We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque Oceanfront....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Picturesque Oceanfront....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was my first time staying at this property even though I have been to Virginia Beach plenty of times. My family and I were on a very short trip but we really enjoyed the oceanfront room we received and the great restaurant that was located onsite (Catch 31). If you are a Hhonors Gold or Diamond member they have an executive floor with refreshments served daily and a continental breakfast (the hot buffet is served in the restaurant). The room was a bit on the small side but the view was spectacular. I plan to visit again and look forward in staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeauTAUfulntmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSchaum, General Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience; we sincerely value your loyalty and it is my pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay. Please keep us in mind on your future travels to the Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    499
    244
    160
    92
See reviews for
509
556
59
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Randallstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Overall the hotel was good. Price was a little high based on other properties near by $250. We have room oceanfront 5th floor -- great view --- unlike another comment -- we were close to the bands on the beach which played late night. We could just leave our balcony doors open and be entertained. We enjoyed it. we dined in both resturants the upscale one was great -- the other service not too good unless you were just getting drinks --- I was kind of disappointed that we did not have a frig or microwave in the room. -- overall the service was great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwltrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSchaum, General Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and for your kind words. We sincerely appreciate your business and hope you return to our facility in your future travels to the Virginia Beach Oceanfront Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

In connection with a Memorial Day soccer tournament, I arranged a stay at the Hilton Oceanfront for the members of our team and their parents. There was a discount getting the rooms through the tournament sponsors.

The parents, and of course the kids, all thought highly of the hotel, and it was nice to check in there after the long trip down. The staff were very pleasant and efficient, and the lobby and rooms were very nice -- many with good ocean views and balconies. It is in a very good location, although being next to Neptune Park brings with it frequent concerts, which can be somewhat loud, but cease by 11 pm.

My quibbles all relate to extra charges for things. For example, it is $8/day to self-park in the Hilton garage across the street and $16/day for valet parking. I have stayed at other nice hotels on the beach that provide free parking. It is also $10/day for WIFI in the room. Higher level Hilton honors folks get some of this free. Finally, it would be nice to have a refrigerator in the room, if for nothing else than to keep drinks cold.

All in all a very good experience, and I would consider the Hilton again if I could obtain a reasonable price.

Room Tip: If band noise from Neptune Park is a concern, ask for a room away from the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ejeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSchaum, General Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards of service.
I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and our accommodations during Memorial Day soccer tournament. In response to the parking fees, unfortunately we do not own the parking garage therefore, we cannot waive the fees. As far as the WIFI, this is a Hilton standard fee, and as a Franchisee, we must follow all policies.
We do certainly hope that you consider visiting again in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is absolutely beautiful and the staff are so curteous and attentive. The ocean views from this hotel are stunning. While the cost of staying in the hotel is a bit daunting, once you are there you will be glad you went. The roof top pools, hot tub and SkyBar are phenomenal. The hotel itself and the rooms are immaculate. The rooms are cleaned every day and the staff just couldn't be nicer. There are two restaurants within the hotel, Catch 31 and Salacia, and the food is outstanding. Our room, by request, overlooked the concert stage so my family and I could just sit on our balcony and enjoy the nightly concerts and ocean views. We had a wonderful time and thoroughly enjoyed our stay with the Hilton.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSchaum, General Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
I am grateful that you took the time to submit a review regarding your stay. All guests’ comments are read with utmost interest as this is the best means of measuring the standard of hospitality that we strive to reserve for all of our guests. I am glad you enjoyed our location and accommodations. We sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

The Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront is a beautiful hotel in a great location. We had a Club Floor Corner Oceanview room with a large balcony. From our room we watched ships passing by, people horseback riding on the beach and others walking and bike riding along the Boardwalk.

The rooms on the Club floors include access to the Empyrean Club Lounge where we enjoyed complimentary breakfast, snacks and beverages and a nice selection of hors d'oeuvres in the evening. The best feature in the Lounge, though, was the service. Lars Noaksson was working when we had breakfast the first morning. I told him that the large balcony from our room had a chaise, a small table, but only one chair. I asked him if we could get a second chair so we could sit by the table together with drinks. Lars assured me that he would take care of it; when we returned to our room after breakfast, the second chair was already on the balcony. Lars also made dinner reservations for us at Catch 31. The restaurant was packed, but we got a window table we requested. Thank-you, Lars. Others who served us in the Lounge during our 4-night stay were James Nord, Marvin and Stacey. They were all friendly and helpful.

The only negative thing about our stay was not about the hotel, but the concerts at Neptune Park that went on till late at night. The music was extremely loud even on the 19th floor. On our last night we mentioned it to Marvin in the Lounge. He said that on our next visit they could give us a room on the other side of the hotel. That's something to consider if the loud music would be an issue for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J_and_JR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSchaum, General Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at our Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Resort. It is my pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay with us; our goal to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected.
I will ensure to pass your kind comments to our team. Please keep us in mind for any future travels, as we would love to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia beach, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

I think $299 a nite was high. When we chkd in they said the were putting us on the quite side of bldg but the bands played late right outside our room which made it hard for my toddler to go to bed. We didnt get a room with a tub & it made it nearly impossible to bathe my son. The drink machines on our floor didnt work nor did our refrigerator in our room however maintenance man did come promptly & switch out the refrigerator & all the hotel staff was very nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Paige S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSchaum, General Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and kind words; however we’re very sorry you were unhappy with your guest room. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. Thank you again for your review and we hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Always a great stay. We book the Hilton at least once a month, and always have had a good experience. But it's not the brick and mortar, it's the people who work there. All are pleasant, and it's every time! Kudos to the Hilton management.

If you have time for breakfast, ask for Bones to wait on you. She is the best of the best!! A little sassy (if you read this, you know you are), but it makes the experience even better!

Room Tip: Corner King is the nicest room in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#6 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
Sheraton Oceanfront Hotel
#29 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 3001 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#33 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the perfect beach destination for your vacation getaway - where you can unwind in luxurious accommodations, dine at oceanfront restaurants, listen to a live concert in the park or relax in a cabana on the beach.Situated on the city’s famed boardwalk adjacent to Neptune’s Park, the Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront features a collection of 289 upscale guest rooms and spacious suites. Our exclusive Empyrean Club, located on the top three floors, features personalized concierge service, complimentary breakfast in a private lounge, private key card access and refined amenities.Though Virginia Beach boasts a number of exciting activities and attractions, our luxury hotel is a landmark in its own right. With two award-winning restaurants onsite, Catch 31 and Salacia, you won’t have to go far for fresh fish or the only 4-Diamond steakhouse in Virginia. Our resort is also home to Sky Bar, serving creative cocktails with panoramic views 21 stories above the beach.The Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront is also the ultimate destination for meetings and weddings, with over 12,000 square feet of flexible event space. Other onsite amenities include our 24-hour business center, our inspiring fitness center and Virginia’s first rooftop infinity pool overlooking the Atlantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing