We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thought it would be bigger.”
Review of Thoroughgood House

Thoroughgood House
Ranked #42 of 119 things to do in Virginia Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit the Thoroughgood House to hear the great success story of Adam Thorowgood, one of Virginia's first colonists. Learn about the house Argall and Susannah Thorowgood built and what makes it so extraordinary. See the special touches added by John Thorowgood and tour the passage and parlor, furnished as they might have been when John lived there. Finally, follow the house in pictures up to the present and find out what-and how-we are continuing to learn about this historic treasure.
Massillon, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thought it would be bigger.”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We drove to the location and when seeing what it looked like and how small it was , we decided to just not go in. If it was free then we would have gone through it.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank tellmewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Historical Home”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We had a great tour of this old home. It included the history of the home and the life of the people who lived there. It's being restored, so we couldn't go upstairs, but we saw a lot on the ground floor and the basement!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Grovelander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
104 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Had a nice tour. Enthusiastic guide. Nice antiques inside.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Misheidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful Garden and Nice Tour Guides”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Although the grounds aren't very large they do have a beautiful garden space. The house is historically intact and full of period antiques. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and a great storyteller. If you love American history don't miss it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank NYC_Traveler064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A bit of history tucked away in a charming neighborhood”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Very nice grounds on the Lynnhaven River. Reported to be one of the earliest brick homes in America.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank mseibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thoroughgood House also viewed

 

Been to Thoroughgood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing