We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum Yum”

Beach Bully Open Pit Bar B Que
Ranked #92 of 1,428 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Yum Yum”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great BBQ joint, located a few blocks away from the beach. We went at lunch and the place was quite busy. I would highly recommend any of the combo meals, especially one that serves the brisket, which had a wonderful aroma and smoky taste which led me to devour it in just a few minutes. I will admit that the sauce was pretty good (I say this as someone who thinks Carolina BBQ is at the bottom of the BBQ ladder in America, well behind KC, Memphis and TX). There is a wide variety of side dishes to choose from, so you can guarantee a good meal!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    92
    27
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Leave for the tourists.”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Leave it for the tourists, they won't know any better. I find it hard to believe it is ranked this high.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank qmb913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not as good as others say”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Although the food smells delicious, that is where it ends. Husband ordered beef ribs and I ordered barbequed chicken. Neither one of us enjoyed our meals. The ribs were undercooked and had no smoke flavor. Chicken was raw in parts closest to the bone.
Potato salad needed salt and beans were nothing special.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrogKGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Finally made it to Beach Bully .... husband had told me about it numerous times. Had the beef brisket and loved it. Will certainly go back. Highly recommend. Great service - great food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheena4UKCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This restaurant was actually recommended to us by the hotel maid. It was definitely a walk from Atlantic Avenue, but well worth it! The pulled pork sandwiches were delicious and the fried chicken was excellent! My husband said the meaty beans were delicious! The staff was very friendly. When in Virginia Beach again, we will definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Bully Open Pit Bar B Que also viewed

 

Been to Beach Bully Open Pit Bar B Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing