We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely will return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Baltimore, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Definitely will return!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed here while attending a conference, but I am coming back for a vacation! The service was outstanding! The location was right on the beach! Who needs the Caribbean when you can feel relaxed right here in Virginia Beach!!!

Room Tip: This place is dog friendly!! My business partner felt that the lights on the boardwalk bothered him...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ophelia99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am happy to see that we were able to make your business trip pleasurable enough for you to come back on vacation with us. We look forward to your return. Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    172
    68
    39
    11
See reviews for
338
146
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana, United States
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Took our two chihuahuas with us on our beach vacation and this was a first rate hotel.We have been across the US and we really think this was our best stay so far at the Marriott.The staff went above and beyond to make our stay the finest.We stayed in a double suite with a full kitchen and it was excellent.The room was very clean and the ammenities were fabulous.Granite counter top,stainless appliances,and great comfortable beds.No noise in the room at night from other guests and a nice free breakfast buffet every morning.We were even suprised by a free social dinner buffet on monday and wednesday evening.The view was to die for on the ocean and so nice on the balcony.Alot to do on the boardwalk,watching the sunrise,playing in the ocean,shopping and eating in the fresh air,all within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We understand that your pets are part of your family and we don't want them to miss out on a family vacation. We hope to see you in the near future. Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just spent 5 nights at this hotel and we couldn't be happier. I was concerned about cleanliness since this was dog friendly, but the rooms were immaculate, comfortable, and well equipped. The view, especially at sunrise, was truly exceptional! Yes, the ac did blow warm air, but, in the early evening this week, it actually warmed the balcony and made it more enjoyable. The staff were all terrific from day one. The breakfast assortment was unexpected, especially being able to make your own belgian waffles (although the fresh fruit and yogurt should have covers on them due to flies from the doors constantly being opened). The location, mid boardwalk, was perfect.......we didn't use our car once! I did miss having a larger pool, however, we knew that going in, and chose this hotel because we were traveling with our dog. Also, the quality of the room towels was a very pleasant surprise. Considering the number of dogs staying at the hotel, it was quiet, clean, and an overall exceptionally pleasant stay. We are already planning on returning again.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor.....best view ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
I am happy to see that my staff were able to assist you with whatever you needed during your stay with us. We thank you for your wonderful comments and hope you choose us for your next stay in Virginia Beach. Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Right off the bat I was met with a positive experience. I was checking in and was told I was on the 12th floor. They actually took the time to make my request on the on line reservation web page and make it a reality. You'd be surprised at the number of hotels that don't bother reading any special notations even though they have a space provided to request them. Well, these people do. The room was super clean and even though everyone at this hotel had a dog or three, there was no problems like hearing them bark or stepping in their business. The 12th floor had an excellent view, but it did have an exhaust fan from the ac and it was an odd numbered room, but was a corner unit. I actually really appreciated the little bit of heat that it put out because it was sort of chilly when we were there. It would be a little nuisance if it was 90 degrees out, but nothing serious and like I said, I worked it to my advantage to have my own personal heater and you don't have that ac water dripping all over your balcony. Great location and super friendly staff. Sure, parking was a little bit of a hassle, but it's a very enjoyable 4 block walk if you don't use the valet service and can't find a place at their location. Actually, out of 4 nights, we parked on the premises 2 nights, so 50 percent isn't too bad. Bottom line..I would stay here again in a heartbeat and have already recommended it to friends. Clean and friendly..2 of the biggies you won't have to worry about : )

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vettex81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W, Front office Supervisor at Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank You for your great review. we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return the next time you visit Virginia Beach! Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a nice hotel with a great location. It allows pets, which is great since we have two dogs with us. However, compared to the Residence Inn I just left in Williamsburg, it is not nearly as nice. There were several hairs (human) in the bathroom and bathtub upon our arrival. However, they charge $100 to keep your pet here...I assume for cleaning? What about cleaning up after humans? If we weren't staying here for just a night and the rest of the room wasn't ok I would have asked for a different room because that many hairs I'm the bathroom makes me think it wasn't cleaned very well if at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seashells988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
I'm sorry to see that our service failed to meet your expectations. Although we are a hotel that allows pets I agree that we cannot forget our human guests as well. I will speak to housekeeping regarding this situation. If you decide to stay with us in the future please don't hesitate to bring anything to our attention. We are always here to assist you in any way possible. Thank you for your comments and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Residence Inn is a fabulous place to stay at Virginia Beach, whether you bring Fido or not. But the fact that dogs are allowed anywhere on the beach at VA beach after Labor Day I think clearly brings out the pet owners and they all stay here! So if you love dogs and want to vacay with your pet this is the place. Clean, comfortable, right on the beach and you and your pet are made to feel right at home. This was our first trip to the beach with our dog and we loved seeing so many other guests with their pets staying here. And there is no size limit, although the $100 pet fee seemed steep to me, especially since our dog did not make any more of a mess than we did. Otherwise, the service was great. We were granted an early check-in, which when traveling with a pet is an even greater bonus. Breakfast was also good, plentiful and varied. We highly recommend this hotel if you wish to enjoy the beach with your four-legged family member.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Americamba37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank You for your great review. we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return the next time you visit Virginia Beach! Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2013

When we checked into the hotel, we were pleased to see that it all looked just as the website pictures showed it - the lobby, the breakfast room, our suite, the works. The location was perfect -right across from the beach, front facing balcony, and a stones' throw from a small beach playground and lots of tasty restaurants, including Starbucks. The complimentary hot breakfast buffet was convenient and tasty too, and the comp valet parking made it easy to get in and out of the hotel. While we did have a little trouble with our toilet during the first few days of our stay, the front desk agreed to move us after the weekend when more rooms were available (hotel was sold out over labour day weekend) and in the meantime the maintenance staff was very helpful to keep it all in working order. The only real sore point we had was the housekeeping service(housekeeping staff were great), but the service only went from about 10am-3pm, and once they finished a floor that was it until the next day. So if you decided to sleep in a little and they were on your floor first, then you missed out. And for some reason, if you didn't answer the door when they knocked, they didn't come in - a little odd and the only time I've ever experienced this at a hotel. So while they did leave a couple of clean towels, it wasn't convenient - we had to bring down our own garbage one day and call down for extra towels and sheets on another. And again. the staff were super - as each time we called down for something, they were quick to respond and very helpful.

Room Tip: We booked a room with a pull out sofa, so we'd have extra space. It was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick W, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank You so much for your review. We take pride in our property and do our best to maintain it. I hope the next time you come to Virginia Beach you choose us as your home away from home. Have a great day!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#29 of 109 in Virginia Beach
965 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#16 of 109 in Virginia Beach
764 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt House Virginia Beach / Oceanfront
Hyatt House Virginia Beach / Oce...
#28 of 109 in Virginia Beach
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
839 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#6 of 109 in Virginia Beach
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 3217 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront is an extended-stay hotel on Virginia Beach in Virginia. Our hotel lets you thrive on long stays, whether you have come to Virginia Beach for a wedding, vacation or business trip. We offer comfortable and stylish accommodations at a superb value. Our all-suite hotel offers beautiful guest rooms that are spacious and well designed to provide you with a memorable and pleasurable stay in Virginia Beach. Guest suites feature spectacular views, furnished oceanfront balconies, modern appointments and full kitchens. Enjoy free Wi-Fi, an indoor pool, a fitness center and guest laundry at our hotel. We also provide valet parking, a complimentary daily hot breakfast, and pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing