We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great large house on the beachfront”

Review of Shining Star

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
10 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Virginia Beach, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
J D
Stavanger, Norway
2 reviews
“Great large house on the beachfront”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in July 2018

We had a family reunion at this cottage, and it handled our 20+ people very comfortably. The pool and hot tub were well maintained (we saw them drain the tub as we left for the next renters). The pool was shallow enough for 3-year olds as well as comfortable for the adults. The location is right on the beach, the view is spectacular, and very easy to walk right onto the beach. The multiple decks were enjoyable to hang out, the top deck is in shade by late afternoon. The layout inside is open in the living space, great for gathering of the large group. The dining table seats 24. Lots of kitchen ware to handle the group, with large pots/pans. Two dishwashers help with the loads. Would like double oven, but we managed. There are two small fridges to help hold drinks cold - one in the kitchen, one down in the game room - to give space to the main refrigerator. The house is clean, hardwood floors easy to sweep, but bring mats if you wish for bedrooms. Linens supplied for 24, and helped to have a washer and dryer, full size. Bedrooms are generous sized, can sleep some on mattresses if needed. The property management responded well when we had a dishwasher leak occur. We had a great week, it's a great floor plan, and would recommend this place to other large families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tramichel...
york, pa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house, awesome beach, wonderful family vacation!”
Reviewed September 20, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We arrived to a beautful, large house that accomodated our 10 family members. The house was very clean (though it looked as though the floors hadn't been cleaned/swept), but a call to the rental company and they had someone there within an hour to clean them! A few downsides: by 1pm or so, the pool area is completely shaded, so don't plan on laying by the pool if you want some rays! The hot tub temperature and jet buttons didn't really work. The knives in the kitchen could use some sharpening and we needed more non-stick pans to cook with. The grills were also difficult to use (didn't stay lit, handle broken on one grill). The outdoor fabric furniture on the top deck looked cozy and inviting, but it ended up wet and full of bird poop every day - it looks nice, but not easy to keep clean or dry! The good: dining area is great for big family dinners. The kitchen is large and pretty well stocked. There is plenty of space inside and our for people to spread out. We loved that most bedrooms had their own ensuite bathrooms/TV's and several had access to the deck. You can't beat the oceanfront location of course - we enjoyed watching the dolphins, ships and fighter jets that went by!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
596janetb
Stafford, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Vacation Ever!”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our family of 12 adults and 13 children stayed at Shining Star the first week in July. As the other reviewers mentioned, the property includes beautiful beach-front views, large gathering areas, and space for privacy. We took advantage of the beach, pool, and hot tub. My husband and I viewed the property in March, during the renovation process, and were so pleased with the results of their work when we arrived in July. The new siding, hardwood floors, and replaced windows and doors really give the property an updated, inviting appearance. On the second day of our arrival we realized that one of our commodes didn't flush and one of the burners on the stove didn't work. Within 30 minutes of our call to the rental agency someone was there to take care of both. We did not experience any inconvenience thanks to their prompt attention. Don't miss Bingo on Wednesday evenings at the Sandbridge Fire Station. It's a popular event so you won't want to be late. The produce stand that you'll pass on the right, prior to entering Sandbridge, sells a variety of veggies, jellies, and wonderful homemade pies. I have to mention the yummy rolls from the grocery market and the chicken tacos from the taco stand. Both are located as you enter the Sandbridge community. Our group included 5 of our 7 grown children along with their spouses and children. We try to get together every two years but this was our first stay at the Shining Star. Everyone agreed that this was the best vacation ever! We're looking forward to another stay in 2017.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Instead of keys, occupants are able to use a code to enter the house. This allowed for early check-in. Since we were all arriving at different times everyone had access.
Liked least: The tips were worn on the billiard pool cues, but it was an easy fix with a $5 purchase of new tips.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ocean front, easily accommodated us all
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 3, 2015 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ocean and the pool.
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed March 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing