We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Barbeque, down home atmosphere”

Jakes Smokehouse BBQ
Ranked #33 of 1,413 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fairport, N.Y.
Level Contributor
296 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great Barbeque, down home atmosphere”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We very much enjoyed the dining experience here. You smell the smoked meat as you pull into the parking lot, and it only intensifies as you enter the building. My wife enjoyed a pulled pork sandwich, I a whole rack of ribs, both of which were delicious. Our waitress was clearly new to the game, but was very pleasant, willing and helpful. The ambiance of this establishment puts a good eatery into a "great" class. As good as the food was, we most enjoyed a man who was clearly a member of the house's staff, enchanting a large family with some smallish children with humor, balloon animals, and banter. They clearly enjoyed him, and we perhaps voyeuristicly enjoyed seeing him work and their happiness. We'll go back when next in VA Beach.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gtennant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    82
    32
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ok bbq but service was terrible”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I couldnt wait to get to Jakes we talked about it for months. When we went there on Saturday night October 13, 2012 we were very dissapointed. the price was good and the bbq was ok. The staff was not warm and fuzzy to us it felt like the niceness was forced. Every waitress and waiter appears to have an attitude. the meat was not hot and I dont believe it was cooked fresh. It appeared to be just heated up and serviced to us. We will not be back we will be looking for another bbq spot that is more appetizing and more customer oriented. Because I dont care how good they think the food is customer service is on the top of our list. So if you are looking for a cheap ok meal and no good customer service than take your chance.



The Pleasant's
New Castle DE

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jess and tony p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Catering Service & Food”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We recently ordered CATERED food from Jake's Bar-B-Que in Virginia Beach for a family wedding. We had to do this from out of state and found the catering personnel extremely patient and helpful. The real plus came when our guestS began to rave about the food. The ribs got especially great reviews and the barbeque sauce was excellent. Check them out and ask for Kevin - you will not regret it. You will get your quote and no surprises later.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cleveland O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best dinner of our trip.”
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

This place was the dining highlight of our vacation. The place was lively and perfect for our two year old. The prices were incredibly reasonable. And the food was some the best bbq I've ever had.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pmmcrobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Jakes Smokehouse BBQ in Virginia Beach, VA.”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Submitting my review of Jakes Smokehouse BBQ in Virginia Beach, VA. I stop in for lunch at Jake's each year during my annual trip to VB. I love the food and usually get a pulled pork sandwhich. I do however miss the salad bar that they used to have. Overall a clean, friendly place with great food.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jakes Smokehouse BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Jakes Smokehouse BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing