We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for Long-Term and Short-Term Stays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk
Ranked #47 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2010

I stayed at this Candlewood several times while my significant other who was there on a long-term assignment. It is in a convenient location near downtown Virginia Beach which has many and varied restaurants, movies and shopping - and a short drive from the beach. It was a very comfortable (having a full kitchen), clean and the furniture and decor very new and fresh; linens very plush. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. I highly recommend the Candlewood Suites for anyone on leisure travel or business, long or short-term. {It is across the parking lot from a Crowne Plaza which shares it's pool and facilities.}

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCS47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 207 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2010

This place surprised me. It was my first stay here or at any candlewood. I was greeted as a priority member and given a goody bag of snacks. The room was nice and large, very clean, new looking and stylish. It had a kitchenette and full size fridge which is something you never see. More than enough room in there as to not feel so trapped like in a budget hotel. It had a nice large TV, computer desk, and king bed which was very comfortable. I would compare this room to high end Marriott’s but for less money. The only real disappointment to this place was no free breakfast, or any breakfast. All they have is a small room with snacks, drinks, and a few essentials which are easily billed to your room or paid with cash. It's not a big deal because there are many places to grab a quick b-fast right down the road, but I always like getting the free continental. The location is good, right off 264 and close to everything. I will definitely stay here again in the future. I didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SolidStateS15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

During my family vacation we stayed in the Candlewood Suites in Virginia Beach. The rooms were great, the service was great, and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k8yln41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

My team needed a hotel local to an event we were participating in the following morning to raise donations and awareness for Wounded Warrior Project. Candlewood Suites, Virginia Beach stepped up to the plate with a great room and accommodations. The room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. Check in was a breeze and friendly. The room had full kitchen complete with refrigerator and stove. I would highly recommend this hotel as an option for next stay in Virginia Beach. Thanks so much to Candlewood Suites and Kristen Shelton for your outstanding customer care and support of Team X.T.R.E.M.E., Wounded Warrior Project and our wounded veterans.

Always Vigilant,

Jeremy Soles
Team X-T.R.E.M.E.
Founder / President
http://www.facebook.com/jeremy.soles#!/pages/TEAM-X-TREME/158443981945?ref=mf

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sphinx2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Go stay at the beach even if you spend a little more. This hotel has nothing to offer, no pool, no automatic doors, no opening windows for fresh air, no breakfast, no restaurant, no greeting snacks". Internet is down often. Phone kept ringing in the middle of the night. For many nights. Finally had to unplug it and leave it that way. They only have 1 guest computer that wasn't working. There is rarely anyone at the front desk. With the exception of a few, the staff isn't very friendly. Anytime you need anything you need to go to them, they won't bring it to you. They were painting while we were there and didn't bother to ventilate. 1st floor reeks of smoke that manages to make it's way upstairs (lovely toxic fumes)! Housekeeping service - not for long term stays; you do it yourself! I think hotels are taking the whole become "green" to extremes, by skimping. In general it could and should be cleaner. Lacks hospitality. The only good things, it allows pets and has a fairly large suite with kitchen.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jipsy5233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

In the two nights we stayed here, the fire alarm went off FOUR times (not due to us). The staff seems to recognize the problem but writes it off as "the alarm is sensitive if people are cooking." The staff does not provide adequate direction regarding the status, or if we're allowed to come back in even when the fire alarm goes off. I would not stay here, unless you enjoy hearing ear piercing siren of your room's fire alarm at the worst possible moments. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stentor79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

My stay at the Candlewood Suites Vriginia Beach was wonderful. The staff is friendly and the atmosphere feels like walking into my families house. They went above and beyond to make me feel comfortable and to make sure my needs were met. I stayed in a queen suite and the room had everything I needed, and some of course I didn't. I was also there for their cookout on Wednesday and was able to meet some of the other people in the hotel. It was a wonderful experience and I would recommend it to anybody who is going to Virginia Beach. Thank you candlewood!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grantro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beach -Town Center
Crowne Plaza Hotel Virginia Beac...
#59 of 109 in Virginia Beach
288 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Norfolk
Holiday Inn Virginia Beach - Nor...
#31 of 109 in Virginia Beach
432 reviews
0.6 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Virginia Beach
WoodSpring Suites Virginia Beach
#56 of 109 in Virginia Beach
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Norfolk
Courtyard Virginia Beach Norfolk
#55 of 109 in Virginia Beach
160 reviews
3.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Norfolk Virginia Beach
La Quinta Inn Norfolk Virginia B...
#51 of 109 in Virginia Beach
381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Days Inn Virginia Beach Town Cen...
#85 of 109 in Virginia Beach
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk

Address: 4437 Bonney Rd, Virginia Beach, VA 23462-3815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#32 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $83 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel Virginia Beach - Norfolk - Hampton Roads, VA. The Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel Virginia Beach - Norfolk - Hampton Roads is a member of Priority Club Rewards & the IHG family of brands including InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn, Express & Staybridge Suites Hotels. The Candlewood Suites is the perfect hotel for government (Per Diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary & corporate housing needs.The Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach - Norfolk Hotel is centrally located mile from the Virginia Beach Town Center @ the Independence Blvd exit of I-264 near I 64; minutes from VA Beach beaches & Norfolk Airport (ORF). Our hotel is close to Downtown Norfolk & Virginia Beach real estate districts; offering near access to Northrop Grumman, Lockheed Martin, Keane Inc., General Dynamics, Little Creek Amphibious Navy Base, Oceana Naval Air Station & Norfolk Naval Shipyard. The Candlewood Suites Hotel offers apartment like suites with all of the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short term hotel real estate needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) offers studio & one-bedroom apartment - like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living & work areas, TV with DVD players, free wired & wireless Internet. Other features include 24 hour business center, free laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard with grills & our signature Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach / Norfolk Hotel Virginia Beach
Candlewood Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing