We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #30 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Belleville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our 6 night stay in March 2013 was wonderful. The staff was extremely friendly and always willing to help with any questions or requests. This was our second time at this hotel mainly because we enjoyed so much the first time several years ago.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie R, Front Desk Supervisor at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
So happy to hear that you returned to our property. I can not thank you enough for the kind words praising the associates you came in contact with during your stays with us. I wil share your comments with our staff and I know it will make them appreciate all their hard work!! Thank you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    171
    65
    37
    10
See reviews for
327
144
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Friendly friendly staff, Nice and clean
Full breakfast buffet eggs,meats,potatoes assorted breads & juices,milk,cereal,etc. They do not have a resturant there, so they bring in a staff just to cook & serve this.
Couple midweek socials.
Feels like Home, Rooms are suites, living room & kitchen,
other room, bedroom with full windowview floor to ceiling & bath, all rooms face the ocean with private balcony
Atlantic Ocean 100 yards away, with beautiful sunrises
Full kitchen with cabinets,dishes,pots & pans, fullsize microwave,refrigarator,dishwasher, 2 burner stove,
can make ur own ice !!!!!
2 free newspapers local & usa today & doggy biscuits.
Other guests seem super friendly, I believe it is because,
they are showing off their dogs or making over yours.
NEGATIVES, NOTE THESE do not bother us at ALL !!!!!
Since this is a review to plan a trip, Im being unbias.
1) parking limited, solution they offer FREE valet parking.
2) HVAC unit loud, since all rooms face water & other
is a hallway, they were limited on location, solution
use it and cut it off, if it bothers you that much.
3) This is a dog motel, u could experience dog problems !!
4) Dated and damaged furniture, refer to item #3 above,
Why put new furniture in rooms with animals ???
Thanx for allowing the animals to bring their human owners !!!
Cant wait till our visit next YEAR !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie R, Front Desk Supervisor at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to filled out a Trip Advisor comment about our hotel. We really appreciate the detailed comments about your stay here at the Residence Inn. So happy to hear that your stay with us was a home sweet home experience. Can't wait to see you next year!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. We were here in mid-March on business. The staff was absolutely perfect--I can't imagine how they might have been nicer. It is a very busy hotel so expect a crowd at breakfast, but both breakfast and dinner were good. They have a very small parking lot, so about 80% of the parking is valet, which is free (tips to the drivers of course).

Our room was great--king bed, separate from the living area, ocean view. In fact, each and every room is ocean side/view so you don't even need to ask! Great restaurants within a short drive or even a walk across the street.

We stayed 3 nights, checked out to visit family for a couple nights, then checked back in. They remembered us. Felt very comfortable here and will come back.

Room Tip: All great. If you are ok with heights then ask for a room higher up. No room difference, just a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TomK959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie R, Front Desk Supervisor at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity. In that regard, I personally appreciate hearing your comments about your stay. I am happy to see that you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to your return.We appreciate your taking the time to complete a review and hope you will visit us again when you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Well located. We had a good dinner at nearby Catch 31.
My room (and I believe all rooms) overlook the ocean. Walking and biking paths are out front. You can watch surfers from the room.
The room had a separate living room/kitchen and bedroom. Very clean and well maintained.
I was there for business but I would think this setup would work for a family of four on vacation.
Free continental breakfast had a decent selection.
The fitness center just has a treadmill, stationary bike and two stair machines.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Magothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie R, Front Desk Supervisor at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we all hope we will see you in the future. Have a wonderful year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, NH
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We go to the Residence Inn Virginia Beach every April and we love it.
The accomodations are all suites, tastefully decorated and they all look out over the ocean. Each has a little enclosed balcony. They offer a full kitchen.
The staff are very helpful and considerate and most of the staff have been there for a few years.
The breakfast room offers a great array of breakfast items....hot & cold and the coffee is on in the lobby all the time.
This hotel is the only "pet friendly" accomodation on the beach. The place is immaculate and they also offer free WIFI and for those not bringng a laptop, there is a computer in the main lobby for guests to use.

Room Tip: Rooms are assigned by the person booking your trip and they don't guarantee a room but it really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adrep70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie R, Front Supervisor at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel. I'm happy to hear that you concern us a home away from home. Being a Residence Inn we are delighted to hear that you are a repeat guest to our hotel. Please let us know if there's any ways that we might make improvements in the services and accommodations for our guest. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Hotel was clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Our room was large enough for 3 adults and 2 kids. Loved that we were located right on the beach and had an oceanfront view. We have nothing bad to say about this hotel. Would stay again and will be recommending to friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie R, Front Desk Supervisor at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our hotel. I am very excited to hear that you had a great experience with us. Thank you for the wonderful compliments about our staff and our location. I hope you are able to visit us again before the end of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

The staff and service at the Residence Inn at VA Beach Oceanfront was excellent(Jullie, Lillian, and the two drivers at the Valet parking) were excellent. no issues with the quality of customer service.

The Heating unit inside the unit needed some required maintenance. The first night we didn't notice because the unit did not kick in, the second night, the heating unit sound almost like an old car with a bad belt, throughout the entire night. They were at 100% capacity so another room was probably not available, so we ended up leaving one night short than planed.

Other than the noise, the room was clean, with a great view to the Atlantic and the beach, they told us an upgrade to all units is coming, if we can do maintenance to reduce the noise, things will be great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roberto F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie R, Front Desk Supervisor at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
I'm terribly sorry about your inconvenience and understand your frustration. We value your business, and would like to address all of your concerns. It is my goal to restore your confidence in our hotel by solving this problem and preventing it from happening again. Thank you for your comments and taking your time to bring this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#29 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#26 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 3217 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing