We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #12 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

After a horrible stay at a neighboring hotel, it was nice to move into the Hilton. It is a but overpriced but very comfortable. The restaurant, Catch 31, was very nice but very overpriced. Drinks were way overpriced for the pour. The rooftop pool is such a nice place to chill. They have a bar and TV where we gathered to watch the World Cup. Very relaxing. Lunch by the pool was great. Wish they had an adult pool. It is a very small pool and too many unruly children were jumping all over the pool and throwing balls. Fitness room was wonderful. Location is ok if you don't mind crowds. It is located right next to public access of the beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    519
    253
    170
    98
See reviews for
534
579
61
414
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We had a rocky start at the Hilton, which was our first trip to both Virgina Beach and this hotel. We had requested a crib, both at reservation time and when we called about two hours out from our arrivial, for our child. We were arriving well past his normal bedtime and needed to get him to sleep. The crib was not ready and our luggage, including all of his toys, diapers, etc, were left on a luggage rack in the lobby for over an hour, as it had been mismarked by the bellman, despite him doublechecking the name and room when he collected them. It took three visits to the front desk to resolve both of these issues, which was very stressful and not good. Once they were resolved, things got much better, and the front desk sent up a gift card to the on-site restaurant, Catch 31, that led the three of us have a free, high-end, seafood dinner later in our stay on them, which was an excellent gesture. So, while there was some initial screw-ups, they did make it right.

The hotel room was somewhat small, but very nice, well-kept, modern, and clean. The showerheads, specifically, were very powerful and nice. Everyone we interacted with was very nice and helpful and we had no issues, aside from our initial ones. The pool on the top of the hotel was really neat and my kid loved it (as did I). We did have breakfast at the hotel every morning we were there (Chelsea is a great waitress!) and the buffett was decent, if not super remarkable. We slept well at night...my only complaint about the noise was that on two consecutive days, construction was going on in what sounded like the room directly above us, in the middle of the afternoon, when my kid was trying to nap. I fully understand you need to do maintenance and construction at some time, and this was clearly better than in the middle of the night, but it was still very unnerving.

The location of the hotel is ideal, being both right on the beach and very close to multiple restaurants. The resort area of Virgina Beach is somewhat small (about 40 blocks), so you can walk to anything in that area...if you want to walk for an hour or so. Otherwise, you'll need to drive and the parking at this hotel was cheap ($8/day for self-park) and easy to go in/out. The hotel itself is right on the beach and we were provided with free beach towels and sand chairs when we went. The rental prices for umbrellas and canopeys were resonable and they were very nice to have.

All-in-all, this hotel was a very good choice. It's ideally located within Virginia Beach, it's a good example of a middle-to-high grade Hilton hotel, and the service we received was very good. When we go back to Virgina Beach, we'll likely stay here again and enjoy ourselves again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiceGuy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is beautiful, clean and easily accessible to many great dining, shopping and entertainment options. Outstanding view and great staff but, like all Hiltons, it nickels and dimes you to death for basic services like WiFi and parking. We were there for one night as part of a professional conference that covered the cost of our room. We would never have chosen to stay there otherwise as the $400 a night summer rate (for a city view) is not worth it when there are so many other nice oceanfront hotels with reasonable rates, continental breakfasts and other amenities included. If you just really want to stay at this Hilton, do it in the off-season.

Room Tip: Ocean "view" is just as good as ocean "front" and less expensive. I would not p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumon, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I am glad to have selected this hotel since I wanted to stay in a quality hotel right on the beach. It was a pleasure to enjoy the quality of a city Hilton hotel and still enjoy the atmosphere of a beach resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ernie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hilton VA Beach. It was pricey, but it was the best hotel on the strip by far. The Hilton is in a great location, but don't stay here if you are looking for a quiet setting as it was right in the thick of things. The hotel's restaurant was always busy, as was the outdoor bar and Neptune Park, which had live music nightly. We had a great room on the 16th floor. It wasn't ocean view, but we could see a good deal of the ocean and the city. We had a fabulous view of fireworks over the ocean, which was an added bonus for the kids. The rooftop pool was nice, but small. No it is not really infinity, but it does have great views of the ocean so it was the next best thing. They had convenient bar service with lots of fruity drinks poolside which was nice. The elevators take forever, and beware of the timeshare sales people masquerading as a concierge assistance. Also, don't expect your room to be cleaned until late afternoon. All in all, we had a ball riding bikes on the boardwalk, at the pool and at the beach. We absolutely would return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NMcKenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

5 star service from arrival to check out. Valet attendants ready, front desk staff very helpful and timely, housekeeping attendants are great, the turndown attendant was great! check-out super easy. Roof top bar is awesome!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed at the Hilton Oceanfront for one night for a weekday getaway. Had a lovely room, did not pay for ocean front and got a room on the north side. We still had a lovely view of the ocean and the bonus was a balcony view of the concert stage next to the hotel. The concert was fabulous so make sure you check the concert schedule and book your room accordingly. If you want to overlook the concert stage ask for a room on the NORTH SIDE of the hotel. The room was clean, and average size, the bathroom was small. The rooftop has a plunge pool that overlooks the oceanfront as well as a hot tub and a lovely bar.

Room Tip: Ir there is a concert on the beach that night, a room on the north side will allow you a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
589 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#73 of 109 in Virginia Beach
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 3001 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#33 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the perfect beach destination for your vacation getaway - where you can unwind in luxurious accommodations, dine at oceanfront restaurants, listen to a live concert in the park or relax in a cabana on the beach.Situated on the city’s famed boardwalk adjacent to Neptune’s Park, the Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront features a collection of 289 upscale guest rooms and spacious suites. Our exclusive Empyrean Club, located on the top three floors, features personalized concierge service, complimentary breakfast in a private lounge, private key card access and refined amenities.Though Virginia Beach boasts a number of exciting activities and attractions, our luxury hotel is a landmark in its own right. With two award-winning restaurants onsite, Catch 31 and Salacia, you won’t have to go far for fresh fish or the only 4-Diamond steakhouse in Virginia. Our resort is also home to Sky Bar, serving creative cocktails with panoramic views 21 stories above the beach.The Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront is also the ultimate destination for meetings and weddings, with over 12,000 square feet of flexible event space. Other onsite amenities include our 24-hour business center, our inspiring fitness center and Virginia’s first rooftop infinity pool overlooking the Atlantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing