We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Less Costly, Less Crowding Off Season • 30 Min. to Norfolk Airport (ORF) • Good Location/ Commute if Business/ Work is Nearby” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #30 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Less Costly, Less Crowding Off Season • 30 Min. to Norfolk Airport (ORF) • Good Location/ Commute if Business/ Work is Nearby”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

  -- Floor-to-Ceiling Bedroom Window Overlooking Ocean
  -- Steps from Boardwalk & Beach
  -- Overlook *Winter* (Dec./ Jan.) Holiday Lights on Boardwalk

Smaller (under 80 suites), 14-story Residence Inn (RI) on Atlantic Ave (at end of 33rd St.):

• Tiny, 2-chair balcony outside living room sliding glass door with spectacular ocean view (& brisk breeze). (Exciting roar of military jets fly overhead singly or in formation like seabirds.)

• One-bedroom suite, *seems* less roomy (400 sq ft noted) all round, but floor-to-ceiling bedroom window gives illusion of spaciousness. Nice (but worn) beach/ nautical themed decor/ furnishings.

• Tiny gym (older equipment), small (but working) laundry room, computer & printer in seated area in narrow hearth room (not much privacy if a business traveler attempting to print confidential documents).

• Limited parking (free valet) on site; additional parking across street ($10). (Can't imagine parking congestion at high season.)

• Free Internet/ WiFi (difficulty with connection/ strength).


Gatehouse, Breakfast, Meals:

• Narrow (almost cramped) gatehouse sitting area; but spacious counter space for food. (Can't imagine crowding during peak season.)

• Standard RI breakfast fare & evening appetizers. (Hoped for additional healthy options such as: Greek yoghurt, whole grain breads, & variety of different fruits.) Staff had difficulty replenishing depleted items.

• Numerous eateries (within walking distance) to suit various tourist palettes & budgets. (Some closed during off season, but  front desk staff helps guide you.)

• If you’ve time & inclination, food shop & prepare your own meals in furnished kitchenette. Harris Teeter grocery (on Arctic Ave.) is a 10-15 min. walk; a 5- to 10-min. drive (1/2 mi./  0.8 km).


Considerations:

• For holiday travelers not spending time in room (but on beach or elsewhere), limited space may not be issue. For business travelers, a pseudo business/ holiday trip, it's OK for brief stay. (If you're claustrophobic, snug accommodations may be too confining for you long-term.)

• Boardwalk is a strolling delight – even in winter; best bundle up (hat, gloves, scarf, coat) for cold ocean breeze. Desolate off season, but has its wintery beauty nonetheless. (During daylight, see the *unlit* holiday lights before nightfall -- when cars drive entire length of boardwalk viewing the magical movements of elaborate & colorful lighted decorations. At night, *lit* holiday lights are a visual treat for all ages.)

• Excellent oceanfront location & walking areas; enjoyable sights year round.

• If sense of spaciousness, newness, & more substantive, hotel-provided evening meals are a priority (over beach-front location), Virginia Beach Homewood is superb alternative. (Brief drive to beach; must find & pay for parking.) But, it’s hard to beat walking out your front door onto beach, or gazing out your bedroom window onto ocean.

• If you don’t mind dogs or enjoy seeing happy pets on holiday with their humans, you’ll get a kick out of who you’ll run into at the door. (If you’ve pet allergies or are 4-legged averse, this RI may not be for you.)

• If you're self-sufficient, lack of routine housekeeping may not be an issue; if you need service, towels, toiletries, call down to desk & request. (They are responsive.)


Approximate Drive/ Walk Times (Distance):

• 30 min. drive – depending on traffic -- (20 mi./ 32 km) to Norfolk International Airport (ORF); no RI airport shuttle.

• 5-sec. walk to Virginia Beach Boardwalk & Oceanfront Bike & Surrey Path (4-wheel peddling vehicle with canopy top). (Weather permitting -- no need to even step on treadmill in exercise room when there’s lovely seaside walking/ cycling paths.)

• 5-10 min. walk (under ¼ mile) to dramatic King Neptune Sculpture – holding trident in 1 hand & palming sea turtle in other. (Base encrusted with fish, dolphin, octopus, & other sea life.) (Many whimsical, nautically-themed sculptures running the length of boardwalk as well; fun photos.)

• 30-45 min. walk/ stroll (1.5 mi./ 2.4 km) to end of Virginia Beach Fishing Pier.


If your work/ business is nearby, this RI can be a convenient commute -- if off peak season (considerably less traffic). Off-season prices are more affordable for a beautiful, floor-to-ceiling bedroom-window view of beach/ ocean.

If your priorities are:
  -- Location (& not summer beach high tourist season)
  -- Convenience of RI amenities (kitchenette, laundry, breakfast)
you can be satisfied here.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gnomemoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for comments about our hotel. I am sorry to see that you did not completely enjoy your stay with us. I see that you stayed last December, we hope that you return this year for a better experience. Your comments will help us improve as a hotel. If there is anythig I can do please feel free to contact me here at the hotel. Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    171
    65
    37
    10
See reviews for
327
144
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

AAA location. rooms are big, clean, nice. Staff is great. Parking can be tough, but they try hard to make the best of it. Be patient with them on it and don't let it bother you. You have several places to shop, dine, and hang out at you fingertips here. The rooms also have a great view with floor to ceiling windows and cool, but small balconies. I've been here half dozen times and will continue to return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plainoleredneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your continued loyalty to us here at the Residence Inn. I'm sure it was a pleasure and an honor to serve you. I want to assure you that we will continue to do all we can to justify your confidence in our hotel. Thank you again for your comments and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Had a wonderful 4 day stay with our dog! Many dogs at the hotel and those without dogs were very accepting of having pets around. Met other people who had dogs and were staying off the oceanfront and they were unhappy.
I can't say enough about the staff - very pleasant and helpful!!! Customer service makes a huge difference and they are A+.
As per previous reviews, the furniture could use an update but it wasn't as bad as what was implied. Highly recommend this place and will come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kooka54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for staying with us here at the Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront. I am sure it was a pleasure and an honor to serve you. Individuals like yourself are those whom we owe the success of this establishment. I want to assure you that we will continue to do all we can to justify your confidence in our hotel. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your return. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were thrilled with the location of the hotel;: smack dab on the beach, a block away from the Neptune statue, and close to the center of things. The room was bright. The best part was the floor to ceiling windows in the bedroom. Nothing like waking up in a big puddle of sunshine! From our bed, we watched volleyball games, dolphins, sunrises, and people, bikes, dogs, runners.The beds were comfy and linens nice. The room was not spic and span, however. It needed a good cleaning. The furniture was pretty worn. Yes, as others have said, the air conditioning was loud, but we hardly used it since there was a nice breeze coming through the balcony door.

The one downside to the room was that our adult kids were sleeping on the couch and had to walk through our room to go to the bathroom... and they were out much later than us.

The morning coffee bar was nice with a good selection of coffee and flavored creamers. The breakfast bar offered a large variety of selections, and there was always lots of fresh fruit and yogurt.

The indoor swimming pool and hot tub area were checked frequently for cleanliness and water temperature. The hot tub was nice and warm (102) and had good bubbles.

The location was perfect for us. Nothing standing between us and the beach except the outstanding boardwalk. We road skateboards, rented bikes, walked the dogs and found great food all so close.

They really are a pet friendly hotel. They have dog treats at the front desk, designated doggy relief areas, and provide poop bags.. They charge a flat rate cleaning fee of $100 but we felt it was totally worth it.

Some people complain about the parking, but the parking lot is only a a couple of blocks away and who minds a nice walk? We valeted the car at night and picked it up ourselves when we needed it.

The room and some places in the public areas were a little faded and tired, but it was the end of the summer season and my guess is they will spruce those up. The staff were constantly sweeping the halls, emptying trash, etc.

The staff: very very accommodating and friendly. Will stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: All rooms are beachfront. We were on the 8th floor which seemed to be a "dog" floor... you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate you taking the time and effort you put into reviewing our hotel. Your comments help us improve for future guests and so the next time you return, we can give you an even better stay than the last. Thank you again for your wonderful comments and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

No on site parking. Rates are way to high when compare to compatible hotels. Otherwise the service and the rooms were good. The Hilton one block away is your best bet.............................................

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chasef5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to see that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. I hope the next time you visit Virginia Beach you decide to stay with us. Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on business trip. Got lucky for late September with a sunny day and 85 degrees. Hotel has great location on the beach & walking distance to everything. All rooms have small balconies with great views of the ocean (2nd floor handicap rooms have extra large balconies).

Yes, this is a property that probably takes above-average abuse from party-goers, families and pets. There were some scuffs on the walls and minor stains on couch and carpet, however I didn't see anything excessive in my room or the common areas.

Hot breakfast was pretty standard & fitness center, pool & hot tub looked to be in good shape. Staff was friendly and helpful. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Globemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I am especially pleased to read your kind words about our hotel. It makes us happy to know you felt welcome and at home with us. I am happy to see that you picked a day with beautiful weather. I am sure it was a pleasure helping you during your visit to Virginia Beach. I hope the next time you visit Virginia Beach you decide to stay with us. Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

The room was very nice and spacious overall. Great option with small kids to be able to close the bedroom door and have time to read or watch tv. Right on the beach. Very nice breakfast buffet as well as evening snacks. Staff was very helpful. Parking was a bit of a nuiasance because the lot was small but they did provide complimentary valet as needed. Room was basically clean but there wasn't enough attention to smaller details like light fixtures (very dusty, some had bugs in them, etc). Couch and carpet were in need of a good cleaning too but we did arrive on the tail end of summer so those details might be difficult to attend to during peak season. Beach view/location was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smcsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your family vacation to Virginia Beach. If all goes according to plan we will be having a refresh of our hotel in early next year. We invite you back to see the improvements of our hotel. We hope the next time you visiti Virginia Beach you decide to stay with us. Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#29 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#26 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 3217 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront is an extended-stay hotel on Virginia Beach in Virginia. Our hotel lets you thrive on long stays, whether you have come to Virginia Beach for a wedding, vacation or business trip. We offer comfortable and stylish accommodations at a superb value. Our all-suite hotel offers beautiful guest rooms that are spacious and well designed to provide you with a memorable and pleasurable stay in Virginia Beach. Guest suites feature spectacular views, furnished oceanfront balconies, modern appointments and full kitchens. Enjoy free Wi-Fi, an indoor pool, a fitness center and guest laundry at our hotel. We also provide valet parking, a complimentary daily hot breakfast, and pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott and Expedia so you can book your Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing