We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #13 of 111 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Lynchburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We could not afford the Hilton over the summer month and tool advantage for their winter specials. I am lucky we did as we would have been even more upset paying full for what we experienced. From a dusty room, dirty sheet over to scripted and cold service, there was nothing to write home about. You should not just life from a location and try harder to also match the product with service. We will try another ocean front hotel end of march, Hilton will not be an option for us anymore.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KK757, Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We're sorry to hear your stay did not meet your expectations. We strive for excellence in cleanliness, service and our amenities. Our location on the boardwalk is a perk our guests usually enjoy very much, as we are central to all the best shopping, dining and entertainment on the oceanfront.

We hope you give us a second chance to serve you again next time your travels bring you to Virginia Beach.

Thanks,
David Schaum, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    449
    215
    142
    75
See reviews for
439
462
54
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Its what I expected. I wasn't impressed with all the kids in the lobby starring at us when we walked in. Suppose there was an event going on. Room was cold all night but I'm a woman! (we are always cold!) Felt like waitress was annoyed to serve us but I only say that because her attitude and she had to point out she was suppose to leave but stayed... and I must say when a couple is in a nice restaurant employees should take conversations else ware. Valet was my biggest issue I would have been better of saving 16 bucks and getting my own car. The wait was annoying for me perhaps because I have no patience. All and all I would say yes stay at the Hilton its got best price for what your looking for.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheannong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here Memorial weekend of 2012 with our 8 year old son. The hotel has ONE elevator and at night the pool deck turns into a night club. There were two major issues with that. First, the lines for the elevator were long and second, the "boom, boom, boom" from the nightclub could be heard all night. Our room was on the 7th floor and oceanfront. When we first arrived, the wheels to the sliding closet door were missing and the safe fell out of the wall. We paid $1400 for the weekend and had to deal with maintenance for the first hour or so. Also, be prepared to pay for nice lounges on the beach. A lounge & umbrella ran us $50 per day. The pool on top of the building was very busy and no chairs to be found.

The Pro's are: Very nice location, friendly staff and beautiful view. I am writing this review as we intend to return to Virginia Beach in May and will not be booking a room at the Hilton. I hope this can be helpful to another family traveling for a beach weekend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for a weekend getaway with my husband to celebrate our birthdays. We thoroughly enjoyed the location, our corner room with balcony and ocean view was both spacious and inviting. Catch 31 - the bar and the restaurant of the same name (on site) were friendly - with good views of the oceanfront, excellent service and very fresh, well-prepared seafood. Try a spicy Bloody Mary "Natcho style" at the bar. If it had been just a little warmer, we might have dined outside by the gas fire pits. We've done that before - most enjoyable. We thought the hotel's location along the boardwalk was ideal - great views and fairly quiet. We've traveled to VA Beach many times over the years and have frequented the restaurant many times but haven't stayed at the hotel before this trip. If you are looking for a more than a basic beach hotel, we highly recommend it. One caveat - the rooftop pool was closed for renovation during our visit. We were informed of this when booking our reservation - it would have been a lovely addition to a great weekend away. We can only imagine how breathtaking the view would be. Perhaps a return visit is in our future!

Room Tip: According to the hotel - the corner rooms are more spacious than the standard rooms. Our 7th floor c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lpsmith55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
340 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Traveling to VA Beach for business I decided to change it up a bit and stay at the beach rather than the town center...amazing hotel price reductions this time of year along the beach front hotels! I am a diamond hilton member and therefore was upgraded to a corner room with balcony and beautiful view of the ocean. It was so nice to wake up with the winter sun beaming in and that view of the ocean. Hard to motivate myself for a work day!
My room was very nice and bed comfy. I liked the huge flat screen TV that swiveled for the right angle. The bathroom was not large and the jacuzzi tub did NOT look inviting. I thought the mini fridge needed to be in a cabinet...it was a bit cheezy the way it was squeezed in next to the dresser.
I sat at the restaurant bar for a lite dinner and martini. The bar tenders are quick and excellent.
I was given a key to the executive lounge and that was typical in a good way for this type of hotel...lots of good beverage choices, snacks, fruits, cookies, continental breakfast etc.
I hate parking garages....that is the only choice for parking... unless you valet your car (which is double in price).
I cannot see paying the premium summer rates for this room ($350 to $400)...but I enjoyed my winter stay and rate!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Shersei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

As a photographer I get to visit many different places around the country and recently I did a photo shoot at the Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront. As a Hilton Honor member they are my preferred hotel but here it's more than that is about the professionalism and service excellence received from the staff.

I scheduled ahead of time and coordinated with their events department so my shoot would go smoothly. I was so impressed at how easy everything went together and happy that I didn't have to worry about my customers getting lost.

While staying their the Blue Angels were performing and I had such an amazing view that I couldn't help but stop and photograph the precision.

I recommend this hotel if you want to spend quality time in Virginia Beach with your loved one or you need an amazing venue to impress your customers or guests. Nothing short of spectacular!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ty_Swartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KK757, Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi Mr. Swartz,

Thank you for taking time to leave a rave review on your stay at our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and will share your kind words with our staff.

On another note, we'd love to know if you'd be willing to share some of your photos with us. We are always looking for new photography that features our hotel. Please reach out to kristi.kastrounis@phrinc.com if you'd like to discuss further.

Hope to have you stay at our hotel again in the near future!

Thanks,
Dave Schaum, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Carpet frayed. Prefer to have sink outside of bathroom. Room service was timely and brian was very nice but both of our breakfast orders were incorrect. Too expensive for what you get. Would I go back? Not on my dime.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#3 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 746 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#5 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 755 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#2 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 508 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#55 of 111 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 3001 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#33 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the perfect beach destination for your vacation getaway - where you can unwind in luxurious accommodations, dine at oceanfront restaurants, listen to a live concert in the park or relax in a cabana on the beach.Situated on the city’s famed boardwalk adjacent to Neptune’s Park, the Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront features a collection of 289 upscale guest rooms and spacious suites. Our exclusive Empyrean Club, located on the top three floors, features personalized concierge service, complimentary breakfast in a private lounge, private key card access and refined amenities.Though Virginia Beach boasts a number of exciting activities and attractions, our luxury hotel is a landmark in its own right. With two award-winning restaurants onsite, Catch 31 and Salacia, you won’t have to go far for fresh fish or the only 4-Diamond steakhouse in Virginia. Our resort is also home to Sky Bar, serving creative cocktails with panoramic views 21 stories above the beach.The Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront is also the ultimate destination for meetings and weddings, with over 12,000 square feet of flexible event space. Other onsite amenities include our 24-hour business center, our inspiring fitness center and Virginia’s first rooftop infinity pool overlooking the Atlantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing