We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JACKED!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marjac Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #98 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“JACKED!!!!!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

To begin it was poor customer service when i checked in. Two, there was only one parking area and one elevator to get to the floors, which is located in the small lobby. The stair case smelled like a bucket of urine, YUCK! The deck door was raggedy and hard to open and close and it needed to be painted and cleaned. Only had one pot to cook with and no dish washing liquid. The sleeper sofa was worn out, felt bed springs through back!!! Only positive thing was the location. We was directly on the strip and on the oceanfront.

Room Tip: Don't stay here go elsewhere!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markiesa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    72
    38
    39
    95
See reviews for
165
34
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had a great time while at the Marjac. The accommodations were large for oceanfront in VA Beach. Kitchen and bath were nicely renovated, and all the units have a direct ocean front balcony. Staff was super accommodating, especially Janet. Great location in the heart of VA Beach and overlooking the boardwalk. Great value for the $$. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candygirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I'm not sure where to begin. The room was dirty when we arrived with pancake syrup on the table and general dust and grime on everything. The door knobs and locks were broken on both the room door and the balcony door. Odd. The bedroom was creepy, and it was impossible to sleep because of the street noise and other "guests" who stood under out window to smoke. The lobby was populated with folks who just seemed to be hanging around, and the front desk staff was totally rude. Cross this place off you list. Filthy, shoddy, and generally creepy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank POTS61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Overall, the room itself had to be cleaned throughly before we could unpack. The doorknob was busted and you had to place a chair under it to keep the door from flying open. Housekeeping never came, even though there was no sign saying not to on the door, they just did not. Each night, I had to go to the front desk with a pile of wet, stinky towels and wait while the nightshift worker located a key to retrieve towels. One night, he evidently gave me used towels that had been washed yet. The worst was the guy day manager. On our last day there at 11:02 am he called the room and demanded I come right to the front desk and pay or bring the key, and than threatened to call the police department if I did not come down there. I felt that was EXTREMLY over dramatic of him & plain rude. Most front desks are busy enough that they don't notice if you're there right at check out! I could see if it was 30 minutes or something, but not right at 11:02- that was ridiculous(considering we stayed an entire week & gave him business). The housekeepers came in as I was trying to get all of the luggage out of the room. They mopped the floor in the middle of me pushing the luggage cart. And they either didn't speak English or just ignored me. I couldn't believe they hadn't shown up all week and on the day I'm trying to leave they wanted to be in the way! Although I enjoyed the oceanfront room & set up, the customer service at this place was enough to make me want all of my money back!

Room Tip: FYI: No restaurant, fitness center or continental breakfest here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 287karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYNY
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Marjac Suites in Virginia Beach does not dazzle with its elegance. What it gives you is a relatively large one bedroom suite with balcony, 2 flat screen tv sets, 2 very comfortable double beds, and a perfectly adequate kitchen/living room combination and a small but adequate bathroom right on the Atlantic Avenue boardwalk, with a breathtaking ocean view. It has no dining room but there's no lack of restaurants in this vicinity. It is the price that has made this hotel a regular on the road trips that include hotel stays in the Delmarva region of the Eastern Seaboard. On my most recent trip, in February '13, the suite described above coast $60 -- a rare bargain for an East Coast hotel right on the beach. Ask for a room on one of the lower floors for excellent broadband and to compensate somewhat for a slow elevator. You need to be pretty snooty to not appreciate what your buck buys you at this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamBaytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in 2 suites at the Marjac with 7 children and 3 adults. The rooms were fantastic! We had a great view of the beach and the fireworks. The suites are fully equipped. The only thing I felt would have made the room more comfortable was having a 2nd bathroom. (But that's my only gripe! lol). It is in a great location. The service was wonderful. We reported that the lock on our door was broken and maintenance was there within 15 minutes to repair it. The rooms were clean and comfortable. They have a pool at the front of the property which is small, but who needs a pool when you can go to the beach?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimplyJ0Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
165 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

stayed here 2nd week in September 2012. I knew which room I wanted and had requested it by phone a couple of weeks previously All the staff are wonderful - nothing is too much bother and you are always greeted with a *good morning* and a chat.

Some work appears to have been done since my last visit: flat screen tv in the living room and marble counters in the kitchen area. the lock on my door had been busted but was repaired within 10 minutes of my mentioning it to maintenance.

There are some noise issues from a bar across the street but according to the hotel manager
this has been brought to the attention of City officials and to date nothing has been done about it. This is no reflection on the Marjac - neither are they responsible for the noise of the jets from nearby Oceana !

All in all another great stay but do understand that it would not be to everyone's taste. But with such a reasonable rate, it's hard to find a better bargain on the Oceanfront.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katy-lied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#53 of 109 in Virginia Beach
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#66 of 109 in Virginia Beach
446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capes Hotel
Capes Hotel
#32 of 109 in Virginia Beach
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#47 of 109 in Virginia Beach
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia B...
#23 of 109 in Virginia Beach
605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#69 of 109 in Virginia Beach
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marjac Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marjac Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Marjac Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 2201 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marjac Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marjac Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marjac Hotel Virginia Beach
Marjac Suites
Marjac Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing