We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place!”
Review of Ocean Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Beach Club
Ranked #76 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Ocala, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We love this place!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We are timeshare owners and thoroughly enjoy our stays at this resort. Our week is normally in February and even in that month we enjoy it. Last year we exchanged into the new resort. We go there the end of April and I can't wait to experience Oceanaire. We have never been disappointed with the maid service, front desk, concierge, trip planner or the valets!

Room Tip: Ocean view is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matzie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    220
    140
    100
    98
See reviews for
363
227
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We traveled in September of 2008 prior to the addition. The lobby was immaculate, 5 star quality. The pool was rather small but honestly the ocean is right there so we only went in the pool once. The location is excellent. There are several places to eat nearby plus the outdoor bar offered some great choices. The resort sits on the boardwalk so it's great if you like to get out and walk or jog or even bike. There are bike rentals nearby in a couple locations. We sat on the beach one evening to watch the sunset and woke up the next morning in time to watch it rise. Trust me, it's worth the effort and you won't be alone. Just watch out for the beach combers cleaning up the seaweed in the morning. We love VB and will be back again and will have no problem staying at the Ocean Beach Resort if that's what's offered as an exchange.

Room Tip: Ask for an Oceanside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jryder63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

On 1st impression this place seemed okay, but we stayed the weekend of March 21-24, the off season and realized the maintenance of this place was minimal. There were dishes missing in the kitchen. The mattress in the sofa bed was stained so badly the couch cushions appeared safer to sleep on. There were 2 doors to unlock to get to our unit and the electronic lock on the outer one was not working, it took several minutes each time to get through but was clearly not our key cards as we easily opened the 2nd door. We noticed the people staying in the adjacent unit started propping the outer door open when they went out! I was quite shocked and disgusted on the 2nd day of our stay when I had to look under the couch and bed for my daughter's flip flop as these areas clearly had not been vacuumed in months. We were also disappointed that the tub valve would not stay closed in order to give baths or enjoy the jacuzzi tub. I would not recommend this place to anyone who values cleanliness. I also must mention that although not the Ocean Club's fault, we were woken at 7 or 8 every morning including Saturday due to the construction next door that was not only loud, but the pile driver shook our room on the 12th floor. I was disappointed however that we weren't 't notified of this construction prior to arrival since I had reserved this months in advance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tricia71529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We just stayed at the Ocean Beach Club over St. Patrick's Day since we came to town for the Shamrock Marathon. Great location on the bach and 34th street very close to start and finish lines. Our 1 bedroom suite was not oceanfront but was spacious, bright, and contemporary. Very well appointed with plenty of room for our family of four to spread out.

Bed was comfortable and we used the kitchen and dining table frequently for meals. Bathroom and shower were great (nice shower pressure!) and having 2 flatscreen tvs made everybody happy.

The resort has indoor and outdoor pools as well as use of adjacent Aqua 21 and other facilities. Our 10 year old enjoyed the game room with xbox, wii, and playstation games. Nice outdoor areas with mini rocking chairs by firepits and a bar but too cold to enjoy on this trip.

Everyone was friendly and helpul. The bellhop Larry greeted us when we arrived and had a megawatt smile and personalilty to get our trip started on the right note. Other staff members were accomodating and helpful when we needed wake up call, extra towels, or giving us trashbags to use as "rain" ponchos when we couldn't find any to purchase at the nearby stores.

Convenient parking located at pay garage across the street. Plenty of dining and shopping options located nearby.

Only areas that could have been improved:
Elevators were somewhat grimy and herky-jerky at times
The hot tub water smelled funky and probably needed more chemicals
Major construction going on next door but the hotel staff alerted us to this when we checked in

The front desk staff told us they were sold out for the weekend and that might explain these very minor critiques.

I would definitely recommend this resort as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have balconies, some are oceanview, and others are streetview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4sumfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We just went to Virginia Beach from 3/3-3/9/2013. It was still very cold, but the view from the room is beautiful. Hotel Staff was very helpful and friendly and they were not pressure me to go through Time Share speech. We got a 2-bedroom lock-up just because my time share exchange allowed me to get it. Both bedrooms were very nice. Thanks for other reviewers suggested to get Ocean front High Rise room. We had 15 floor ocean front room. We might go back again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juju530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for a week as a getaway and felt like we were in another world. Being back home again after we left came as a shock. The view from the 11th floor was incredible. We could watch the sunrise over the ocean AND the sunset over the land. We were within walking distance of the excellent restaurant Catch 22 where we had the most perfect dining experience on our last night. There is an indoor and outdoor pool with a very attractive lounge area. Our accomodations consisted of a kitchen, living room, dining area, two bedrooms and two full bathrooms, 3 TVs each with a DVD player. The LR had a floor to ceiling bay window facing south with an incredible view. The parking is in their parking garage across the street for which you are charged $7 per night upon check-in. I used the pay washer and dryer which is on every other floor. There is a change machine for that on the ground floor. Complimentary coffee on ground floor every morning. Building is right on the beach so strolling on the boardwalk is like "going out your back door" convenient. Located just north of the "busy" part of the beach which I liked, being a senior. I couldn't have picked a better place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are sunny with a great view. Had to use the AC and close the drapes (in Janu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scottish_Miss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

i really hated to leave. i kept booking extra days because it was so beautiful and serene. i am posting pictures that i took of the awesome sunrise that i witnessed from my room. i wanted to go to the ocean and it couldn't have gotten any better than this. I'm really grateful to the lady that checked me in. she was so awesome...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharriplaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
#41 of 109 in Virginia Beach
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,950 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#31 of 109 in Virginia Beach
974 reviews
1.2 mi away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#61 of 109 in Virginia Beach
299 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Club

Property: Ocean Beach Club
Address: 3401 Atlantic Ave., Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Beach Club features upscale studios with kitchenettes, and 1- and 2-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens and separate living rooms with queen sleeper sofas. Resort amenities include an oceanfront adult only infinity pool with bar service, an indoor pool with cascading water features, two outdoor oceanfront pools including a children's pool, a 17th floor ocean view fitness center, and a Game Room. Guests can enjoy a specialty cocktail at Ultra Craft Cocktails Lounge, or dine poolside for breakfast, lunch or dinner at seasonal Tortugas Café & Tiki Bar. Accommodations feature private balconies with city views or ocean views, jetted tubs in suites, cable TV with premium channels, DVD players, free Wi-Fi and in-room safes. Ocean Beach Club also offers laundry facilities onsite, a concierge to plan excursions and a Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Club Hotel Virginia Beach
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Club Virginia Beach
Ocean Beach Virginia
Ocean Beach Club Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing