We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff”
Review of Four Sails Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Four Sails Resort
Ranked #16 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Island, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at this resort. The building and unit were very clean and had everything I needed. Every unit is overlooking the beach and it is a wonderful view. I was greatly impressed with the staff. Everyone I came in contact with was truly sincerely helpful and made me a priority. Jeff even had me use his personal computer when a power surge delayed the starting of the lobby computer as I was in need of printing boarding passes. I was visiting my son who is in the Navy in Norfolk and we had a wonderful visit because of Four Sails. I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend. The only reason I gave four instead of five stars is that the unit needed some upgrades in the living room and counter surface area. Thank you Four Sails.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kovendog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    117
    25
    9
    4
See reviews for
148
134
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We own timeshare so we traded to this "Timeshare only" resort. First let me say the location is a dream come true, it is right on the oceanfront. The kitchen was very nice and fully stocked. The first morning we saw dolphins! Now back to the unit itself, it is tiny. The mattress is old & needs to be replaced, the safe was broken, the carpet in the bedroom was worn and dirty. The so called jacuzzi tub did not seal and didn't hold water. The air conditioner/heating unit made a whistling noise because it was windy outside and made it difficult to sleep. The sofa was dirty. The resort did have a welcome gathering and thats where we met Jim the PR guy. He was very friendly, told us a lot about the area and even gave us a nice going home gift. The boardwalk was of course empty because it was off season, but very nice to walk up and down. For all the fees we pay for Timeshare I was disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teakaym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have stayed in VaBeach MANY times. And I have learned that most of the hotels on the ocean are OLD buildings that have been renovated and refaced. Most of them have done a very good job, but there are things you always have to deal with for older buildings. Virginia Beach is a much nicer place than it was back in the 80's. The boardwalk is wonderful. And although there are restaurants and some bars on the other side of Atlantic Ave, it is generally a quiet, family friendly place. Make sure there isn't something happening ON the beach or the roads during your dates. They sometimes shut down the road or parts of the beach for events.

2013 WARNING for Four Sails Resort - they are building a huge new hotel RIGHT next door. I only heard a few sounds as they are just beginning... but it says it will open spring 2014. So summer 2013 will be noisy!

I stayed at the Four Sails Resort for the first time April 2013 for a few days of personal retreat. Once again, this is an old building that has been completely renovated and refaced. They basically took every two rooms and turned them into one suite. So each room is the size of two average to small hotel rooms. One side has the living room with fold-out couch, TV, and kitchen. The other side has a bedroom, bathroom and vanity area. The 'king' bed rooms have both the bedroom and living room facing the ocean with a double-sized balcony running the length of them. That was very nice! The 'queen' rooms have a living room on the ocean side, and the bedroom is on the street side (front to back when looking at it from the ocean). The parking garage is VERY tight. I assume in busy season it would be a little bit of a nightmare. The pool is on the second floor and has an atrium around it. You can look down on it from the other floors hallways. That makes it loud in the rooms when people are playing noisily in the pool. It wasn't a big problem for me.

The room was nice. Wood laminate and tile floors in the living side and carpet in the bedroom. The king bed was decently comfy. The bedroom included a full-sized closet and dresser. The bathroom included a toilet and HUGE double jacuzzi tub. It was really useless for one person - sitting in the middle of it, you can't even feel the jets. And they have a sign asking to conserve fresh water... and they give you a big double tub. It was nicely designed and clean, but a bit too extravagant. The mirror/vanity is out in the hallway. The kitchen was nice. All of the basic items required are there - dishes, etc. The refrigerator is full sized. Two burner stove top. The couch really needed to be replaced, but was ok. It was nice that the 'desk' rolled out from underneath to become a dining table when needed. There were two stools at the 'bar' between the kitchen and LR. Of course the view and the sound of the ocean are WONDERFUL. But the other thing you have to know about VaBeach - it is near the naval base and the supersonic sound of jets is a frequent thing.

Since this property is a time-share, they will likely call you to see if you want to buy one. I simply said no and that was all. The two most important things for me when finding a hotel room are cleanliness and quiet. This room was very clean. It is not the quietest of rooms. The walls are old-school - relatively thin. But having two rooms together added to the privacy factor.

Overall, I would definitely book here again. I didn't use the restaurant downstairs, but it looks friendly. :-)

Room Tip: Definitely prefer the King rooms as you have double the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank newbbrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

This place is outstanding. My room had an ocean view, jacuzzi tub, hard wood floors, and a full kitchen. The front desk staff was friendly and professional. I had the do not disturb sign on the door when the maid came by. The hotel manager called the room and left a message that if we needed anything (towels, soap, etc.) to just call the front desk. There is an indoor pool (4th floor), gym and sauna (3rd floor), and a sun deck (8th floor). Great location with plenty of attractions in walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joe_chemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Four sails is awesome! I had a nice jacuzzi in my room with a window looking out onto the boardwalk and oceanfront. The kitchen had everything you needed. It is a great hotel! The service at the front desk is nice too!

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Best service when checking in, maid service cleaned daily, maintenance was quick to respond.
I won at bingo! Check out was easy! Fully furnished kitchen which was great! Jacuzzi bathtub was amazing! It was off season but a few stores were still open during the day, within walking distance. Highly recommend he Four Sails to couples and families!

Room Tip: All rooms are great! Awesome views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily92126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here the last week of January and it was a great central location to visit our adult children who live in the area. We had Suite 501 and it was a convenient unit with two balconies. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bedroom had all the necessary space two people need, plus a large mirrored closet, a dresser, and two night stands, as well as two chairs. The lighting was excellent, with two lamps and two reading lamps over the bed as well. There was even an iPod docking clock!
The bathroom area was interesting - very roomy vanity area and tons of towels. The bath/toilet area was cramped - a huge Jacuzzi tub with shower, but very little floor space otherwise.
The kitchen was excellent - all appliances, including microwave; fully stocked cabinets, icemaker in freezer, and lots of counter space. The island had barstools to catch a quick meal, and there were books on the shelves facing the living room and a radio there too. The couch had seen better days, but the rest of the furniture was in great condition and plentiful. Excellent lighting here as well.
The staff was superb. The indoor pool was difficult to get in and out (no steps, just ladders) but our visiting family had a great time in it. My only complaint would be the construction next door for the new Hilton that began some mornings at 7:30, which did NOT add to relaxation. Bulldozers and cranes and loud back-up alarms are not restful. But this was NOT the 4 Sails' fault! The 33rd Street Cafe had reasonably priced breakfasts and lunches too.

Room Tip: The indoor pool is on the 4th floor, and the 5th overlooks it. The hall gets a little warm/humid an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cj C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,922 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach
#17 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,399 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Sails Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Sails Resort

Property: Four Sails Resort
Address: 3301 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Sails Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Sails Resort is ideally located at the exclusive north end of the oceanfront. All units are one bedroom oceanfront suites with kitchens. We also feature an indoor heated pool, Exercise room with sauna, Sundeck, and oceanfront cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Four Sails Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Sails Hotel Virginia Beach
4 Sails Resort
Four Sails Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing