We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Great Ambience”
Review of Catch 31

Catch 31
Ranked #10 of 1,442 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $31
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: For avid diners who are visiting Virginia Beach or live within 20 miles of the VB Oceanfront and are looking for the premier dining location, Catch 31 with unique oceanfront dining vignettes and located on the most recognized and valuable real estate in Virginia Beach offers the largest selection of fresh fish and seafood delivered in contemporary style and with high energy.
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Beautiful Restaurant near the beach. We enjoyed our meals which included crab cakes, grilled shrimp, salmon, lobster tail and red snapper. All the seafood was very fresh and tasteful. The restaurant has indoor and outdoor seating so we decided to take advantage of the warm summer evening by dining outside for my sister's birthday celebration. I would definitely go back again whenever I am in the Virginia Beach area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay E, Director of Food and Beverage at Catch 31, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2014

Thank you for choosing Catch 31 for your birthday celebration as well as your enthusiastic recommendation to return. I also appreciate that you noticed the freshness of our seafood as we are fanatical about selling our fish no more than three days out of the water. Freshness like that is apparent from the very first bite. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,193)
There are newer reviews for Catch 31
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,083 - 2,087 of 3,193 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2014

The wait staff was friendly, the food was okay and the restaurant was crowded so getting seated was a hassle and the area we were seated did not have a view.

1  Thank Rebecky7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay E, Director of Food & Beverage at Catch 31, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2014

I’m very disappointed that you did not receive the type of experience we are so well known for and why we rate so highly. Visiting Catch 31 should never be a hassle and I do apologize that we made it so for you. I do hope you give us another opportunity if you visit the area as I’m confident that we can regain your trust and earn your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2014

We went here and had a great meal - the food was fabulous. The bar scene is great as well, if you are into that sort of thing!

Thank RITigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay E, Director of Food & Beverage at Catch 31, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2014

Thank you for the excellent review of Catch 31. As you note if you enjoy a high energy, see and be seen atmosphere there is no better restaurant on the beach than Catch 31. Come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

Great Seafood! We had a party of 6, we waited over the estimated wait time of an hour and a half, on Sunday night Labor Day Weekend. The hostess mistakingly forgot to seat us. The kitchen had already close for the night but we were still seated and served. The service was not great but once we finally got our food it was awesome. The Salmon-Perfect, Peel Shrimp- Delicious, Crab Cake- Tasty Garlic Mashed Potatoes- Yummy

Thank travelbugJNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay E, Director of Food & Beverage at Catch 31, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2014

I do apologize that host staff lost your name on the waitlist but I’m so grateful we were able to win you back with the freshness and quality of the seafood served you. We hang our hat on having a wide variety of the freshest seafood available that we process here in house and you can tell with every bite. Take care and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014

We were lucky to have seats outside. Music and noise inside would give you headache even while you are waiting to be seated. You cannot make reservation and have to wait from 2 to 4 hours! Even when we were finally had our table we have to wait for hour food another 45 minutes. Portions are small, taste is average, but location is great, and view from outside seats is very pleasant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay E, Director of Food & Beverage at Catch 31, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2014

I deeply apologize for the slow service you encountered on your visit to Catch 31. Without getting into specifics we indeed were experiencing difficulties in delivering our excellent food in a timely for a portion of the day you were here. As hard as we try to execute at a high level every day sometimes things go wrong and again I’m sorry we burdened you with our difficulties. I do hope you give us another opportunity to earn your patronage as the experience you encountered is very rare to what we normally deliver on a daily basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Catch 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing