We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, quiet, spacious - excellent hotel”
Review of Four Sails Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Four Sails Resort
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Wow, what a great place! Rooms were perfect. We stayed in a single room suite. Kitchen, fully stocked with every type of dish and glass ware you could want. Dishwasher, ice maker in freezer.

Balcony over looking the ocean was perfect. Located right on the boardwalk but at the more quiet end. The crazy side of the boardwalk is past the Hilton and it gets a little loud with the clubs and live music. Fine to walk down too, but I was glad our hotel was at the opposite end.

Bed was very comfortable and the rooms are well insulated. Could hear a thing! Also, there is a fold out couch in the living room. If you wanted to sleep out there by the balcony, you could easily.

They had all kinds of bikes you could borrow for free, Water toys and some chairs. There was a restaurant downstairs which seemed good for bfast or lunch. Didn't get a chance to try it though.

Also take advantage of the coupon books they have at the front desk. We saw those after we spent $ at sunsations and there was a $10 coupon in there.

Any time we had an encounter with staff they were nice.

Jacuzzi tub was nice. It's in the bathroom. We were so busy enjoying the beach though we only tried it once.

Clean. They change the sheets every 3 days, which was fine with us. They have extra sheets in the room plus you can ask them to change them more frequently. Lots of towels.

Really a perfect stay :-)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marialikestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 365 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have a timeshare at Four Sails. I absolutely love this resort. After 1 1-week stay I bought my timeshare. It is used every year by myself and members of my family. If it's a place you will be returning to, do a timeshare, it will be paid for over and over again as there are good prices to be had. After 3 1-week stays you may as well say mind paid for itself. Staff is friendly and professional, location is perfect (1 block from Neptune statue and concerts), right on the beach and 2 balconies. All the kitchen needs are there and wrapped individually in plastic. Not the newest place in Va. Beach but larger than some of the newer ones and extremely clean. Yes parking garage is small but I have a van and have no trouble. Enjoy the Four Sails Resort.

Room Tip: For privacy from the boardwalk gawkers I'd recommend staying above the 3rd floor at least. My t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mshiffl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights with 5 yr old and 2 yr old. We had a king suite and the room itself had ample space for the 3 of us. It could stand some updating but it is quite adequate especially for the price and compared to other oceanfront rooms/suites at other hotels you cannot go wrong with staying at Four Sails. Kithcen is fully equipped with everything you need so save some $$$ and bring your own food, snacks and drinks. The hotel also had free bikes to ride, beach chairs & umbrellas and beach toys for the kids which was a nice extra. The pool is pretty small and we could not use it becasue the kids were too little for me to handle both at once. Also, I do not recommend the restaurant in the lobby as the food is not very tasteful. Overall though, I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms are directly in front of the pool and could possibly be loud depending on who's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank O G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

For a beach location, could not be better. Great view of the boardwalk and ocean from our balcony and well located to walk/bike to a lot of attractions/restaurants along the boardwalk. Our 1 bedroom is adequate for the two of us, and would work for children also, but I would not want to have two more adults sharing the space. We had a minor maintanence problem that was taken care of right away. The fact that on-site parking is included is a plus. While we did not use the indoor pool, it seemed that the people who were using it enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

My family of five stayed here for three days beach was awesome and the rooms were updated and very clean, the indoor pool could use some updating. Very pleased with service, would definitely stay there again thanks four sails.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank benneli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Four Sails is one of the older time shares and it is very very small. The parking is horrible. Only a small number of spaces on the first floor and there are posts between all the spaces. It is very difficult to get your car in the space without hitting a post. If you need to go to a higher level there is only one ramp for both up and down.

If you get an end unit your bedroom does not face the ocean and does face the street. This means the end units only have half as much balcony space on the ocean. There are also no screens on the balconies and management wants you to keep doors closed at all times due to the bugs. You can never hear the oceans when you are in your room. We also had a very musty smell in our room.

There is only one small elevator to serve all 11 floors. You can count on having to wait for the elevator.

On the plus side very there was very good housekeeping service. We were there on a time share week and they cleaned your entire room once per week but they came in every day with fresh towels and picked up the trash.

This is a great location with a great view. There are plenty of places to eat nearby. Folks at the front desk were friendly and helpful. All in all not a bad place to stay however they definitely need to do some updating.

Room Tip: Do not get an end room as the bedrooms do not face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chicagoretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Thank you Trip Advisor for your review section. We chose this hotel based on the reviews and feedback posted on the website. We were not disappointed.

The outer building itself: not actually impressive when compared to the buildings on its left and right.

The hotel lobby: Reminds me of a motel in Niagara Falls. However this hotel has a computer with internet access and a printer. Perfect for checking e-mail, Facebook and printing your board pass if appropriate.

Restaurant: sufficient. good service, good food, feels like a local diner

Soda machine: $1.25 for a 20 oz. bottle. Not bad for a vending machine. I've been other places and a bottle/can was $2.00

Exercise room: one of every machine type to provide a basic workout. Also has a sauna. I use d the sauna one day and it felt so good.

Pool: it is small but it's functional.

Room: It's a suite. I think they all are. Perfect boardwalk and ocean view. Functional kitchen with everything you need to re-heat meals or make meals from scratch. There is a 24-hour grocery store (Teeter Harris) on Arctic and 28, which is is two blocks over and 4 blocks. The store has excellent prices. Seriously. We grocery shopped there and bought seafood to take back home.

My favorite room feature: 2-person jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. LOVED IT. I am emphasizing this because we also visited Ocean Beach Club (which is marketed as fancier and is in some aspects) HOWEVER Four Sails has the largest jacuzzi (if this matters to you).

Balcony: Long, entire length of suite. Nice!

Side note observation not related to Four Sails: Gold Key Resort reigns on Atlantic Avenue. If someone approaches you on the street with helpful advice and freebies, the person is likely with Gold Key and wants you to go to a timeshare presentation. This is not a bad thing and can be advantageous to you.

Another side note: There's a lot of good food in the area but since you are in Virginia Beach, enjoy the seafood. If you're not a seafood person and just enjoy American fastfood, your traditional chains are on Pacific avenue.

Room Tip: I think they all face the ocean. Other reviews said to avoid the floor with the pool (4th floor) du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Gina48220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
633 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Oceanfront Inn
The Oceanfront Inn
#23 of 109 in Virginia Beach
506 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Sails Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Sails Resort

Address: 3301 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Best Value Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $79 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Sails Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Sails Resort is ideally located at the exclusive north end of the oceanfront. All units are one bedroom oceanfront suites with kitchens. We also feature an indoor heated pool, Exercise room with sauna, Sundeck, and oceanfront cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Four Sails Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Sails Hotel Virginia Beach
4 Sails Resort
Four Sails Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing