We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous customer service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #30 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

My daughter and I and our two small dogs stayed at this hotel for 4 nights this summer. The following employees of your hotel made our stay memorable and truly enjoyable. They were kind, caring, courteous, always professional yet truly personable at the same time. We felt welcomed and cared for. We've already made a reservation for a future stay the minute we got home from this beach trip.

Please kindly share this review with the following employees:

Dwenda (Front Desk)
Thomast (Front Desk)
Mykeya (Front Desk)
Tyler (Valet)
Samir (Valet)

The above employees at your hotel truly made our beach vacation special. Thanks to them!

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront with great view and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimetoBreathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwenda M, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments. Your feedback is much appreciated, and we will do our very best to continue to meet your expectations as well as others. I'm sure it is always a pleasure and an honor to serve you. Individuals like yourself are those whom we owe the success of this establishment. We have a great team of people working together and I'm so thankful to have great people like Thomas, Mykeya, Tyler, and Samir working alongside me. Our team looks forward to your return. Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    171
    65
    37
    10
See reviews for
327
144
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toms River
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

I stayed at the Residence Inn Virginia Beach with my wife. We were both very disappointed in several things. It was impossible to get comfortable with the a/c in the rm. Very loud and noisy, blows cold air directly on the bed, and kept us awake at night. The a/c vents directly onto the balcony and you get a gust of hot air on you when you try to sit outside. Balcony was a joke, small enough that only 1 chair fits, cannot put a table and 2 chairs outside; it was also filthy and you wont want to sit out there. We turned over pillow on couch, had a Dark Brown Stain on it??? There are only a few parking spots in front of the hotel, have to walk 3 blocks to park in the Sheraton lot. Breakfast buffet was very limited. Eggs tasted like powdered eggs, funny taste and consistency. Bagels stale every day. Supermarket grade frozen pancakes served. OJ had a funny grapefruit taste to it. Do not go across the street to the Nautilus diner for breakfast it is worse, we walked out of there. The pool water was cloudly and dirty looking. Workout room we didnt use.. had dark brown stain on the ceiling and looked like the ceiling was going to fall on someones head...HOWEVER, ALL staff members were extremely friendly and helpful. The above things are out of their hands, and up to management to fix. Management does not have any intentions of fixing air conditioning or parking situation as this has existed for years. We DEFINITELY WILL NEVER, EVER, return to this residence inn. Very surprising problems for a Marriott property??

Room Tip: Go someplace else!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank WhalerTomsRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your comments and for sharing your experience with us. You indicated in your comments that your stay was not 100% satisfactory. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. My goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit. You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. Again, we thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

The room rate was regular $350 a night but the military discount rate was $166! Most hotels only offered 10% off. We had a 1bedroom with kitchenette (no oven) and pull out sofa. The kitchen was great with a 2 chair table and full refrigerator. The room had a balcony and the bedroom had a huge ocean view window. The staff were always nice!!! Complimentary valet parking is included. Housekeeping is great. We came back from the beach and the housekeeper had made the sofa bed with my daughters blankets and had their baby dolls sitting on the bed waiting for them. They thought that was awesome! It is the little things that make this hotel great! I will be staying here every time we come to VB. Oh, and breakfast is wonderful. They have waffles with toppings, cereals, oatmeal, eggs, potatoes, sausage, pancakes, gravy, crossiants, juice, milk, etc. It was delicious!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Destiny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwenda M, Supervisor at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for your continued loyalty to us here at the Residence Inn as your choice when you visit Visit Virginia Beach, VA. I'm sure it is always a pleasure and an honor to serve you. Individuals like yourself are those whom we owe the success of this establishment. I want to assure you that we will continue to do all we can to justify your confidence in our hotel. Thank you again for your comments and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

OK room. No safe (shouldn't have read this more carefully).

The air conditioner is LOUD in the bedroom -- so loud my wife had trouble sleeping with the air conditioner on. But it vented onto the balcony -- so you had to turn off the air conditioning if you wanted to use the balcony (the balcony was only useful for drying towels/bathing suits).

I've eaten a lot of buffet free breakfasts -- this seemed pretty bad. It was much better at 7:30 (more variety) than at 9.

I think its very overpriced and low quality. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12martyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments and for sharing your experience with us. You indicated in your comments that your stay was not 100% satisfactory. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. My goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit. You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. Again, we thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have been to Virginia Beach a few times in the last 5 years. We have found new hotels each trip. We were specifically looking for a Marriott since we are reward members.

We really like the Residence Inn brand. We stay in them probably 3 times per year. We were happy to find one in Virginia Beach.

We arrived early in the morning and we were lucky enough to get a spot in the lot. We checked the front desk, but our room was not ready. They did give us a parking pass and key so that we could use pool and restrooms. We asked for a 2nd floor room because what we read, but they could not accommodate.

The location was great. There are so many restaurants and shops in walking distance. We didn't need our car for a few days. There was a great concert just 2 blocks down by King Neptune Statue!

When we arrived back to the hotel, we opened the pull out sofa for the kids. There was something on the mattress. We called the front desk and asked for a replacement or roll away bed. They did not have anything that evening and we had to wait until the next evening for a new mattress to be placed. We all had to sleep in a king size bed. Needless to say, that was not great. The staff was very apologetic and offered a manager right away. We checked back in in the morning, but they did not have an update for us. We stopped at the front desk through out the day as we had not been called. We wished we could have received an update earlier than 7 pm the next day.

The reviews of the balcony are accurate! The balcony is almost unusable. 2 people can not sit on the balcony together and drink coffee or read. It was very disappointing to not be able to use the balcony more.

The room was pretty average otherwise. There were stains on the wall which made me believe it was not cleaned very thoroughly between guests. The kitchen is great for preparing small meals and snacks. There is no oven to use.

The breakfast was ok. The staff was very friendly and always replenishing food supplies. The guests were also very civil which we didn't always experience in other breakfast rooms.

The beach was very well taken care of and cleaned daily. The dolphins showed up for us a few days!

Room Tip: Try and get 2 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your comments I am sorry to see you did not completely enjoy your stay. Your comments have been brought to the attention of all the department heads. We hope you join us again the next time you visit Virginia Beach. Thank you for your comments and have a wonderful day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

One of the two elevators was broken for days. The staff did not seem to have their own elevator. Which meant many people took the stairs instead of waiting 20 min for the elevator. Carpets with recent pet stains were not shampooed. There was dog poop on the elevator floor. Maid service was only every 3 days which means a lot of sand on your floor. The hall carpets had recent pet accidents and even after being reported were not taken care of. There was trash outside our room that was not vacumned in three days. The lobby floor was dirty and had spider webs under the counter. The air conditioner was so loud you could not sleep. The hot air from the air conditioner poured onto the small balcony making it unuseable. The room reached 80 degrees in the day. The unit could not keep the room cool during the day. One of yhe two waffle makers wad broken for days. Lots of people complained about that.Management was completely uninterested in correcting anything. Since I only met very unhappy guests in the elevator, I wonder about all the good reviews. They certainly did not stay at the same hotel we stayed at. I have stayed at several oceanfront hotels in Virginia Beach and never had any problems. I woild never stay here again. I travel a lot and this is my first negative review in years.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bigfanoftripadviso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I apologize that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay. All issues that you mentioned were addressed immediately. Please remember sometimes we don't know about issues until someone reports them. We address and take immediate action for any and all problems. We invite you back to see how your comments helped us improve. Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful views. All the people we dealt with were wonderful.The suite is setup great and if they know when you are coming in, you can have them shop for you.Full breakfast every morning and you can take it to your room. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tink61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwenda M, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your great review. Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity. I personally appreciate hearing your comments about your stay. We look forward to your return the next time you visit Virginia Beach! Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#29 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#6 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach...
#36 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 3217 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing