We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a deal”
Review of Ocean Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Beach Club
Ranked #68 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Normally we stay below 9th Street and Atlantic Avenue in Virginia Beach just to be close to the Inlet. There are lots of shops and restaurants also. We came across a great deal for Ocean Beach Club that we could not resist. The area above 30th Street has been upgraded in the last two years with specialty shops, great restaurants and a mall. The hotel staffs were friendly and knowledgeable. There was a concierge to assist us with all our travel questions. The room was spacious with separate kitchen and dining area. The layout was comfortable. We truly enjoyed the views of the beach and the city from our corner room.

Room Tip: Get a high floor room for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBGM1, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Gene M,

We are delighted that you selected to stay at our Ocean Beach Resort, and that you had a chance to see all the wonderful things that are happening on the North side of the beach.
We thank you for you kind comments which will be shared with our associates. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (793)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 793 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

Really loved staying on the penthouse floor in 1 BR ocean view... views of beach in front and the pier in the distance, as well as the main strip or the bird's eye view of the city. Some construction next door but not a lot of noise. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Free valet parking for handicapped was definitely a plus and VA Beach is definitely the most accessible beach I have ever seen. Nice wide beach and paved boardwalk, with separate lane for bikers, skaters and boarders. I only wish there was a recycling program. Having access to both Oceannaire and OBC amenities is really nice and great food in walking distance. Looking forward to coming back next year!

Room Tip: I prefer the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBGM1, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear dbcarol,

It was a pleasure to read you kind review concerning your recent stay. We are very happy that you enjoyed our resort's amenities and location. Please keep us in mind on your future visits to Virginia Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We exchanged through Interval International (II) to Ocean Beach Club in Virginia Beach as I wanted and needed a nice getaway to see the ocean. We arrived and was given room 807 STREET view. I nicely asked if I could please get an ocean view and the lady at the desk, who felt her job was very important, said your not an owner here and don't get an ocean view room. I know usually Interval has some kind of agreement with resorts to make sure we as exchange owners don't end up in rooms like this. Not here obviously. The young lady at the desk reminded me that we don't guarantee rooms. So once arriving to room, there is no balcony and only view of building across the street where construction is going on. First thing my entire family said was that we could have stayed home for this. I travel ALOT trough Interval but first time here and very disappointed. US as timeshare owners keep this venture going. They should realize that and not look down on us as I was at front desk. Also it is $8 a day that you pay to park here.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kagodfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBGM1, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent stay at our resort.
I am sorry to read that some aspects of your stay have not been satisfactory, in particular with the way you were informed that we were unable to upgrade you to an oceanfront room. Your comments have been addressed with the appropriate department heads regarding your concerns. We strive for excellence in guest service and it is our goal to exceed our guests’ expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I'll preface this review by saying my family and I have stayed at the O.B.C multiple times. We are teachers and look forward to exchanging our share for here as it is a perfect distance for us to travel with little kids. The location is fantastic and the experience has always been top notch.
This is our first time staying an entire week on the city side of the resort. As others have mentioned in their posts, we too asked if there was an ocean view and were told by Mitch that we should check back Sunday. We did then they said we were not on a list so they then put us on a list saying that we should check back on Monday and it would also be a $50 charge to move.
Well, nothing seemed to come available so we were stuck with our "sunset view" as a young lady at the desk called it.
It's now Friday morning and I can now tell you the resorts trash pickup schedule. It is M-W-F between the hrs of 7:30 am and 7:50 am. How do we know? The trashtruck lays on the horn to let the workers know to push the 5 dumpsters out into the street. He then lays on the horn to say goodbye and then they now roll the 5 empty dumpsters back into hotel(amazing how much noise empty dumpsters make!)
Pool: rules are posted yet not enforced. Took our kids into the pool and had to dodge Shamu the whale float, squirt guns, and beach balls.
Last thing, our parking pass key became deactivated earlier in week. Received a nice talkdown lecture from a young lady behind the desk on how I need to be careful with the card and what I probably did to deactivate. Impressive c.s.!
Finally, the guest services staff/valets are outstanding! Quick to respond to requests and extremely cordial!! The hotel is very clean. Although how is it possible that in the yr 2014 there is no recycling?

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank irishhoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBGM1, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear irishhoops,
Thank you for selecting our property for your family’s vacation. We appreciate your feedback as this helps us improve our guest and owners satisfaction. I appreciate your kind comments regarding our guest service staff / valet.
Your comments are being reviewed by our department heads to make any necessary changes to our processes, based on your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you and your family in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We have stayed at OBC two times in the past and decided to book another stay for spring break. I recently had read some negative reviews from earlier in the year and was a bit perplexed because we had never had a bad experience..but we went ahead and booked anyway. I exchanged through II and somehow got into a 2 bedroom penthouse suite on the 18th floor..it was awesome. The view was great and the space was huge! I had stayed in 2 bedroom units in the past and they are also just fine. My family enjoyed the beach, boardwalk, pool and game room...we all had a terrific stay and would totally stay again and again! The place has a warm feel to it, staff is great and environment is terrific. I even strolled over to the new Oceanaire a few times which has a more upscale vibe to it and also seemed very nice..but I love OBB.

Room Tip: oceanfront if you can on any floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmom1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBGM1, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear travelmom1962,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to our Ocean Beach Club!
We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to leave a positive review regarding your stay. It's a pleasure to know how much you enjoyed our facility and amenities. Your kind comments will be shared with our team. We look forward to being of service to you during future visits to Virginia Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Ocean Beach Club in April on an exchange through II. From the moment we drove onto the the property we were greeted by friendly staff, efficient service and cleanliness. Our oceanfront one bedroom unit was clean and comfortable. Unlike many timeshares the WIFI was free and we did appreciate this.

Overlooking the pools we were able to watch how well the staff attended to the area from skimming leaves from the water to picking up used towels. It was great to see them removing towels from unused chaise loungers, so unlike some resorts, people could not stake out spots to hog them all day even when they were away from the pool for extended periods of time.

We like to use the stairs rather than the elevators for exercise and we were surprised to see notices on the stairway windows that the use of the stairs was for emergency only. We did go up and down the stairs as did other staff and guests.

We could have used several more kitchen items as we like to prepare and eat some meals in our unit. Having only 4 of each (plate, knife etc.) means running the dishwasher more often than necessary. (No salad servers, serving spoons etc) I'd also like to see some recycling as a lot of garbage is generated by such a large facility.

Watching the steady flow of commercial and military ships, the air force jets, the steady stream of people and pets on the boardwalk was entertaining.

The adult pool was warm and clean with our only complaint being the smell from smokers sitting by the fire pit.

We had a great week and hope to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarilynBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBGM1, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

I want to personally thank you for selecting our resort as your vacation getaway. We appreciate your suggestions and kind comments.
We are sorry that you were not aware that we do have foam pillows and additional guest room items available upon request. We are very pleased to know that you had a memorable experience, and would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We traveled to this resort as part of the "getaway" program through my parent's timeshare. The price was certainly great for a Friday 4/4-Friday 4/11 stay. The weather wasn't what we had hoped for but that is certainly no fault of the resort. On that note...
We arrived Friday a little after 5:00pm with two other couples. Each of us had booked an "A" unit, which is a small--really small studio. During check-in, one of the other couples traveling with us had asked about upgrading to a larger unit and we were all told that we would be able to upgrade Sunday to the larger "B" units. We were also told that we couldn't upgrade at that time because the resort was fully booked. If that were true, I would love to know where all those guests were! I had sent an e-mail to the resorts customer service 6 weeks prior to our arrival asking if our 3 rooms could be close to each other and requested an ocean view. Our room was on the 11th floor with a sliver of a corner ocean view, the other 2 rooms were on the 9th and 15th floors. When we entered our room and turned on the a/c unit, the room was filled with a horrible musty smell. Also, whenever the people in the room next to us were smoking on their balcony, it sucked the smoke right through our vents into our room. They only have queen sized beds and the pillows are down and terribly uncomfortable. Sunday morning, we excitedly went down to the lobby and were told to check back for room upgrades after noon. Around 12:30, we checked again and were told "maybe after 2:00". At 3:00, checked a third time only to be told there were no upgrades available. Very disappointing to say the least, and again, the resort was hardly full. That evening after sitting out by the fire pit, one of the couples in our party went in to the lobby to check again and were given an upgraded room! We found out about this the next morning, so I again went down the desk to find out what was going on. I was told there was a list of people requesting room upgrades but somehow our names weren't on that list--from Friday! Talk about inconsistent customer service. After hounding them early Monday morning, we were finally able to upgrade Monday afternoon but I really think it's only because they were sick and tired of seeing me at the front desk. Lesson here is don't book a studio and if you do, prepare to be stuck in a tiny room!
The rest of the resort was really nice. The over 21 pool/hot tub area is beautiful and they keep it well maintained with clean towels and diligent maintenance on sanitization of both pools. The martini lounge is also pretty swanky with decent happy hour specials on drinks. Service was also superb there!
Now for some of the weird things... There is a little café/tiki bar called Tortugas. The first day we were there, it was open serving food and drinks outside. It was only open 2 other days we were there. There is a large granite table with a fire pit in the middle that was perfect for relaxing on the chilly nights. Again, it was on the first 3 nights then turned off and we had been told it couldn't be turned on because it was broken. The last full day we were there we spoke to the Property Manager (who is awesome!) and asked about it and she said that it's no problem to turn it on if we wanted it. ?? Guess the first few requests just went to people who didn't care about guest happiness. The neighboring resort, The Oceanaire has a beautiful 10th floor outdoor lounge. This space would be fantastic with the simple addition of a fire pit or hot tub! Just little things that would really set this as an upscale property.
Overall, we had a great time in spite of the annoyances. We met some super people and had lots of laughs! If you're traveling to the area, be prepared to pay significant amounts higher on everyday items. I figured being a beach destination area that prices would be higher, but things were definitely pricier than anticipated.

Room Tip: Book a "B" unit!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBGM1, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post comments regarding your recent experience at our facilities.
Our principal goal is to exceed our guests and owners expectations with outstanding products and service. Consequently, it is very disappointing to learn that you had trouble upgrading from your deeded unit type. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience and or miscommunication. Your comments have been addressed and appropriate action has been taken. We look forward to serving you again on your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0 mi away
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
#45 of 109 in Virginia Beach
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,042 reviews
1.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,534 reviews
0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Virginia Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#23 of 109 in Virginia Beach
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Club

Address: 3401 Atlantic Ave., Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $88 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Beach Club features upscale studios with kitchenettes, and 1- and 2-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens and separate living rooms with queen sleeper sofas. Resort amenities include an oceanfront adult only infinity pool with bar service, an indoor pool with cascading water features, two outdoor oceanfront pools including a children's pool, a 17th floor ocean view fitness center, and a Game Room. Guests can enjoy a specialty cocktail at Ultra Craft Cocktails Lounge, or dine poolside for breakfast, lunch or dinner at seasonal Tortugas Café & Tiki Bar. Accommodations feature private balconies with city views or ocean views, jetted tubs in suites, cable TV with premium channels, DVD players, free Wi-Fi and in-room safes. Ocean Beach Club also offers laundry facilities onsite, a concierge to plan excursions and a Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Club Hotel Virginia Beach
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Club Virginia Beach
Ocean Beach Virginia
Ocean Beach Club Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing