We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWFUL!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Virginia Beach
Ranked #96 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Suitland, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AWFUL!!!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

There were two good things about this place. Its location (1 block from the beach) and its price. After that, its downhill all the way. The room had a very musty odor to it. The
bedspreads were old and somewhat tattered. The furniture was worn and in need of a replacement. Funny thing. The bathroom and the alcove next to it were nice and looked like they had just been redone. But it looks like they stopped right there. The rest of the room
was in need of a facelift. The safe did not work. I called the office to have someone look at, but no one showed. I was traveling solo and only spending two nights, so I stuck it out.
My advice, avoid this hole. If I had been traveling with my wife, she probably would have insisted that we check out right away and find another hotel.

Room Tip: Ask in advance if you can change rooms if you don't like the one you are initially given.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeGM28, Manager at Travelodge Virginia Beach, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Dear,

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 7574283434.

Sincerely,

D Patel,
Travelodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    88
    116
    93
    165
See reviews for
254
113
42
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I went on a weekend trip with family at the end of July. It was our first time staying at the hotel. The value of the room and location is definitely worth it. The continential breakfast was nothing to brag about but its free anyways, so no reason to complain. We stayed on the 1st level, didn't like the fact of no balcony or railing to hang the towels/bathing suits, so next trip I'll be requesting 2nd or 3rd level. The room was very clean, even though housekeeping didn't come to our room untill 3pm in the afternoon to see if we needed additional towels and such. I overall enjoyed my experience and its location. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmmoore88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeGM28, Manager at Travelodge Virginia Beach, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 7574283434.
Sincerely,

D Patel
TRAVELODGE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

The hotel is not oceanfront but it is on the opposite side of Atlantic Ave so it is a short walk to the beach. It is also a short walk to Neptune Park where we could see and listen to live music nightly. The room was clean and beds comfortable but don't expect anything great. Our room felt a little roomier not only because we had a kitchenette but I think it was a little wider than what rooms tend to be nowdays. The room had a stove, fridge, and microwave and a table with 2 chairs but plan on bringing your own pans and tableware if you plan on cooking. The continental breakfast was very minimal, coffee, juice, fruit, a couple of cereals and pastries. The pool was small but clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy43533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeGM28, Manager at Travelodge Virginia Beach, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Dear,

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 7574283434.

Sincerely,

D Patel
TRAVELODGE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I just got back from this hotel and could not be happier! Ignore the negative reviews because my experience was great! We arrived around 1 when check in was at 4 yet withing a few minutes we had a room ready. We were on the top floor all the way at the end of the hall. The room looked great and was clean. Yes it did smell a bit smokey but it was a SMOKING room which a lot of these other reviews do not seem to understand! The towels and linens did not smell like smoke though. The room was basic but well kept. Fridge was clean beds were nice and made paint seemed fresh and the carpet looked new! My only complaint was the bathtub dripped which did become a little annoying at night but simply closing the bathroom door solved it. The air conditioner was also a bit noisy but the little guy cooled the room off very fast! The hotel is across the street from the beach and near a lot of shops and restaurants so location is great! Pool was cleaned daily which was also a nice touch. Continental breakfast was very small only consisting of some danishes and muffins ,cereal, oatmeal coffee and some juices but it was also free and think about it, do you really want to eat a huge buffet then spend the day out in the heat on the beach? Overall I was very happy during my stay and did not experience any roaches or a "urine smell" as other reviews claimed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jakeman2164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeGM28, Manager at Travelodge Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 7574283434.

Sincerely,
D Patel
Manager
TRAVELODGE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

After a sudden change in plans I was forced to find some last minute accommodations in Virginia Beach. There are plenty of options for travelers willing to spend $120+/per night, but very few options near the beach for a budget conscious traveller.

The Travelodge is an older, exterior hallway-style motel. The rooms have a mini kitchenette in them consisting of a half-sized oven, small microwave, and a mini fridge. Each room has a safe, an old CRT-style TV, and a bathroom with tub/shower combination. There are no closets. Instead, one corner of the room has the safe bolted to the floor with a small hanging rack and hangers above it.

The rooms are older, but well maintained. Recent paint and updated "headboards" bolted to the walls make the best of the space. The bed linens were of reasonable quality and the duvets appeared clean and in good condition. The mattresses were a little unsupportive for my taste, but were good enough considering the room here was less than half the cost of the hotels around it.

The pool, although small and shallow (3.5 feet deep), was clean and open. Plenty of lounge chairs and even a few tables and chairs are available. And the beach is probably 100 yards away across the street.

This isn't a luxury hotel, but they seem to be aware of this fact and are trying to make the most of what they have. It has a great location relative to the beach, bars and restaurants on the boardwalk. If you're looking for a good value for a place to lay your head and get cleaned up between forays to the beach and time on the town, the Travelodge at 28th is a good bet.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seat6A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeGM28, Manager at Travelodge Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 7574283434.
Sincerely,

D Patel,
Manager
TRAVELODGE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Room was good sized w/kitchette. Older motel but room was clean & smelled ok and price was good. Orginal room had a leak during the night and the front desk was very helpful & speedy in having another room for us to go to. The only negative thing I could say is that they should replace the bedspreads, they have some stains that washing does not get out.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CJB629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeGM28, Manager at Travelodge Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 7574283434.

Sincerely,
D Patel
Manager
TRAVELODGE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
172 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

rooms quite spacious, clean, good comfortable beds. excellent location directly across from beach entrance. excellent value for a cheap beach getaway. check in was a breeze., staff very friendly and obliging.

not sure if i would stay here in high season, there were a couple of partying guests and i imagine it would be quite noisy in summer months as the office closes at midnight so therefore nobody to complain to about the partying but all in all a very pleasant stay

Room Tip: fridge and microwave very convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katy-lied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeGM28, Manager at Travelodge Virginia Beach, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 7574283434.

Sincerely,
D Patel
Manager
TRAVELODGE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
19 Atlantic Hotel
19 Atlantic Hotel
#56 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#57 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#73 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
Red Roof Inn Virginia Beach
#46 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Marlin Motel
Blue Marlin Motel
#88 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Virginia Beach at the Beach
Days Inn Virginia Beach at the B...
#54 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Virginia Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Virginia Beach

Property: Travelodge Virginia Beach
Address: 2802 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Virginia Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Virginia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Virginia Beach At 28th Street Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing