is similar to, but better than, an Ihop and the service is very friendly and efficient. The menu is extensive and we tried and enjoyed a variety of dishes; for you Southerners, they have grits and country ham. However, every time we went there was a 45 minute wait (it is a wildly popular place). Also, there were so many flies inside that it distracted from our enjoyment of our food. I can definitely recommend this place, but suggest you get there early (7:00 am) or else be prepared to wait.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 52marv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Family Breakfast”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We enjoyed the breakfast very much. Lots of standard fare but $120 for breakfast for 3 adults and 2 children was tough to swallow

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mbrumit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pocahontas Pancake & Waffle House also viewed

 

Been to Pocahontas Pancake & Waffle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing