We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Sails Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Four Sails Resort
Ranked #21 of 108 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Best service when checking in, maid service cleaned daily, maintenance was quick to respond.
I won at bingo! Check out was easy! Fully furnished kitchen which was great! Jacuzzi bathtub was amazing! It was off season but a few stores were still open during the day, within walking distance. Highly recommend he Four Sails to couples and families!

Room Tip: All rooms are great! Awesome views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily92126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    110
    20
    9
    3
See reviews for
126
114
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here the last week of January and it was a great central location to visit our adult children who live in the area. We had Suite 501 and it was a convenient unit with two balconies. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bedroom had all the necessary space two people need, plus a large mirrored closet, a dresser, and two night stands, as well as two chairs. The lighting was excellent, with two lamps and two reading lamps over the bed as well. There was even an iPod docking clock!
The bathroom area was interesting - very roomy vanity area and tons of towels. The bath/toilet area was cramped - a huge Jacuzzi tub with shower, but very little floor space otherwise.
The kitchen was excellent - all appliances, including microwave; fully stocked cabinets, icemaker in freezer, and lots of counter space. The island had barstools to catch a quick meal, and there were books on the shelves facing the living room and a radio there too. The couch had seen better days, but the rest of the furniture was in great condition and plentiful. Excellent lighting here as well.
The staff was superb. The indoor pool was difficult to get in and out (no steps, just ladders) but our visiting family had a great time in it. My only complaint would be the construction next door for the new Hilton that began some mornings at 7:30, which did NOT add to relaxation. Bulldozers and cranes and loud back-up alarms are not restful. But this was NOT the 4 Sails' fault! The 33rd Street Cafe had reasonably priced breakfasts and lunches too.

Room Tip: The indoor pool is on the 4th floor, and the 5th overlooks it. The hall gets a little warm/humid an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cj C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We were looking for something clean and affordable with a jacuzzi tub in the room, and this was the place! We were only there for one night so we didn't need or make use of the kitchen other than to pop some popcorn in the microwave and keep some drinks cold in the fridge. There seemed to be everything you would need to spend an extended amount of time though. Dishes, knives, silverware, etc. (even a wine opener, which we always forget to take) all wrapped in plastic. Being an extended stay type of hotel they do not provide coffee(just the coffee maker) and toiletries, other than soap. Bed was pretty comfy. Towels and linens were typical of what you find in most affordable hotels. There is a small pool on the 4th floor. We didn't use it but did stop by and check it out. It's a nice atrium kind of room so the sun can shine in. Not hot tub. I guess they have bikes and beach chairs that are free for guest to use.It was the off season and cold so we didn't use any of that but it would be a nice perk when the weather is nice.We didn't try the cafe either. As others have said this place definetly shows it's age and could use some updating. I don't mind older if it's clean, and it was clean! It's not a luxury hotel. There are plenty of those along the same strip if it's worth it to you to pay the price for that. If clean, comfortable and affordable on the beach is what you want than this is a nice place. I would would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank shoe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

[iminent=txCsqcgUWfOB] Stayed here for one night. Had room 402. Faces ocean. Amazing views. Clean room. Good size. At night it's a little sketchy outside but it's not too bad.
. A great place for a relaxing get away.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anypush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodview, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We've been going to The Four Sails for the last 18 years and although we don't get the chance to go every year, we do enjoy our stay every time we go. My only complaint would be that it's starting to show it's age and look tired and needs to be updated.
The staff have always been friendly as well as house keeping. The rooms are always clean also.
There's a small parking garage on site and is not suited for larger vehicles, but I have a mini-van and have managed it without problems. Longer and taller vehicles wouldn't fit though and would have to park in another lot of theirs, two block over.
I'll be going back when I can, and hopefully they'll resolve these issues in time.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ends of the building will have an ocean front view and the sun coming up in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

My family stayed here for several days over Christmas. The staff was extremely pleasant and accommodating. Our room was clean, comfortable, spacious, quiet, and serene. We had everything we needed in our suite. The kitchen was equipped with the basics, the bedroom was comfortable, and the livingroom area was nice. Having two balconies was an added bonus, and we enjoyed going out on both (one faced the street, and was fun for "people watching". The other was ocean front and great for coffee and a good book). A great place for a relaxing get away. We would definitely stay there, and would refer a friend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3JayBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

I came into the Four Sails through RCI for a week in December with my boyfriend. I was impressed how quick and easy check-in was. The king sized suite was perfect for two people. It came equipped with everything you might need. Nice sized kitchen with stove, microwave, full refrigerator, plenty of counter space and a dishwasher. The living room has plenty of seating with a pull out couch a 4 extra chairs. There were also two high top bar stools that looked into the kitchen which was nice. There was also a bookshelf included with a nice stereo which we enjoyed. The room was nice with a king sized bed and a flat screen TV. With a big sized closet, dresser and a nightstand there was plenty of storage area for your personal items. I liked about the room that there was an extra vanity area to get ready at that had a big mirror (and an addition pull out make-up mirror) a sink and lots of room for all my hair and makeup items. The bathroom was nice with the biggest Jacuzzi tub. Loved it. The balcony was perfect too with two doors (one in the bedroom and one in the living room) that stretched across the whole room. The walk to the room in the hallway was kind of scary though since we were on the 12th floor and its just a balcony looking over the parking lot with no glass or anything. If you are afraid of heights you might want to request a lower floor. Parking was okay, the garage is kind of tight but since it was winter i always had a spot on the ground floor. There is daily housekeeping that come and take the trash and bring towels which was cool, staff was very friendly every time. The front desk was nice and very accommodating when it came to anything we needed. The pool area and some of the hallways and entrances could use some updating but other than that everything was very nice. I would stay here again. :] thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cristina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#2 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#8 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#67 of 108 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#7 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Sails Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Sails Resort

Property: Four Sails Resort
Address: 3301 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Sails Resort is ideally located at the exclusive north end of the oceanfront. All units are one bedroom oceanfront suites with kitchens. We also feature an indoor heated pool, Exercise room with sauna, Sundeck, and oceanfront cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Four Sails Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Sails Resort
Four Sails Hotel Virginia Beach
Four Sails Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing