We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, location and staff”
Review of Four Sails Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Four Sails Resort
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great value, location and staff”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

My family & I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Four Sails last week. The resort is located in the family oriented section of Va. Beach - within walking distance to restaurants and the nightly outdoor entertainment along the boardwalk. The units are comfortable for up to 4 people. The key strength of this property is how well it is managed. Robert & his staff are excellent. The front desk staff is helpful to offering assistance and offering tips on local activities - they are also very friendly people. The service staff greets the guests and are helpful to inquiries. I highly recommend this property. We will keep coming back.

Room Tip: Try to get center rooms 02, 03 or 04's on any floor. We prefer 6th floor and below in case the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    119
    25
    9
    4
See reviews for
151
137
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

This was our 2nd stay at this resort. The rooms are spacious. Our 1st visit we had a room on a higher floor. I would recommend that if it's an option. We were on the second floor this time, directly above the entrance to the beach & 33rd St Cafe. The other disadvantage to this room is the balcony. Most of the balconies are room length. The one (& there are only a couple of rooms like this) we were in had a cement wall that split the balcony in half. So, instead of one long balcony from the living room to the bedroom, we had 2 separate balconies. An advantage to the 2nd floor is easy access to the 1st floor by stairs. There is only 1 elevator & it is quite slow. I think we used it twice in our 7 day stay.
I had forgotten that in the lobby they have a huge beach toy bin with shovels, buckets, etc for the kids to use. They also have beach chairs to use also. Some looked pretty beat up, but nice to have available if needed.
Housekeeping was very accommodating.

We brought our bikes this vacation, then realized this resort appears to have bikes for guest use. This was never mentioned to us at either visit. We realized it when we went to lock our bikes up & could not lock them in the parking garage because that is where their bikes are locked up. It wouldn't have changed our bringing of bikes, as this was just one stop on our road trip, but I think they should mention it to guests when checking in. Bikes are a great way to see VA Beach!
We would likely stay here again. The hotel is in a great location towards the north end, so still action, but a bit on the peaceful side.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank baseballmom70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My son and family spent a week at this resort early June. Great place to stay if you have a family, (much better than having 1 room in a hotel) they found the service was good a great pool area, every condo has a balcony overlooking boardwalk, full kitchen, may not be as fancy as staying at some of the newer time share resorts, but when on vacation at beach who needs that.
33rd Street cafe is attached which my husband and I eat at all the time when at the beach.Although my husband and I always stay in a hotel we would definitely consider the Four Sails as an alternative.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tish the dish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Thank you Mike, Greg and Tasha for your professional services, our vacation was nice... we stayed in condo # 1103, a beautiful view, unit was clean and spacious, beds were confortable..kitchnen equipped with all you need.
Kids had privacy, TV in all rooms, staff very friendly & helpful.
will be back next year,for sure !

Room Tip: higher rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We've been touring the southern states for 8weeks and have stayed in around 40 different hotels so we know what we're talking about and I suppose you could call us experts.Four things stand out in a good hotel,value, cleanliness ,location ,and staff.This hotel is in our opinion faultless.Value is excellent,cleanliness superb,location it's right on the beach,and the staff both front of house and house keeping exemplary .They should be proud of there efforts in making this hotels a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimandsilve j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed here from June 27 thru June 30 as we were travelling to VA Beach for my son's LAX tournament. From everything I could find, this was by far the best deal on the strip! We were very pleased with our stay. We were uin a ! BR King oceanfront room. I will say that the room was a little on the small side, but there was plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 kids (3 kids if they are smaller). Huge Oceanfront balcony with georgeous views of the ocean.

Pros:
Right on the strip by volleyball nets and neptune's statue (33rd St)...clean...comfortable (even the sleep sofa was comfortable)...oceanfront view...huge balcony...full kitchen...free parking...good restaurant on premises and nearby...indoor pool...free wifi...huge jacuzzi tub..updated rooms..quiet....smaller building than a lot of the huge highrises on beach (we found that to be a plus... free use of beach toys that are kept in a huge storage bin

Cons:
Older building (but well maintained)....parking garage was tight but manageable with our midsize SUV... no outdoor pool...no room service....no frills....Lots of mirrors on the walls. Walls and walls of mirrors I believe to give the illusion that place is bigger than it is, but definitely too many wall to wall mirrors.

You won't be getting the frills of staying at a Marriott or a Hilton, but you won't have the hefty price tag either. It is right next door to both a Marriott and a Hilton which both cost twice the price. We had a great stay and would definitely recommend to anyone who wants to stay in a nice place on the beach at a good price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Streich3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Best deal oceanfront in Virginia Beach. Indoor pool, fitness room, and laundry on site. Rooms are clean, spacious, and include full kitchen, jetted tubs, and daily maid service. Friendly staff. All suites include balcony with seats. Only draw backs: one elevator and tight parking deck

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,950 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#19 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Sails Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Sails Resort

Property: Four Sails Resort
Address: 3301 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Sails Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Sails Resort is ideally located at the exclusive north end of the oceanfront. All units are one bedroom oceanfront suites with kitchens. We also feature an indoor heated pool, Exercise room with sauna, Sundeck, and oceanfront cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Four Sails Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Sails Hotel Virginia Beach
4 Sails Resort
Four Sails Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing