We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pushy and rude timeshare sales reps at the concierge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pushy and rude timeshare sales reps at the concierge”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Pushy and rude sales people trying to sale timeshare at the concierge desk. The timeshare sales person was getting frustrated and started to make rude comments since we did not agree to tour a timeshare property? Other than the timeshare sales rep, the staff were really nice and the Hotel has an amazing view from the rooms on the ocean side. Oh, if you eat at their restaurants, stick with sea food because their burgers where nasty and frozen; the server did not deny it when we asked.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSchaum, General Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review on trip advisor.
I was pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay and our accommodations.
However, please accept my apologies for the experience you have encountered with our concierge desk. I have brought your comments to their manager and he is currently addressing the issues raised with his team.

We do hope to welcome you back to the Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    532
    267
    178
    104
See reviews for
581
601
63
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke Va
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from first visit to Va Beach and three night stay here. Our room on the club level had a spectacular view. We're lucky enough to see a fireworks display up close and personal Sat night. Room was immaculate and our maid service superb with everything being replaced as it should.We were lucky to have quiet neighbors so not a problem with adjoining doors.Concierge lounge on 20th floor very enjoyable and Marvin the best! Only negative would be main concierge info desk who pushed only their own property restaurants and the timeshare mention by young lady just turned me off, not that she was overly pushy but getting annoyed at all these vacation locations who push timeshares in general. Overall Catch31 excellent and Salacia also excellent. Would return to stay if in the area.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hndbgqn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSchaum, General Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am most grateful that you took the time to submit a review regarding your stay. All guests' comments are read with utmost interest as this is the best means of measuring the standard of hospitality that we strive for.
I am glad you enjoyed our location and accommodations. I will surely share your praise with my team and relay your kind words about Marvin to his manager.
We sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I recently stayed at this property for three nights for the NASPA area III conference. I highly recommend it. The staff were all exceptionally helpful. Impeccable rooms. Gorgeous views.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckyoregontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Giving this one three stars - not as average for the Hilton brand, but as average for a beach town.

The Good:

**Clean bathroom in my room- spotless!
**Location: right on the beach, with an oceanfront room that had a private balcony.
**In-room fridge!
**Comfortable bed with lots and lots of pillows.
**Quiet!
**On-site restaurant was good. Service was a bit slow, but they were crowded. A bit overpriced for the quality and quantity of food.
**Super fluffy towels and a dual shower head!

The Bad:
**Housekeeping dropped the ball: coffee supply not replenished (this is HUGE for me).
**Complimentary water bottles not replaced.
**Conference staff unhelpful, and just shy of surly.
**Again- I guess this is a Hilton thing- NO trash cans anywhe but the guest rooms and the bathrooms. I found beer bottles in the potted plants, trash behind chairs, and a wine bottle stashed in a corner that stayed there at least two full days. People need places to throw away trash. Come on, Hilton! Get it right!
**No coffee available in the lobby or through conference services. They said it "costs too much" to make coffee, and I was 'invited' to go across the street to Starbucks when I asked about coffee. Seriously? Bad, bad form, Hilton!
**Timeshare salesman at the concierge desk. Just.Don't. Tacky!!!
**Message light blinking on my phone. Why? Because the concierge wanted me to be sure she knew she was there to help with reservations, etc. I understand what a concierge does, I don't need to see a blinking light on my phone in my room with an unsolicited SPAM-type message.


The Indifferent:
**Parking is across the street. It's unclear that you can actually park first, then get the permit, but you can.
**You could probably get an equally nice place to stay for a lot less $$$$.


If I went back to Virginia Beach, I would probably opt for the Hampton Inn just a few steps away- at least there's a free breakfast at Hampton!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stefmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSchaum, General Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about our hotel.
I am glad to hear you enjoyed our location and accommodations.
However, I sincerely apologize, if the service provided by our housekeeping department was not up to your expectations. Complimentary coffee is available every day till 11am in our restaurant Catch 31, I apologize if you have received any other misleading information. I will make sure to follow up with our management team and relay your complements and concerns so we can further improve.
I again apologize for the difficulties you encountered. I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write a review and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadensville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I really appreciate that this Hilton has gone the extra mile to install an infinity pool! The staff here is wonderful and the rooms are very tasteful. Great beach too! Very happy with our hotel choice for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSchaum, General Manager at Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about our hotel.
We have read your review and would like to thank you for your kind words regarding the location and the restaurants. I am glad your issue with the headboard was promptly responded to.
However, we sincerely apologize for the experience you encountered with the Gold Key representatives. I have forwarded your comments to their manager.
We do thank you for choosing us on this visit, and hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nappanee, Indiana, USA
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Positive: Really nice hotel on the oceanfront - Catch 31 restaurant is really good - views from dining outside to rooftop pool are great. we stayed in a city view parlor room on reward points. It is an expensive place to stay but from what i could tell is a Top 2 or 3 spot on the beach.

Negatives: Gold Key reps in the area asking about if you want to do a timeshare presentation - my tip is to have fun with them and give them funny answers. they aren't really that pushy - just a bunch around. was in an adjoining room and could here the neighbors very easily even though they weren't that loud.

we had an issue with the headboard on our bed however the response to our issue was swift and adequate. Additionally they gave us some free meals for the issue.

would for sure stay here again

Room Tip: avoid adjoining rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDW_3002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Just returned from two nights at the Hilton Oceanfront-VA Beach. Awesome! This is our fifth return to this property and soooo worth it. Of course, it helps to have "picture perfect" weather and we did! The beach is well taken care of with great rental chairs or bring your own! The rooftop infinity pool is quite small but always a hit with us. We were there without kids and it was very injoyable. It seems that everytime we have been there that children seem to enjoy the large indoor rooftop pool much more than the smaller outdoor pool--that works for me! The bar is tip-top only having to give the bartender your room number--never have to exchange cash is the best. Also, the lunch menu is great! We have our favorite VABeach restaurants and the crowded ones in the Hilton are not actually among our faves but do seem to be greatly enjoyed by tourists.

Room Tip: Rooms are a little pricey and we usually like to stay oceanfront but the rooms on the street side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubaprop4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
605 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Club
Ocean Beach Club
#76 of 109 in Virginia Beach
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 3001 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Virginia Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Virginia Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#33 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the perfect beach destination for your vacation getaway - where you can unwind in luxurious accommodations, dine at oceanfront restaurants, listen to a live concert in the park or relax in a cabana on the beach.Situated on the city’s famed boardwalk adjacent to Neptune’s Park, the Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront features a collection of 289 upscale guest rooms and spacious suites. Our exclusive Empyrean Club, located on the top three floors, features personalized concierge service, complimentary breakfast in a private lounge, private key card access and refined amenities.Though Virginia Beach boasts a number of exciting activities and attractions, our luxury hotel is a landmark in its own right. With two award-winning restaurants onsite, Catch 31 and Salacia, you won’t have to go far for fresh fish or the only 4-Diamond steakhouse in Virginia. Our resort is also home to Sky Bar, serving creative cocktails with panoramic views 21 stories above the beach.The Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront is also the ultimate destination for meetings and weddings, with over 12,000 square feet of flexible event space. Other onsite amenities include our 24-hour business center, our inspiring fitness center and Virginia’s first rooftop infinity pool overlooking the Atlantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing