We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must see” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Henry Lighthouse

Cape Henry Lighthouse
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Small Group Dolphin Kayak Eco-Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Preservation Virginia acquired the Cape Henry Lighthouse in 1930 when Congress deeded the house and 1.77 Acres of land to the organization in order to preserve it and make it accessible to the public. Over the years lighthouse and its surroundings have been restored including repairing the lantern after damage from Hurricane Barbara in 1953, repairing the damaged original Aquia sandstone and restoring the surrounding dunes. Today, visitors to the Cape Henry Lighthouse can climb to the top of the tower to enjoy spectacular views of the Chesapeake Bay and Atlantic Ocean.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children
Brighton, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The history, and ability to climb this lighthouse was incredible. The view is awesome. Well worth the stop.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank egraetze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    260
    106
    20
    20
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
200 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Climb at night in December--it'll take your breath away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

How cool was this? On Fridays in December, the old lighthouse is strung with lights and you can hoof it to the top to see all of Virginia Beach and the entirety of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge-Tunnel. SPECTACULAR! One of our more special memories on this holiday trip with dear friends. Just be advised--getting onto Fort Story requires vehicle registration, proof of insurance, and photo id's for all occupants. They also search the car. Oh well, such are the time we live in. But this is worth it!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank dstclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great Piece of History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Very interesting piece of history. Walked around and read all the monuments. Tried to picture how it must of been with over 40 old time ( 1700) warships battling it out on the waterfront. Did not walk up to the top of the Lighthouse as my old body couldn't do it. lol
Was interesting going through the Naval car checkout point and seeing an active base with it's housing and out-buildings.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pikadil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Be prepared!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We weren't able to get in to Fort Story to see the lighthouse. You have to have your drivers' license, car registration & proof of insurance before the guard at the gate will go any further. We couldn't provide the insurance card... had to turn around & leave. We'll try again. I just wanted folks to be aware that since it's on a military base, you have to follow their rules to get in.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TripGirl2Busy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The only lighthouse I have climbed up”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I dont like heights. This lighthouse is perched on a dune of sorts, so it is taller than its actual height. Its a great climb, not as unnerving as others, with a great view of its sister light house, new Cape henry, right across from it. Its a nice visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Henry Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to Cape Henry Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing