We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas Week on VA Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Beach Club
Ranked #72 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Christmas Week on VA Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We spent Christmas week here on a time-share exchange to stay close to family for the holidays. Our oceanfront 1-bedroom condo offered excellent views of the Atlantic with fabulous sunrises and sunsets. The Ocean Beach Club complex was well located on Atlantic Avenue, employees were extremely friendly and helpful, and amenities like indoor and outdoor heated pools were welcoming, even with the December weather. Ocean Beach Club was very nice, but not the same caliber as the Marriott, Hilton, or Westin Resorts we are more accustomed to staying at. Amenities like trash chutes, guest laundry, soda and ice machines, and elevators were all very convenient to our unit.

Our 1 bedroom unit on the 7th floor was well maintained, clean, and perfect for our stay in the area. The bed was very comfortable and dresser and closet space was very adequate. Two HVAC units in the condo allowed for temperature control in each living area. The bedroom HVAC unit was very close to the bed causing it to blow over/at a person if left on at night. The bathroom, kitchen, dining areas, and living room areas offered plenty of space for their purposes. There were two (42"?) LG Flat Screen TVs in the unit. There was a nice sized safe in the bedroom closet, not like the smaller ones in some hotels.

Several restaurants and adequate parking was available close to the complex. Unfortunately parking was at an added charge. I expect parking here is at a premium during high season. Grocery stores were within a few blocks.

The one item of frustration was the inability to get cell service without going out on the balcony.

Room Tip: Push for oceanfront room. Others wouldn't have much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoshuasGPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBGM1, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Our staff and I thank you for selecting our Ocean Beach Club Resort to spend your Christmas vacation with us. We sincerely appreciate your gracious reviews and are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities and guest service. As always it is our goal to ensure every guest has a wonderful experience. Please keep us in mind on your future travels, as we would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    207
    133
    91
    89
See reviews for
338
215
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Kentucky
Level Contributor
144 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Spent a week there. The help was great – couldn't do enough for you. The facilities & management were another story. Furniture was threadbare. The tub would not hold water & we were told to not use water for two days due to some plumbing issue – on the second day we received a call suggest we not drink the water or use their ice – a little late 0- promising they would let us know when it was safe. We never got that call but did ask at the front desk as we were checking out – evidentially the problem was fixed a day and a half earlier – they just didn’t bother to let anyone know. Suggestion, insist you get booked in the newer of the two buildings. We met some people that stayed on that side & toured their space = 10x better than ours.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Digger309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBGM1, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your stay. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay, in particular with the water. Although it was promptly corrected I am sorry that you were not notified immediately.
Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you give us a second chance to serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

This property is a timeshare property, that also doubles as a hotel. The rooms are modern and have full kitchens. I must say the rooms are big and nice. One downside, no room service. I mostly travel for business and this is a must. I stayed here during the offseason so not much was going on in the area. This a property I recommend for families as it is right on the beach. I would return here only if coming with my wife and kids.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank locolos13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBGM1, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thanks for taking time to leave your feedback concerning your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our resort and amenities. We look forward to being of service to you and your family during any future visits to Virginia Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulles, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Exchanged one of my Royal Resort weeks to visit friends in VAB. I am accustomed to the 5 star quality of the Royal resorts and have made other exchanges that were nice.
However Ocean Beach Club is not anywhere close to the same level resort. The resort was nice enough looking but the service was lackluster at best. And worse than that as an exchange guest we received sub par service as part of their standards.
When we asked after 2 days if housekeeping would be attending to our unit we were told no. that they would come in in Tuesday. We were booked Friday to Friday. Our trash was full and we were told to take it to the trash shoot. they said only awl in guests get daily housekeeping.
Well then maybe they should not have given us a welcome packet that said they provide daily housekeeping?!
Will I recommend this resort? No!
Will I return? No.
Will I tell Interval that they should not list this as a premier resort? Yes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afsnva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBGM1, General Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your stay. The service infractions you have described are not typical of our staff or of the Ocean Beach Club itself. We understand that you were disappointed that Ocean Beach Club does not offer complimentary housekeeping services as part of the vacation; however it would appear that there are other details that perhaps you chose not to express in your evaluation. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to hear what those infractions were so that the matter can be evaluated for improvement or so that corrective action can be taken to improve the vacation experience our staff offers our owners and guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Virginia Beach hotels

Culpeper, VA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We have owned a timeshare week at Ocean Beach Club for 5 years. Anyone thinking of staying here should know that you will have NO cell phone signal inside the hotel. They do have free wifi in the rooms. Room options include a single bedroom and bath which includes a mini fridge and microwave, a suite with bedroom, bath, full kitchen, and living area, and the two units combined. Keep in mind that ocean view rooms are NOT oceanfront. Ocean view rooms are on the side of the building. All public areas are lovely and well maintained, but the room furnishings are shabby and dated. The sectional sofa has 3 different fabrics...we call it the "couch of many colors". Location is great. We have a 2 bedroom oceanfront unit and love the great ocean view. Kitchen is well equipped, although we don't do much cooking. There are several good restaurants nearby. Chops was a new restaurant in 2013 and was excellent. Go early for 1/2 price entrees.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank VARivergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBGM1, General Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for owning with us at the Ocean Beach Club. We hope you enjoyed your week with us this year and we appreciate your kind comments about the room set up, public areas and location. I also appreciate your comments regarding your feelings that the furniture was "shabby & dated". Every item at your resort is currently on a Reserve for Replacement schedule that is reviewed annually by your Board of Directors. As an owner here, you can reach out to your Owner's Association representative at any time to discuss the current Reserve Schedule as well as make suggestions to be passed along. They can be reached at 1-800-Gold Key. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to serving you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Maryland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a 1 BR---great value for what you get. The full kitchen is wonderful, well stocked. Huge room overall, big dining table, living room areas, bathroom is enormous with large jetted tub. We love the location, we bring our bikes and hit the boardwalk area from early to late. The pool was ok, didn't feel all that warm and unfortunately no hot tub (there is one next door for adults only). Had to hunt down towels since they were all gone and people were just throwing the used ones all over the place--once notified staff picked them up and brought fresh ones. The onsite restaurant is great atmosphere, but food was not as good as we remembered from last year. Also, it is hard to get the luggage cart in between the outer door and inner door to your room (there are two separate rooms behind each door). The only real complaint, which we knew from reading prior reviews, was the trash pick up around 6:30 every morning even Sunday. The sound is horrific, might as well set the alarm for 6:15 and save yourself being jolted out of sound sleep by the loudest crashing you can imagine--and we were on the 12th floor. There is also construction going on next door and across the street, but we didn't notice much noise from that--and not at 6:30 A.M. So just be forewarned: it WILL be noisy.

Room Tip: wish we could point you to a room that's not noise but with the trash trucks and the constructio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelcarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBGM1, General Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for staying at the OBC. We hope you enjoyed your time with us and we appreciate your kind comments about our great location, large well stocked rooms and overall atmosphere. I also appreciate your comments regarding the pool tempature and trash pick-up you experienced during your stay. I have followed up with our team to review our processes based on your feedback. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to serving you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I booked the hotel after looking at some reviews and mostly bc of the pictures on line. Pulling up to the hotel it seemed to be really nice but there was construction of a new hotel right next door. When I booked the hotel I was hoping to have an ocean front room, kitchen and do forth. When I got to my room it was nice but very small.. There wasn't a kitchen and it wasn't ocean front. At that point I was very disappointed! I went downstairs and asked for an ocean front room and of course thry didn't have any.. I was there for 2 day's in a room that I didn't want. I also didnt like to be bugged about a timeshare. .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBGM1, General Manager at Ocean Beach Club, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. Our Resort Concierge is a complimentary service that we provide to our owners and guests for help with buying discounted tickets to local attractions or informational meetings about vacation ownership. However, your description is not consistent with the purpose for the service and I apologize if this had a negative impact on your vacation. I have shared your comments with the management team so that the behavior can be addressed and corrected. Again, thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for giving us the opportunity to improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
#37 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.9 mi away
Turtle Cay Resort
Turtle Cay Resort
#45 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#60 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#29 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Club

Property: Ocean Beach Club
Address: 3401 Atlantic Ave., Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the newest oceanfront resorts in Virginia Beach, Ocean Beach Club features upscale studios with kitchenettes, and 1- and 2-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens and separate living rooms with queen sleeper sofas. Resort amenities include an oceanfront adult only infinity pool with bar service, an indoor pool with cascading water features, two outdoor oceanfront pools including a children's pool, a 17th floor ocean view fitness center, and a Game Room. Guests can enjoy a specialty cocktail at Ultra Craft Cocktails Lounge, or dine poolside for breakfast, lunch or dinner at seasonal Tortugas Café & Tiki Bar. Accommodations feature private balconies with city views or ocean views, jetted tubs in suites, cable TV with premium channels, DVD players, free Wi-Fi and in-room safes. Ocean Beach Club also offers laundry facilities onsite, a concierge to plan excursions and a Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Club Hotel Virginia Beach
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Club Virginia Beach
Ocean Beach Virginia
Ocean Beach Club Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing