We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #30 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great family vacation”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The room was very nice and spacious overall. Great option with small kids to be able to close the bedroom door and have time to read or watch tv. Right on the beach. Very nice breakfast buffet as well as evening snacks. Staff was very helpful. Parking was a bit of a nuiasance because the lot was small but they did provide complimentary valet as needed. Room was basically clean but there wasn't enough attention to smaller details like light fixtures (very dusty, some had bugs in them, etc). Couch and carpet were in need of a good cleaning too but we did arrive on the tail end of summer so those details might be difficult to attend to during peak season. Beach view/location was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smcsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your family vacation to Virginia Beach. If all goes according to plan we will be having a refresh of our hotel in early next year. We invite you back to see the improvements of our hotel. We hope the next time you visiti Virginia Beach you decide to stay with us. Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    172
    65
    37
    10
See reviews for
329
144
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel showed it age and generally everything needed to be updated/cleaned and replaced. The rug had stains all over it, the furniture was spotted and aged. The walls showed marks as if it had not been painted in a while. It is a great hotel if you have your pet with you, we didnt on this trip and should have stayed elsewhere. The breakfast buffet was average, nothing great. We would not stay here again unless we went with our dog as it is one of the few hotels on the ocean front that allows them. Parking is a bit of a nightmare as when they valet your car and bring it to the front, they often park it in and you must wait for other people (as the valet has already turned the key over) to return and move their cars. As for our room, 1402, there was an air handler right in the bedroom. It was quite noisey when it kicked on and off. The vent was right outside on the balcony so if you wanted to sit outside, you need to turn the A/C off because the hot air is exhausted right where you sit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay. We are one of few hotels on the oceanfront that accepts pets, so we do have alot of pets stay with us. We try our best to make sure each guest leaves happy. We invite you back to see how your comments helped us improve our service and standards. I hope the next time you visit Virginia Beach you decide to stay with us. Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have been to Virginia Beach several times in the last 15 years. We decided to stay at the Residence Inn as the rate was great in Sept for a 1 bedroom suite with full kitchen with balcony on the ocean. The location was perfect, close to the action but without the noise. There was a problem with our air conditioner but it was dealt with quickly and the mechanical technician was so nice that it was hardly a problem. The complimentary breakfast was very good-very fresh, lots of variety over the 5 days we were there. The front desk staff were always very friendly and accommodating. As we did not require our room to be cleaned each day, a bag with new towels, toiletries etc was left on our door each day which was an excellent idea. The hotel was very clean. It would have been nice to have a safe in the room. There are lots of dogs staying at this hotel which didn't bother us as we have two of our own and may bring them next time. We will definitely be staying here again and recommending this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb3588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments and thank you for making Residence Inn your choice when you visit Virginia Beach, VA. I'm sure it is always a pleasure and an honor to serve you and your family. I want to assure you that we will continue to do all we can to justify your confidence in our hotel. We look forward to your return next year with your two little pets. Thank you again for your comments and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent 5 nights here in August 2012.

Liked: the location, the view from the bedroom window, the friendly staff, the rate was reasonable for a beachfront suite

Disliked: breakfast was very meager (& we tried it 2x, once early, once later), balcony was very small and the air conditioner exhaust was loud and hot and made the balcony quite uncomfortable, dogs everywhere was not a plus point for us, inadequate parking meant you had to use the valet service and wait quite a while for the car retrieval

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria_Reynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your comments in which you informed us that our hotel did not meet your standards. We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied and we want you to know we are working to improve our standards so that you and our future guests are able to have a great experience while staying with us in the future. Here at the Residence Inn we take all guest concerns very seriously. We make every attempt to ensure that our hotel meets every guests standards, as well as our own. We are very appreciative that you have taken the time to tell us about your stay. Once again thank you for staying with us here at the Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Shot some Marriott points here for a long weekend get away. My wife and I had a nice room with a great view. The staff was very polite and knowledgable and the nice Webber gas grill for guests let us grill up a couple of steaks for dinner. Steaks we bought at the Country Fresh that is within walking distance.

I saw reviews complaining about the pool. Let me tell you that when you have knucklehead guests -- adults AND their kids -- who come off of the beach and walk right into the pool without even rinsing their feet, keep a pool crystal clear can be a battle.

We would most certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noisydaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments and for choosing us asyour choice hotel when you visit Virginia Beach, VA. I'm sure it was a pleasure and an honor to serve you. Individuals like yourself are those whom we owe the success of this establishment. I want to assure you that we will continue to do all we can to justify your confidence in our hotel. Thank you again for your comments and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
108 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was our second stay here, which speaks volumes in itself. It is not a perfect hotel, but it is in a pretty perfect location.
Front desk staff were always friendly. Breakfast was good, but quite crowded. Pool is small, but since the beach is steps from the door this is not a big deal.
The beds were comfortable and the property was clean. We were four people and were very comfortable in the one bed suite, which was fairly spacious.
There were a few small issues, although they did not spoil our stay:
The air conditioning unit was very close to the foot of the bed, and blew out very cold air making it cold even in bed. Turning it down or off made the temperature too warm. It was not easy to get it right.
There was nowhere near enough cutlery or crockery. I did wonder whether they replenished once a season and as we were there at the end of the season we had missed out on the full quotient.
We had a lovely stay, and Virginia Beach holds a special place in our hearts. The Residence Inn was a perfectly acceptable place to stay. Not wow, but fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toton-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay in Virginia Beach. We look forward to your return the next time you visit Virginia Beach. We really appreciate all of your comments because they help us improve for all of our guests. Once again I thank you for your comments. Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here one night as we were on a road trip. We stayed New Year's Day and the boardwalk still had their christmas lights up. What a sight! The room was waterfront on a higher up floor which was very nice. The bathroom could have been a bit bigger. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julius P, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return i the future. Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#29 of 109 in Virginia Beach
938 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
819 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#34 of 109 in Virginia Beach
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 3217 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront is an extended-stay hotel on Virginia Beach in Virginia. Our hotel lets you thrive on long stays, whether you have come to Virginia Beach for a wedding, vacation or business trip. We offer comfortable and stylish accommodations at a superb value. Our all-suite hotel offers beautiful guest rooms that are spacious and well designed to provide you with a memorable and pleasurable stay in Virginia Beach. Guest suites feature spectacular views, furnished oceanfront balconies, modern appointments and full kitchens. Enjoy free Wi-Fi, an indoor pool, a fitness center and guest laundry at our hotel. We also provide valet parking, a complimentary daily hot breakfast, and pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Marriott and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing