We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would recommend the hotel, but stay away from the area!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #27 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Louisiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Would recommend the hotel, but stay away from the area!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2007

This hotel was maintained well for a beach hotel. The room was clean and the common areas were well serviced. The hotel staff was nice and accommodating. The breakfast was a pleasant surprise, very nice with several hot items. The dining area was spacious enough for their many guests.
I did not care for the area, however. It was very crowded, with no nice restaurants or shops. The street behind our hotel (Atlantic Ave.) reminded me of Bourbon Street, with rowdy kids (and adults). I would not recommend this area for a family vacation.

  • Liked — all rooms have a view of the beach
  • Disliked — the surrounding area
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank funfor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    231
    85
    29
    17
See reviews for
263
189
27
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2007

Stayed in three rooms with my wife, two teenage sons, my sister, brother-in-law, their three sons, and my mom at the Fairfied Inn at Virginia Beach in late June. We had a wonderful time. The hotel is perfectly situated, right on the beach/boardwalk in the middle of Virginia Beach. The rooms are new and clean and the staff is very responsive and attentive. Even the normally crazed breakfast buffet was very well managed. The pool and hot tub were nice as well.

The only issue for us was that the rooms are on the small side - each had two double beds and minimal space around the beds. There was a nice balcony with beautiful ocean view and we would definitely return.

  • Liked — Location and Staff
  • Disliked — Room Size
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyTraveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2007

I stayed at the hotel from July 22- July 26. I have stayed there for the last 2 years on my vacation. The good things are that the rooms are nice. The breakfast is good. Now the bad. I booked online way in advance. I got quoted a rate of $209. When I was checking in, someone walked in off the street and the clerk told them they had rooms and their normal rate was $209 but she would give them a room for $198. That was not right. I told them I wanted the same rate and was told they were just trying to get rid of rooms. Another thing is the maid service. Most hotels I have stayed in clean your rooms in the morning hours. I go out on the beach after breakfast and stay until about 3pm. When I come in, I like to shower up and relax a little before dinner. The maids didn't ever get to my floor, which was the 2nd floor until 3:30 at the earliest. So I would have to wait until they were done so I could have fresh towels. I think I will check other hotels next year for my vacation.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dec1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2007

Very nice hotel, clean, good service. Only complaint would be the incredibly small pool which was always full of children!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Smessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2007

My friends and I had booked a getaway for my 30th birthday the weekend of July 7th. I had called prior to arriving for some info and the lady on the phone was very helpful. Upon arriving early we were giving a parking spot, and an access pass to the beach until our room was ready. This meant we were able to change in the lobby restrooms and head to the beach! So far so good. We checked in a few hours later to find a very nice, clean, well-kept ocean front room! Even the bathroom was nice! The hotel is in a great location, is very well kept and very accessible. The hotel staff was very accomadating. I requested a roll away bed and crib and received both within a half an hour (more like 15). The beds were also very comfortable. I will definitely be returning.

  • Liked — Location was great! Room was CLEAN! Staff very helpful
  • Disliked — Needs more parking
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank snowbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2007

Fairfield Inn in Virginia Beach was nice, but I would not say it was great as some of the other reviews are indicating. It was very clean but the rooms themselves were just okay. My room was just a normal hotel room overlooking the ocean. I do have to say the staff was very
nice and the continental breakfast was decent enough every morning.

One complaint - the pool. It was way too chlorinated and everyone complained. It was cloudy and our eyes burned every time we went swimming. We brought it to the hotel's attention, but the maintenance
person said that they added extra chlorine because the chlorine levels would go down once everyone went swimming in the pool. Nice explanation, but adding so much chlorine that it is going to make people sick is not such a good idea.

  • Liked — The price was right
  • Disliked — The pool - too cloudy and over-chlorinated
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lmcmch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2007

After reading all the positive reviews, I booked a three night stay in mid-June at the Virginia Beach Fairfield - Ocean Front, and was very happy. Our family, especially my wife, is very fussy about a place needing to look fresh and new and clean. It passed all tests with flying colors. Breakfast is provided in a room overlooking the ocean. The only negative is that there is no outdoor pool, only a medium size indoor pool. Overall, the hotel is excellent with very good customer service in all areas.

  • Liked — very clean and fresh in appearance
  • Disliked — no outdoor pool
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank familymanfromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach...
#36 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 1901 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Fairfield Inn And Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn Virginia Beach
Fairfield Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing