We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By the Ocean is nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #13 of 111 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“By the Ocean is nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

For a Hilton this is a very well priced and well equipped hotel in the heart of VA Beach on the water. Spacious rooms, clean and awesome roof top bar that only quest have access to. Food is good and tons of places around to walk to that will satisfy any appetite. Parking for free across the street in deck for free and perfect for conventions and meetings. A must stay on the water for VA Beach.

Room Tip: Don;t get a King size bed but go with to doubles. Opens the chances of getting an ocean front of oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wes A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    449
    213
    142
    75
See reviews for
439
458
54
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Hilton is a great hotel. We stay there once a month for business. It's very rare that we have any issues with any portion of the hotel. From the valets, to front desk, and the bellmen, we have always received superior service.

But the real difference maker is the best employee in the hotel, Bones! Great attitude, always friendly, and very efficient. The hotel couldn't ask for a better ambassador for it's guests. On our last visit, she joked with two members of our group, naming them Slack and Slacker because they were late for breakfast.

I would not hesitate to recommend the Hilton to all.

Dave P.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I spent three week in early december and this hotel was just great.
I had a very nice and clean room overlooking the ocean, so that every morning when you wake up you have the nicest sunrise above the ocean.
Personnel was great and very helpful, the restaurant "catch 31" has awesome seafood and the bartenders were always helpful and smiling.

Room Tip: South est corner rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frajag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed there with my family in December. It's a very nice hotel. The executive floor is a must. Ocean views are wonderful. The staff is terrific and you are very welcomed there. Kudos to the ones working at the executive lounge. Nothing negative can be said about this hotel. It was a lovely experience at a time of the year where they don't have a lot of customers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahanoubon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I are local Hampton Roads residents and we have a tradition of coming to this Hotel for a night or two during the week between Christmas and New Years. Our visit for 2012 has been GREAT - from check-in throughout the experience has been wonderful. I want to draw attention to the Ladies at the front desk, Riley and Jessica - their demeanor and professionalism were outstanding and would make any guest feel special and "at home". Looking very forward to future visits here.

Room Tip: Ask for an OCEAN VIEW - preferably on the 15th floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCRAGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have stayed at other hotels in Virginia beach and this was my first time at the Hilton.
The staff at this hotel made my stay. Upon arrival I was greeted with a very cheerful "How are you doing, sir?" The receptionist was very engaging and during our very short conversation I asked if I could have a room that made my 6-hour drive worth the trip. I was given a corner room on the 15th floor looking out over the beautiful Atlantic ocean. I had a beautiful view of the boardwalk which was adorned with Christmas lights.

One example of the professional and friendly staff; I had misplaced my USB cable for charging my phone and went to the front desk to ask if there was an electronics store nearby. The person on the desk asked what I was looking for in particular and when I explained, he went in the back and provided me with one, free of charge. That was typical of the service provided by the staff and it was nice knowing that the staff was accustomed to providing high quality customer care. The room had Advil and other emergency items that I've had to buy at other hotels.

Overall I would say that customer service makes this a top choice for a hotel in Virginia Beach, and I look forward to a return trip.

Room Tip: Just ask! You may be pleasantly surprised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goldenstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Year round its great. Rooms and hotel well maintained, staffed, etc. Excelent location on beach. Free live entertainment every weekend. Comfy rockers outside facing ocean. Cozy firepits to gather round at night while you enjoy the view, chat and eat, drink , whatever while you listen to the waves and the free live music right at the adjacent covered stage and grassy area complete with dance floor. If great foods your pleasure your at the right place. Its not for the budget minded but its delicious and worth every penny. Its also across from the nicest stores , boutiques, food, etc . not like the normal other area filled with mostly surf shop garb. Check it out.

Room Tip: Get it online and shop around with all like hotels. com, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#3 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 742 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#5 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 755 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#2 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 111 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 508 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#55 of 111 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 3001 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#33 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the perfect beach destination for your vacation getaway - where you can unwind in luxurious accommodations, dine at oceanfront restaurants, listen to a live concert in the park or relax in a cabana on the beach.Situated on the city’s famed boardwalk adjacent to Neptune’s Park, the Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront features a collection of 289 upscale guest rooms and spacious suites. Our exclusive Empyrean Club, located on the top three floors, features personalized concierge service, complimentary breakfast in a private lounge, private key card access and refined amenities.Though Virginia Beach boasts a number of exciting activities and attractions, our luxury hotel is a landmark in its own right. With two award-winning restaurants onsite, Catch 31 and Salacia, you won’t have to go far for fresh fish or the only 4-Diamond steakhouse in Virginia. Our resort is also home to Sky Bar, serving creative cocktails with panoramic views 21 stories above the beach.The Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront is also the ultimate destination for meetings and weddings, with over 12,000 square feet of flexible event space. Other onsite amenities include our 24-hour business center, our inspiring fitness center and Virginia’s first rooftop infinity pool overlooking the Atlantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing