We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed with hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very disappointed with hotel”
Reviewed August 13, 2009

We requested a king bed, non smoking. We received two double beds in a smoking room. One of the beds had a broken box spring, the light in the hallway wasn't working, and the hair dryer was missing. The hotel was booked so we couldn't change rooms. Overall, the room felt old, dirty and run down.

The atmosphere/location felt like a busy, overcrowded spring break. Service in the restaurant for breakfast was very slow.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollyliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    514
    251
    164
    97
See reviews for
525
573
61
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

We always enjoy our annual stay at this hotel, as our kids love the infinity rooftop pool and proximity to things like Neptune Park and shopping. It's a pricey location, so our expectations are naturally higher than say a Hampton or similar. Fortunately, we've been in a position to use HHonors Points to cover most of our stays, so assessing the value part has been easy. Nonetheless, we have a choice of where to spend those points, and after our last trip there, we were disappointed by the visible signs of this hotel slipping.

The floor and walls of the outdoor infinity pool were blotchy and faded, clearly in dire need of a paint job. The indoor pool actually had scum on the tile just above the waterline, made more noticeable by the initials that people had been "carving" into the scum with their fingernails....hello? who is actually signing off on this pool being clean?

We spent our breakfast in Catch 31 shooing flies away. Of course, this really put a damper on the buffet table, lost my appetite real quick. Not sure how open air restaurants are supposed to control this, but regardless, it wasn't working from a hygiene standpoint.

Our room could have been cleaner (crumbs under the beds) and our tv channels were fuzzy.

All these things contributed to our dimmer view of this hotel since we first stayed there in 2007.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBro65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2009

First, we arrived for check-in around 4pm and was told the room would not be ready for another hour or so. We finally made it to our room at 5:30. At first sight the room was ok at best. The bed was extremely uncomfortable, too soft,and sunk in the middle The shower door would not close properly and allowed large amounts of water to leak onto the floor. We had to use lots of towels. The air conditioning unit was loud and on the third night started a weird beeping sound at 5am! A call to the front was not returned until 7am. Tired and sleepy, we ordered room service for breakfast. The meal arrived cold, the waiter did not bring any condiments, and also forgot to bring the toast. He later returned with condiments and still forgot the toast. With no microwave in the room, we wound up paying $50+ for a cold breakfast. Maid service was consistently poor. They even had to be asked to dump the trash!! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Looks are definitely deceiving in this case. Never again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atcVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg,, PA
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2009

We arrived Sunday, July 26th, at 6:15pm. We were told our room was not ready and to check back in an hour. The delay was attributed to a problem with linen. We were told to go to the restaurant for a drink or to sit outside. We were not offered a complementary drink or meal for the inconvenience. We were using the valet service for parking and were told we could not unload our luggage for storage until our room was ready do to how busy they were. The car was moved. When we were able to check in an hour later, the car had to be returned to the front of the hotel to get our luggage and check in.
On 6/27 we used room service for dinner. Our dirty plates were not removed from our room for two days. When they were removed, they sat in the hall outside our room for another two days. Housekeeping was inconsistent. Clearly there was a linen problem. The dirty towels and washcloths were removed but too little clean linen was left. This required calls to housekeeping for towels. Housekeeping was very late a couple days. The key cards are a problem. We had to get two new key cards twice during the stay. We were told to stop keeping the key cards close to cell phones. Neither one of us kept our key cards any where near our mobile phones. There are no exhaust fans in the bathrooms in a very hot, humid place!
This is a pet friendly hotel. I am a dog lover but do not comprehend taking a dog on a vacation and leaving him in a hotel all day to bark. One night at 11:30pm, I had to call to get someone to talk to the people in a room two doors down about their barking dogs on a balcony.
Internet service is $10.45 per 24hours. That is totally absurd. If they really need to charge for internet (a new way to make money since most have cell phones and do not use the hotel phones), they would probably make more by charging less per day. That way, I would have probably paid for service more than one day. Other days, I took my lap top out and walked up the board walk until I picked up a hot spot.
Check out was very smooth and the bellmen and valet service was very good.
Unfortunately there was a fire on the hotel roof (at a cafe?) during our conference which delayed it for about 1 1/2 hours. Obviously, this can't be helped. The next day, as an apology for the inconvenience, the hotel gave the conference attendees a reception. That was very thoughtful

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mellowone2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Stayed August 1, 2009. Rude managers when called to ask about refrigerator that was supposed to be in room (was confirmed days earlier). Manager argued with me, and was quite hostile. No apologies.

Overpriced hotel with employees who need accountability and an attitude adjustment. Better customer experience can be found with lower-priced hotels.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwb2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, va
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

From the moment of arrival we had average service. Booked the Club level floor and was told I would have expedited check-in at a separate station - did not see that. Biggest annoyance was being hounded to "take a tour for a time share." Every time we went to the Activities Desk to sign out towels we were asked the same question,"Do you guys know where you're eating tonight?" That's the come-on question they all start with. Even when we finally said "Yes, we do," we were then asked "Where" and on and on. Room was average, small and cramped. Oceanfront balcony not private. Club level lounge was nice but complimentary breakfast was okay. Very nice fitness room. Roof top infinity pool and indoor pool were unique and nice.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norwick9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

We knew check-in was at 4 o'clock, but arrived early and relaxed by the pool bar. The Skybar/Poolbar is over rated and small, but the drinks were good.
When we were advised that our room was ready, we were apalled with the scenery from the balcony, which overlooked a large rooftop that encompassed the entire view(See Photo). It took several phone calls to Hilton Hotel management and Hilton Honors staff in order to set the situation right. And we got a room with a wonderful view(See Photos). We were happy with that. However, the bath drain drain was clogged and there is a $9.95 charge, per day, for internet access.
Breakfast was a nice basic breakfast. We ordered off of the menu, which was half the price of the buffet.
Dinner at Catch31, however, left a lot to be desired. Service was slow and impersonal, and the food was mediocre.
To sum up our visit, I would simply say that it is not worth the expense and I will be staying at a different hotel for my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#8 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 3001 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#33 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the perfect beach destination for your vacation getaway - where you can unwind in luxurious accommodations, dine at oceanfront restaurants, listen to a live concert in the park or relax in a cabana on the beach.Situated on the city’s famed boardwalk adjacent to Neptune’s Park, the Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront features a collection of 289 upscale guest rooms and spacious suites. Our exclusive Empyrean Club, located on the top three floors, features personalized concierge service, complimentary breakfast in a private lounge, private key card access and refined amenities.Though Virginia Beach boasts a number of exciting activities and attractions, our luxury hotel is a landmark in its own right. With two award-winning restaurants onsite, Catch 31 and Salacia, you won’t have to go far for fresh fish or the only 4-Diamond steakhouse in Virginia. Our resort is also home to Sky Bar, serving creative cocktails with panoramic views 21 stories above the beach.The Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront is also the ultimate destination for meetings and weddings, with over 12,000 square feet of flexible event space. Other onsite amenities include our 24-hour business center, our inspiring fitness center and Virginia’s first rooftop infinity pool overlooking the Atlantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing