We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, terrible elevators”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

this was a great hotel. definitely the best hotel in Virginia beach. Very friendly and helpful staff throughout the hotel including the bar and restaurant. the only two downsides to this hotel is that there is no privacy on the balconies for the ocean front rooms and the elevators are the slowest i have ever seen. i stayed on the 16th floor and we actually took the stairs several times because we couldnt wait any longer for the elevators.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenmendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSchaum, General Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at our Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Resort. It is my pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our facility and customer service. Your comments are being reviewed as this helps us to continually work in improving our guest experience. We sincerely appreciate your business and hope we can welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,081)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,432 - 1,438 of 2,081 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

Be aware if you book an oceanfront room and use your credit card points. We booked an oceanfront room. We arrived early and double checked our reservation and they confirmed our oceanfront reservation. After several hours, we checked back with the front desk and were told they didn't have any oceanfront rooms. So they overbooked the oceanfront rooms and gave us an ocean view room. (With a view of the ocean and the air conditioners on nearby roof tops, and the street) Then when we complained, they gave us the difference between the price of the the two rooms in Hilton Honors rewards. Now we are locked in to booking another Hilton affiliated property just to get our points back. They do it all very politely and with a smile.
We would have booked another hotel if we would have know we were not going to be oceanfront.....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSchaum, General Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry to read that there was any miscommunication using your card points and the room that you selected. I am not certain of the circumstances that took place; however there are different factors that take place when using credit card points and Hilton Honor points. Please don’t hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to discuss this matter further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Good location and the bar and restaurant were very good but the rooms were very average and felt more like a 3 star hotel than a hilton.

The pool on the roof was v small and crowded. They only have a limited number of chairs on the beach and if you're going to the beach later in the day you'll have to hire, which for the money you pay isn't acceptable in my opinion.

However, downstairs the hotel is modern, clean and has some very good options for drink and food. Just don't stay upstairs!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSchaum, General Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed our food and beverage outlets. The summer months are our peak season, the beach chairs can sometimes go fast. However, there are beach chair services and cabanas that are available for a fee. Nevertheless, we appreciate your feedback as this is the best source of enhancing our guest services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Firstly this is the best property in VA Beach if your are a hotel snob like me.
Great Rooms, Pool, Bar, and killer restaurant. My family only had a few days for vacation this year so we booked last weekend. Upon arrival the weather turned bad. Rain Clouds wind. We had a great night regardless but woke up to more bad weather. We approached the front desk to see what our options were. I would have assumed that if we cancelled the remainder of our vacation we would have to pay a penalty fee.. But the good news. they allowed us to rebook this weekend at the same rate (Leisure) and even upgraded our room! so our vacation was saved and we will be back this weekend.. and many more times next year I am sure.. Love HILTON VA BEACH!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveRoswell_Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed there in 2012 for 5-6 days vacation in Virginia beach. The only available rooms were Emporian club ones, and we have never regretted we took one with partial sea view.
Very clean, location is magnificient, staff attentive. Lounge bar is good - no complaints for both snacks and breakfast.
Will definitely be back to this place! Strongly recommend - but it is expensive.

Room Tip: Emporian club room tested - no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandros68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

hotel charges too much for what it offers. The service should be at the same par with what they charge. Don't don't leave carts out so that you can take your own luggage back to your car when you check out. They figure they make so much money each night that they couldn't care less if your needs were taken care of. When you call them they'll just say that they are sorry in a very nice manner. We called for microwave bcz the little eight years old needed her Ramen noodles and we got the microwave at 11 pm! (rediculous)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Omar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSchaum, General Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Please accept my sincerest apologies if we did not meet your service standards during your visit, in particular with your experienced delays with our bell staff and microwave. All of our guests are extremely valuable to us.
Your concerns have been addressed with the appropriate department heads for review. We do hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, we have the opportunity of welcome you and your family back your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

What a location! Located right on the beach. I guess that's why they call it BeachFront. The happy hour was great. We didn't check out the roof top pool and SkyBar until our last day. Mistake,..go to the pool after a day at the beach. Dislike. On day one they ran out of beach chair coupons.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank photo35e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSchaum, General Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

I wanted to take a moment to thank you for recent stay with us. We do have an amazing location and are glad that you were able to experience the easy access to the beach and our happy hour. I regret that we had run out of our beach chair coupons on your first day, as this is prime season. However we do have beach lounges that can be obtained through our concierge desk. Thanks again for your business and comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
640 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
Oceanaire Resort Hotel
#44 of 109 in Virginia Beach
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#67 of 109 in Virginia Beach
798 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 3001 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#33 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $145 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the perfect beach destination for your vacation getaway - where you can unwind in luxurious accommodations, dine at oceanfront restaurants, listen to a live concert in the park or relax in a cabana on the beach.Situated on the city’s famed boardwalk adjacent to Neptune’s Park, the Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront features a collection of 289 upscale guest rooms and spacious suites. Our exclusive Empyrean Club, located on the top three floors, features personalized concierge service, complimentary breakfast in a private lounge, private key card access and refined amenities.Though Virginia Beach boasts a number of exciting activities and attractions, our luxury hotel is a landmark in its own right. With two award-winning restaurants onsite, Catch 31 and Salacia, you won’t have to go far for fresh fish or the only 4-Diamond steakhouse in Virginia. Our resort is also home to Sky Bar, serving creative cocktails with panoramic views 21 stories above the beach.The Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront is also the ultimate destination for meetings and weddings, with over 12,000 square feet of flexible event space. Other onsite amenities include our 24-hour business center, our inspiring fitness center and Virginia’s first rooftop infinity pool overlooking the Atlantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing