We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, but a bit dated hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Four Sails Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Four Sails Resort
Ranked #20 of 111 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent location, but a bit dated hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Our family of 5 (3 kids under 7) spent a weeklong vacation in the middle of July here. We got an incredibly good last minute deal as someone needed to have their timeshare rented out - so ended up paying hundreds less than it normally sells for. First impressions were great - it's great space - not a tiny hotel room, but more like an apartment, with separate bedroom with doors; great - fully stocked kitchen with pots and pans - very nice, all in all. But after a couple of days, we started noticing some scratches or some things that are still OK, but may need a good repair quite soon. I think they will probably find it hard to compete with some newer, much nicer properties being built or recently built right nearby. But overall, it was great, if only the jet noise a bit annoying - it was downright scary the first night...
The location, though, was superb - the boardwalk in VA Beach is phenomenal, all the nice little shops and restaurants were great - overall, we had a great time. And we were happy that Four Sails was a part of that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lbak19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    109
    19
    9
    3
See reviews for
123
110
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We ended a week-long vacation at Virginia Beach for 2 nights. We have a family of 6 with mom and dad and 4 young kids 8 and under. The room was perfect for us (hopefully it will be for at least one more year). The youngest slept with us in the King bedroom and the other 3 were able to share the fold-out couch in the living room. The bed was very comfortable and everything was extremely clean! The dishes are all covered with plastic wrap when you arrive! It was our kids first beach experience and we couldn't have been more pleased with the ocean-front room that allowed us to see dolphins swimming and the sun-rise in the morning. If we forgot anything, we were able to quickly run up to the room to gather what we needed. The hotel is close to music in the summer which we enjoyed while walking the boardwalk in the evening with the kids. Our kids liked the hotel pool in the evening and we were lucky enough to be on the same floor. The staff was very friendly with dining suggestions and other information. Staying on the beach is always a little pricey, but based on the hotels in the area, I think we got a great deal! I wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel in the future!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngelS_01_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

I chose this based on reviews here on ta. It was a great hotel. We stayed for a week with my husband and two young children. I found the room to be very clean, the kitchen well equipped ( we only ate out 3 times), and the views were amazing. We were on the 12th floor, corner unit. Had windows in every room, including the bathroom, so u could shower while looking out at the ocean!!

The staff were very friendly, housekeeping were fantastic, very helpful.

The parking was tight, its true, but manageable.

The only two things that bothered us, were the noisy a/c units and the sofa bed was not that comfortable. Otherwise we found it to be a great value.

We've been coming to Va beach for 12 years now and this was our first stay at 4 Sails and up at the North end. We usually stayed around 25th street. I liked it here better, it was quieter, newer stores around, better choice of restaurants within walking distance. Catch 31 was amazing!

Can't wait to come back again next summer!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lanahome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed at Four Sails overnight on a short trip to VA Beach. The room was clean, balcony facing the ocean, living room, kitchen, nice bed with a nice whirlpool bath for two. Staff was friendly, and the location was ideal. Parking was available, but tight. Excellent value

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We spent one night here and found that the room was excellent, the staff was very friendly and the location was ideal. Fantastic view and right on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at Four Sails for our week-long vacation to Virginia Beach. We found it online by reading reviews and locating it on google maps, and then we hoped for the best. Upon arriving, we checked in, grabbed a luggage cart, and made it up to our room in one trip. Our room was clean, and smelled clean, our view of the ocean was excellent, and we were thrilled with our hotel choice.

There was an ice machine on our floor which was convenient, and we also learned we could borrow their bikes for an hour without having to pay to rent bikes. We did this twice during our stay. Sitting on the balcony in the morning, I saw dolphins in the ocean directly in front of our hotel.

We came and went as we pleased, and the housekeeping was perfect....clean towels daily, bed made daily, bed sheets changed once during the week, garbage taken out, and sand swept up. I can't remember her name, but she was so friendly and upbeat. She also works at the cafe in the hotel....great service and food there, too!

If I had to complain, it would be that the facility is a bit older and not updated in certain areas. Also, the elevator doesn't seem to have A/C, so it was HOT on it.

We enjoyed our trip and would recommend this hotel to others! It was just what we needed to have a nice, relaxing vacation. Oh yea....we didn't drive my car anywhere. It stayed parked for the whole week.....we walked or biked to all of our destinations!

Room Tip: Queen suite has ocean view with balcony from the living room and street view from the bedroom (also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AshleyG1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The hotel is older and it shows. However, everything else about this place was great. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were quiet and the staff provided lots of towels (I like that). VA Beach in general is a great place to visit and this hotel is in an ideal location. Not far from the (free) music entertainment and close to restaurants, shops, etc. My husband and I even walked to the grocery store and it only took 12 minutes. We thought that was convenient too!

Room Tip: We had a balcony to the ocean and loved it. However, I would try to get a floor higher than 7, sinc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LinnieWarrenton_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#3 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Bea...
#10 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,452 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#56 of 111 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 646 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#6 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Sails Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Sails Resort

Property: Four Sails Resort
Address: 3301 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Sails Resort is ideally located at the exclusive north end of the oceanfront. All units are one bedroom oceanfront suites with kitchens. We also feature an indoor heated pool, Exercise room with sauna, Sundeck, and oceanfront cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Four Sails Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Sails Resort
Four Sails Hotel Virginia Beach
Four Sails Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing