We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$123
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$119
View deal
Trip.com
$113
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/11/21
Hotels.com$119
Priceline$119
FindHotel$119
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (846)
Filter reviews
846 results
Traveler rating
383
291
107
43
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
383
291
107
43
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk yogurt off season the breakfast area parking garage continental breakfast atlantic ave location was perfect nice stay breakfast staff the room was nice boardwalk balcony ocean microwave pros clerk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
762 - 767 of 846 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2007

We had a great stay at the Fairfield. The front desk staff was really friendly. We arrived a few hours prior to check in and they were very accomodating, they even let us check in a few hours earlier. This was great, since we were travelling with a 6 month old and a 3 year old.

The room was very clean and the hotel is in a great location. We didn't use our car the whole week, with the exception of driving to the Naval Base Tour.

The pool was always clean, yes the hot tub was really, really hot. But, I did see some adults sitting in it. It was too hot for me.

They did have problems with the elevator 3 out of the 7 days we were there. So, there was a long wait at times. Everytime there was a problem, we did see maintainence working on it....it wasn't like they were ignoring the problem.

We also had some trouble with water leaking from our bathroom light fixture. This happened to us twice. Each time they sent Jeff , a maintainence worker, up to look at it. He was really professional. They kept saying it was due to the room above us not putting the shower curtain in the stall before showering. Again, they did try and resolve this for us and they were so accomodating that they gave us a free nights stay.

The breakfast was great. Yes, the hot entrees were the same usually , but they also had potatoes, and sausage bisquits and breakfast burritos that you could throw in the microwave. They served a variety of fruit, cereals, oatmeal, juices, coffee...I thought it was great considering it was free and it was always well-stocked. And, believe me that probably wasn't easy considering I would see people taking a ton of stuff back up their room. I don't know how many people they were feeding up there!!

Our in-laws decided to come down at the last minute and they even accomodated us by giving us adjoining rooms!

Overall, it was a great hotel and we all ready made our next years reservations!

Date of stay: June 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank whocares1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2007

We Arrived at the property late on Saturday night and were worried we would not find parking but were pleasantly surprised to find many open spaces. Unfortunatly the acces to the parking garage and the hotel were a little inconvient as there was no direct acces to our floor and there was no elevator for the garage.
Hotel security seemed pretty tight as the entrances all lock at preset times and the only acces is with your key card and the halls seemed to stay quiet most of our six day stay. Our suite was fairly nice but the windows needed a serious cleaning and the was some evidence that the room had seen many guest. House keeping did a good job at keeping the room clean when it was convenient to their tight schedule ( basically no house keeping after 4:00 p.m., do not disturb signs seem to make them nervous). The one major issue we had with the suite was with the refridgerator, the one in the room stunk and did not work when we arrived. We brought it to the attention of the front desk and were told maintenance would be up and fix it, they merely reset the unit and left. We had get maintenance two more times to get the issue resolved and get a replacement unit. The other issue at the hotel was their indoor pool, the pool area was really hot and was not conducive to watching our daughter swim. The hot tub was very hot and was not relaxing to set in but the pool was so cold most adults didn't care for it. One of the hotels selling points for us was the free breakfast bar but we were very disapointed with the reality. The continantal bar only had two toasters and only half the slots functioned which was very frustarating and the orange juice dispenser was curiously broken for most of our visit. The hot items on the bar were the same every day ( eggs and sausage patties ) and the only fruit offered were a few apples. The hotel is very conveniently located on the strip which makes it easy to walk to one end or the other and there are some nice places to eat nearby.

Date of stay: May 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank KelsoChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2007

My Husband and I arrived at the hotel on Sunday, May 20th at about 2:00pm. When we arrived, our King Suite was not ready. So we walked along Atlantic Avenue and did some shopping until about 3:30pm, at which time our room was ready. We stayed in Rm. 214. The room was wonderful. We are smokers; however the hotel is totally non-smoking. We just went out on the balcony.

The hotel is centrally located. We loved waking up every morning and looking at the ocean.

The hotel staff was fantastic. They suggested where to go for dinner and what mall to go to. They were so polite and helpful...I really appreciated their assistance in making our stay so relaxing.

I simply love the Fairfield...and will be sure to go back.

Date of stay: May 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nessa1dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2007

My husband and I just spent our 20th Anniversary in Va Beach and picked this hotel due to the good ratings it received. We were very pleased that we picked this hotel. The location was great and the staff (especially Nadia) was wonderful. They were very helpful with any questions we had. And Nadia even prepared us a gift bag for our Anniversary, it was very sweet. When we go back to Va Beach, I'm positive we will stay at Fairfield.

Date of stay: May 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KANDG4D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2007

My wife and I stayed here from May 13th to the 17th. We had never been to Virginia Beach before and decided to trust the reviews and stay at the #1 ranked hotel on the beach. The reviews were right on. This hotel is clean. Has it's own parking garage. The balcony facing the ocean was awsome. We had the extended stay king suite, very nice sized room. The free breakfast every morning was a great start to the day. The staff, at the hotel, were the best. Keep up the good work.

Date of stay: May 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Buckeye369
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews