We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Crab Cakes”

Surf Rider Restaurant
Ranked #379 of 1,431 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Restaurant details
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Crab Cakes”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

A little out of the way but worth the drive. The Best crab cakes I've ever had. Big and nothing but crab meat. Great outdoor atmosphere too.

Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    23
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A favorite fails me ...”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Summer for me begins with a crabcake at the Surf Rider Marina Shores...I can't tell you how disappointed I am, not anymore. After years of touting it as THE BEST crab cake around - they changed their recipe. It wasn't the same - filled with lump crab meat that made your mouth water thinking about it....now, it tasted like any other mediocre crab cake with lots of filler and minimum crab. WHY???
Thursday night it wasn't packed and still we sat at the outside table waiting for 20 minutes before I had to ask the barmaid to please get us a waitress. WHY??? I write this with the hope the owners read these and will readjust. If it's a new chef - fire him/her. If it's a new recipe...PLEASE reconsider.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sstepans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great local spot right at the marina”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The Surf Rider is open again after further renovations. This locals favorite has a great spot overlooking the marina with an open air atmosphere. Good consistent food. The fried flounder special is not on the menu but is a plate full of fish and broccoli, a regulars favorite so ask about it. They finally have French fries available....... Definitely seek out this spot but expect to have to wait for a table.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BambooH2O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Delicious fried shrimp--they were huge! Meals came with tons of food. I had the clam strips and they were fried perfectly. Our son and his wife shared a seafood bowl containing crab legs, steamed clams, shrimp and sausage with steamed broccoli. They had enough broccoli to feed a whole family and plenty of seafood. Service was great and price was reasonable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wiggygailTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Crab Cakes”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The Crab Cakes at Surf Rider are Awesome. I use them as my baseline "best like" for any other Crab Cake that I order from any place else. I don't usually find any better. They have several locations and I have been to them all. The old location on Virginia Beach Blvd (17th St.) is where I took my girlfriend on our very first date. That was 21 years ago and I guess it made such a great impression on her that we have been happily married for over 20 years and always go to Surf Rider for "Our" crab cakes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf Rider Restaurant also viewed

 
Virginia Beach, VA
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Surf Rider Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing