We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (877)
Filter reviews
877 results
Traveler rating
237
247
163
112
118
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
247
163
112
118
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the street timeshare owners full kitchen living room fire pit concierge desk adult pool hot tub off season the check in process small balcony sun deck beach front the north end unit pools tortuga
Filter
Updating list...
782 - 787 of 877 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Ocean Beach Club December 09-14 2009. We arrived to superior service from all staff, prompt service and even our choice of floor. Our suite was absolutely beautiful and clean. The pictures on the website were accurate, but look better in person. We were given a list of common delicious restaurants and tour attractions located in Virginia Beach. The parking deck is directly across the street, and only guests are able to utilize the deck, which is good. It was truely beachfront. The inside of the hotel, from the pool (super in size), to the fitness center on the 17th floor was definately above average. I would recommend Catch 31 located in the Hilton a short walk away if you like upbeat environments, and good food. Also Captin George Restaurant a short drive away. 1 fish 2 fish and any of the shops along the strip. For tourism, the Virginia Acquarium, Nauticus/ Battleship Wisconsin and any of the daily cruises are worth the time. Overall, Superior, relaxing, beautiful resort and environment. We will definately make this our annual vacation destination

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ND88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2009

We LOVE Turtle Cay, however, decided to stay somewhere different. Big mistake. Apparently, we aren't the only ones that felt this way, because one of Gold Key's own representatives told us during the week that many, many other people had complained about the same things we had experienced, and they liked Turtle Cay much better, too.

Ocean Beach Club is beautiful from the outside, the outdoor bar/firepit area are fantastic, outdoor pool is very, very small, but heated - nobody in our group got in because of how small it was. We did have a "private" balcony on our room, which had the neighbors window looking right onto your balcony. They could open their window and curtains and were only 3 feet away from you. Imagine our surprise when we were sitting on the balcony and the curtain behind us was pulled shut - all of a sudden on go the lights, and open the curtains and a flurry of children rush into the room behind us. It is obviously a design flaw and absolutely the worst set-up I have ever seen. Gold Key's own representative told us they understood that Gold Key paid less for this resort, but charged timeshare owners more. The amenities that appear to be more luxurious are deceiving. The only benefits of the resort are being right on the boardwalk and the firepit. We didn't hear anyone else say anything positive about their stay either. Rooms are very small - main bedroom has barely enough room to walk around the bed. Queen sized bed is more like a double, not a queen.

Internet we paid for everyday, never worked. Had to call multiple times every day to have internet reset. Parking/internet/housekeeping fees excessive.

Would not stay at OCB again. Unfortunate experience.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
Thank designera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Stayed here in the winter time on a spur of the moment trip to getaway. Found the hotel online and found that it was fairly new. We got to the hotel later in the day and we got a room that didn't have an ocean view. Fortunately, I do enjoy the F-18's that are constantly flying around VA Beach and we did have a great view of the runway at the nearby Oceana Naval Air Station. We had an efficiency room with a fully equipped kitchen, large living/dining room and a seperate bed and bathroom. I can say that the hotel was nice and the rooms were very clean. I didn't pay much attention to the costs or hidden fees as we only stayed one night. Even in the off season it was a little high but was about the same as the nearby Hilton. The staff were friendly. The location is right on the boardwalk and only a few steps away from the sand. I wouldn't hesitate coming back to the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoungBuckTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

Although a specific oceanfront rm. was promised, it was "not available" after being reserved months ago. Was told parking and safe included free of charge but billed $7 per day parking and $1 per day for safe...which had to be disputed at checkout. Others leaving were having same problem! Except for penthouse, rms. compared to your average $75 highway motel...but with a single queen bed. Not a luxury suite as described. No restaurant on site, but some were close by. Capt.George seafood buffet was pricey but excellent. Beach oily, but they were trying to clean it each night. Be prepared for sales pitch.
Staff friendly. Towels delivered Tues. only. Daily maid service $50 per day. Very small balcony, but pool area has sun in a.m. Can watch jets flying over day & night, and ships going into Norfolk from Oceanview rms. Would be ok in summer mos. for available activities in area.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waterworks333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

I was delighted with the VA Beach Club's web site and the fact that is a relatively new property on VA Beach. I was even happier that they offered a rate tha was withing my agencies per diem allowance. Now the facts: The room was small. Way small. Just walking around distance around the queen size bed. My room was an efficiency, with a microwave and refrigerator. No room to use either. Closet space was cabinet space on each side of the tv. What made it really unacceptable to me was the $30.00 a day charge for basic housekeeping. You could get a discount ($20.00) for just making up the bed, or ($10.00) for clean towels and picking up the garbage. Things they don't tell you when you check in. Go with a traditional hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank macwim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews