We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful property”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We always enjoy staying at this property. The staff is wonderful and we always feel so welcomed. They try to make our stay as nice as possible. We usually visit during the "low" season and find the stay very relaxing.

Room Tip: There are no "bad" rooms. we like a higher floor so we can see more of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greyhound56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie R, Front Desk Supervisor at Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and for noticing our drive to always provide a warm and welcoming atmosphere year-round! We definitely strive to make sure all of our guests, whether in the high summer season or the low winter season, are always met with prompt hospitality and great service! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    173
    71
    39
    11
See reviews for
343
146
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The hotel is located right on the boardwalk of the Virginia Beach oceanfront, one of the cleanest and most family-friendly beaches on the east coast. It's within easy walking distance of many good restaurants and shops, with everything from beach gear to local saltwater taffy. The staff is wonderful, always pleasant and going out of their way to make sure the guests are happy. All of the rooms have a breathtaking ocean view, with wall-size windows and balconies. If you have pets, they welcome all sizes. Parking is limited out front, but a free valet service is included, and they are quite responsive.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a full kitchen, just request in your reservation if desired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Traveler_from_afar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie R, Front Desk Supervisor at Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments on our staff and hotel. We take pride at making our guest feel like they are home away from home. We understand that parking is small infront of our hotel, but we do have valets that respond to a guest needs promptly and efficiently. Thank you again for staying at our hotel and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Let me begin by backtracking before our actual stay. In October of 2012, my wife and I found out that we would be adopting our first child from Virginia Beach. In November, my wife and I visited the area to scout it out. We decided to visit the Residence Inn because we knew they had kitchenettes. Upon entering, we met Lillian who excitedly found someone to show us around the facility. From that point, we knew we wanted to stay there.
We arrived at the hotel on January 13 with our newborn son in tote and checked into our room. It was very clean and accessible. Most importantly, it provided all the room we needed for newborn items. The breakfast was very filling and fantastic. Darlene was always asking how our son was doing and genuinely cared. The housekeeping staff was always quick to provide extra towels, trash bags, etc. The front desk staff was nothing less than phenomenal. Everyone was quick to help us around the area and provide any needs (I wish I could remember all the names). I guess I can chalk the forgetfulness up to becoming a new dad, but I won't forget the service. I would never hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone in the area, extended stay guests, or any adoptive families in the Virginia Beach area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie R, Front Desk Supervisor at Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about our hotel. Especially, being so busy with a new addition to your family. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you in the future. Congrats again to a wonderful little boy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel was chosen for oceanfront location in off-season with great rates. We were visiting with family and needed a one bedroom accommodation for 3. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful with all aspects of our stay. We were acknowledged as Gold Elite Members and presented with a small bag with a bottle of water and cookies - nice touch! The room was clean and had generous amount of towels for 3 of us. We were notified of limited housekeeping but felt additional toiletries were needed. The ocean view was great and the holiday light display out our window was a bonus. The kitchen facilities were great and had everything we needed. The indoor pool was listed at 82 deg but was not that warm. The tile floor around the pool is very slippery when wet, this needs to be addressed. This hotel allows dogs which we saw on numerous occasions but did not hear any barking. In fact for a sold out holiday weekend, it was very quiet. There is not sufficient parking for guests but they offer valet parking. Our van was parked and brought back in a very timely manner from a secured lot. It was not inconvenient at all. Breakfast was ample with good selection. Overall we were very pleased with this Residence Inn and would stay again but only in off season.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie R, Front Desk Supervisor at Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Residence Inn and enjoyed your arrival gift for being a loyal Marriott Customer. Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity. In that regard, I personally appreciate hearing your comments about your stay. We are very appreciative that you have taken the time to bring this to our attention with the pool area. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, USA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel is in a lovely location and has very nice rooms with lovely views.
It does need refurbishment and does attract a lot of dogs. Our sleep was disturbed both nights
we were there by dogs. Unless you like dogs I would avoid it.
The hotel does need updating and does not meet Marriott standards in its tools, bedding etc.
The breakfast was also one of the poorest I have seen for a while in a Marriott.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank neilmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie R, Front Desk Supervisor at Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments in which you informed us that our hotel did not meet your standards. We are sorry that you experienced this problem and we want you to know we are working to improve our standards so that you and our future guests are able to have a great experience while staying with us in the future. Here at the Residence Inn we take all guest concerns very seriously. While we make every attempt to ensure that our hotel meets every guests standards we apologize that this unfortunate incident was missed by our staff. We are very appreciative that you have taken the time to bring this to our attention and would like to thank you for staying with us here at the Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

On the beach, oceanfront view, allow pets, valet parking, super clean....what more could I ask for?
The staff was incredibly courteous and accommodating.
Rooms were clean and well stocked. All the appliances functioned well and the front desk pantry sold a variety of food items if you didn't want to go out.
Also, laundry was readily accessible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie R, Front Desk Supervisor at Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments. Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity. In that regard, I personally appreciate hearing your comments about your stay. I am happy to see that you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

It's right on the beach, every room has an ocean view and it's pet friendly. Couldn't ask for more at the price point. Staff was very accomodating and personable. Rooms were clean. Hallways could use a bit of revamping. Balcony was a bit small and if a/c unit was on the exhaust vented directly on anyone occupying the balcony. Two double beds in the seperate bedroom with one of them right up against the huge picture window, which we thought was fantastic. Easy walking distance to plenty of great bars and restraunts.

Room Tip: the higher the floor the better the view, but all have direct ocean front views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmcm2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Residence Inn Virginia Beach. I agree the vent on the balcony is a issue that we have been trying to find a solution for for years. I am sorry this was a problem for you during your stay. We hope the next time you viist Virginia Beach you decide to stay with us. Happy Holidays from the Residence Inn Staff and Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt House Virginia Beach / Oceanfront
Hyatt House Virginia Beach / Oce...
#23 of 109 in Virginia Beach
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
780 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#31 of 109 in Virginia Beach
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
852 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 3217 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-2936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront is an extended-stay hotel on Virginia Beach in Virginia. Our hotel lets you thrive on long stays, whether you have come to Virginia Beach for a wedding, vacation or business trip. We offer comfortable and stylish accommodations at a superb value. Our all-suite hotel offers beautiful guest rooms that are spacious and well designed to provide you with a memorable and pleasurable stay in Virginia Beach. Guest suites feature spectacular views, furnished oceanfront balconies, modern appointments and full kitchens. Enjoy free Wi-Fi, an indoor pool, a fitness center and guest laundry at our hotel. We also provide valet parking, a complimentary daily hot breakfast, and pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Otel, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing