We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first Candlewood - I will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk
Ranked #42 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2010

I was looking to go to the beach over Labor Day weekend, and had Priority Club points to use. This hotel popped up on the list so I decided to give it a try, even though I had never stayed at a Candlewood before. I was pleasantly surprised - my room was pleasant and comfortable, the kitchen appliances were nice, and the little store downstairs offered any snack I could have wanted, and trusted us to be honest in telling them what we chose (not something you see much of these days). I noticed there was a grill guests could use, and the property offered a cookout for their guests mid-week, which sounded nice as Candlewoods are supposed to be extended-stay properties and it probably gets old staying in your room every night. The one negative was that my room was next to the stairs, and the door isn't quiet when it closes. Otherwise, an excellent trip, and close to good restaurants, grocery stores and the highway!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuziQ22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melindawarren, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2010

Dear SuziQ22:

Thank you so much for staying with us on your trip to VA Beach! We appreciate you taking the time to write a positive review on your stay with us. We strive for 100 % guest satisfaction. Feedback tells us what we are doing right and what we are can improve on.

I am so glad you got a chance to enjoy all of our great amenities. We do try to make this home away from home for our guest. As you stated we have guests that stay with us for awhile and we want them comfortable. Next time make sure you request to be away from the stairways and in the meantime I will have maintenance look at the door and see if we can make it be not as loud.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Candlewood Suites VA Beach real soon!

Warm Regards,
Melinda L. Warren
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 214 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2010

The sales team and hotel staff here are excellent. If you find a deficiency in anything they do, they will fix it expeditiously. I have stayed in this Candle Wood and the one in Chesapeake. They are friendly, courteous and always willing to accommodate you in everything. Can't find a deal on the web? Call them! They work with people, they're always reasonable and get back to ASAP! My children loved their stay here and there is plenty of malls and restaurants in the area to choose from. They are in Central Virginia Beach near the heart of it all and have many ammenities. Free laundry, pool, hot tub, 24 hr fitness center and spacious rooms! How much more could you ask for?! Great place!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verndellw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

My Co-worker and I stay at the Candlewood Suites in Virginia Beach, Va at least 4 to 5 nights a month and the staff is extremely polite and helpful. The rooms are great and very kozy and spacious. Not to mention the sales team is very accomadating and helpful in whatever our needs are.

You will definately miss out if you pass this property by.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egreene77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

We (9 of us) needed a nice hotel at a good rate for a 9 day stay and this hotel was just the right place. The kitchen area is really nice for preparing our own meals. The staff was about the nicest I have seen while traveling. The people working the front desk kept busy with keeping the lobby clean and other cleaning task when they were not busy at the desk. They were willing to help with anything that was needed. Brandi, the director of sales was very helpful with getting our reservations setup for our trip. Good place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Friendly staff, clean and modern rooms, comfortable accommodations, all made for an excellent stay. I would recommend Candlewood Suites to anyone and plan on staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vech24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

If your looking for complete satisfaction in all areas, you need to stay here. This "TEAM" goes above and beyond the call of duty to meet and exceed your expectations. You will relax and enjoy the team of Virginia Beach!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

I'm writing this review approximately 1 hour before I needed to wake-up, and that's how it's been for the week I've stayed here.
The reason being is that the walls are so thin that my neighbors wake-up call from the front desk sounds like it's coming from my room.
I swore off Candlewoods two years ago, and now I remember why.
On the "pro" side -The price was fair, and the location was central to my needs.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drufasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melindawarren, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2010

Dear Drufasa:

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I know many people read reviews and take a cue from guests like you. I am glad you had an overall good experience at our hotel.
We think we’re in a great location – and our guests love our proximity to Towne Center.

Sorry you were not able to get a good nght sleep. I wish we would have known and we would have made sure we took care of it while you were here. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Candlewood Suites VA Beach real soon! We’re eager to show you our hospitality!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beac...
#59 of 109 in Virginia Beach
289 reviews
3.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Norfolk Virginia Beach
La Quinta Inn Norfolk Virginia B...
#52 of 109 in Virginia Beach
385 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Nor...
#28 of 109 in Virginia Beach
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach
Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Bea...
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
526 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,074 reviews
2.8 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Norfolk
Courtyard Virginia Beach Norfolk
#53 of 109 in Virginia Beach
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk

Address: 4437 Bonney Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23462-3815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#32 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $79 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel Virginia Beach - Norfolk - Hampton Roads, VA. The Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel Virginia Beach - Norfolk - Hampton Roads is a member of Priority Club Rewards & the IHG family of brands including InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn, Express & Staybridge Suites Hotels. The Candlewood Suites is the perfect hotel for government (Per Diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary & corporate housing needs.The Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach - Norfolk Hotel is centrally located mile from the Virginia Beach Town Center @ the Independence Blvd exit of I-264 near I 64; minutes from VA Beach beaches & Norfolk Airport (ORF). Our hotel is close to Downtown Norfolk & Virginia Beach real estate districts; offering near access to Northrop Grumman, Lockheed Martin, Keane Inc., General Dynamics, Little Creek Amphibious Navy Base, Oceana Naval Air Station & Norfolk Naval Shipyard. The Candlewood Suites Hotel offers apartment like suites with all of the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short term hotel real estate needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) offers studio & one-bedroom apartment - like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living & work areas, TV with DVD players, free wired & wireless Internet. Other features include 24 hour business center, free laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard with grills & our signature Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk Hotel Virginia Beach
Candlewood Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing