We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #26 of 108 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Weyers Cave, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed for a wedding and to visit family while in town with our 2 year old. Rooms were great size,everything was very clean, the bed and pillows were great. The staff went above and beyond and went out of their way to be helpful. We missed the continental breakfast by 15 minutes because we were playing with our 2 year old in the wonderful jacuzzi in our room. When we realized we missed breakfast, the staff went in the back and grabbed a few things for us. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends that come to town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTwiss, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
I am happy to see our accommodations and service were to your liking. We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you return the next time you visit Virginia Beach. I am happy to see that my staff was able to help you the morning you missed breakfast. Thank you for choosing Marriott and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    227
    78
    29
    16
See reviews for
257
184
26
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel is at a perfect location right on the beach and in the middle of the boardwalk. The room was spacious, had great views and was clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool was nice and even though we didn't use the workout room (I ran on the boardwalk instead), it looked decent. The breakfast came with the room and it was okay but not much selection - pastries, breads, cereal, coffee and some pancake thing that was actually made out an egg (a little weird). They had a egg mcmuffin kind of thing that people seemed to love. It was a great stay and a lot of fun and I'd go back here if I get to VA beach again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishfFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTwiss, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to see that your stay was pleasant and that our accomodations and services were acceptible to you. I am also happy to see that our staff helped make your stay more enjoyable. We look forward to your next stay with us and thank you for choosing Marriott. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We traveled to Va Beach for our wedding anniversary and decided to pick Fairfield Inn as our hotel of choice since we stayed in a Fairfield in Tennessee during our honeymoon. We enjoyed the stay so much we decided to try again. We were definitely pleased with the choice. Fairfield Inn has never done us wrong. The check-in was fast and easy. The room was exactly what we wanted with a whirlpool. Everything was clean and tidy. And the view! Amazing! We were in a central location so everything was within walking distance. The boardwalk was so clean, the beach was clean, the streets were clean and the landscaping was beautiful. Yes, there were a few homeless people on the boardwalk but even they kept their areas clean! The hotel offers a free breakfast buffet which was o.k. We did go out for breakfast one morning. You can't really complain about free though. At the end of our stay check-out was smooth. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HugsFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTwiss, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We truly appreciate your business and are grateful that you chose to stay with us. We were privileged to have the opportunity to serve you and we greatly value your business. We look forward to future visits from you and your familiy. We are committed to providing you the best customer service. Thank You for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Kudos to Fairfield for having top notch employees--every one of them. They made our stay a complete success. All areas of the hotel were clean and well-maintained. The location is prime--right in the middle of everything. There were so many places we could walk to that we only used our car once in a week's time to visit the Landings (which is well worth the visit).

How often can you say that every single encounter with a hotel's employees was over-the-top helpful and friendly? The cleaning staff went out of their way to hold elevators for us if we were anywhere in sight. Any requests were answered promptly. They were freaking happy to be of service. My experience has moved Virginia Beach up on my list of places I must visit again, and we won't be staying anywhere by the Fairfield.

Room Tip: All are ocean front, but the corner studio was well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTwiss, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sure it was a pleasure and an honor to serve you and your family. Individuals like yourself are those whom we owe the success of this establishment. I want to assure you that we will continue to do all we can to justify your confidence in our hotel. Thank you for your wonderful comments and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

The room was clean and the view was incredible. The hotel provides free breakfast but the service was slow. When we came down at around 8, most of food was gone. To have another hour to go (6 to 9 AM), it was disappointed to see no replenishment for the late comers. i would stay again as the location was very convenient and close to all the action.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KoreanCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff G, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity. In that regard, I personally appreciate hearing your comments about your stay. This situation will be addressed with the staff so we can make breakfast even better. I am happy to see that you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We checked in on a Friday night, and were originally scheduled to check-out the following Wednesday. We opted to check-out the next morning, and found alternate accommodations.

Our 1st night was paid for with Marriott Rewards points, and I had $100 in Marriott gift certificates to use towards our 2nd night. I turned the certificates in at check-in. Upon arriving to the room, we realized that things would be tight for a week with 2 adults and 2 young children so we inquired about upgrading to a larger room/suite. They didn't have the available for our entire stay so this was the main reason we checked out early.

However, when I went to the Front Desk, they said there wasn't anything they could do about the $100 Marriott gift certificates. Upon calling Marriott, they informed me that the hotel should have called them to figure a solution out. The Front Desk told me they'd have the supervisor call me within 15 minutes, which never never happened.

Later that night, we called down to the Front Desk to get sheets for the pull-out sofa as there was only a blanket and pillow in the closet. We waited about a 1/2 hour before calling the Front Desk to see if we could come get them as both the kids had already fallen asleep, but she didn't have anything so they sent their Chief Engineer up. So after 45 minutes we were finally able to make the pull-out sofa.

At check-out, we ended up talking with the supervisor Clarence who we had actually been unhappy with the night before-- he said he was never told that he was suppposed to call Marriott about our certificates or inform us of the outcome. He didn't seem to care one bit about any of the issues or inconveniences the hotel caused.

AFTER check-out, I discovered the Front Desk had charged my credit card $50 rather than direct billing Marriott for points stay, and the Front Desk never cancelled the 2nd part of our reservation so they charged me for a no show fee. The hotel Front Desk told me there was nothing they could do about releasing the charges so they gave us the name of a manager named Tanner and said she'd call us the next morning. We ended up calling her-- and she was probably the only helpful person we encountered. She was able to release both charges by the next day, which was greatly appreciated.

That being said, I can't said I'd recommend this hotel as there is such a lack of service the management team needs to address.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBum2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTwiss, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your comments and thank you for informing us that our hotel did not meet your standards. We are sorry that you experienced these problems and we want you to know that we are working to improve our standards so that you and our future guests are able to have a great experience while staying with us in the future. Here at the Fairfield Inn & Suites we take all guest concerns very seriously. While we make every attempt to ensure that our hotel meets every guests standards we apologize that this unfortunate incident was not corrected by our staff and that we were unable to retain you as a guest. However, I am very pleased to see that Tanner was able to fix the issue with your credit card. We are very appreciative that you have taken the time to bring this to our attention and would like to thank you for staying with us here at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We usually stay at Marriott hotels so we chose the Fairfield. All rooms are ocean front with balconies and have awesome views of the beach and boardwalk. We took advantage of the free breakfast every morning. Some small things were wrong with our room; cracked bathroom tile, blanket on bed instead of a comforter, closet door broken/unable to close. Overall the room was clean and modern, it was just obvious that it wasn't new and that it was frequently used. We compared the price with other hotels and found that the fairfield 's rate was the same or cheaper since we wanted an oceanfront room. The hotel was busy for the 1st part of our stay, but they never ran out of breakfast and we were the only people down at the pool/hot tub each day we used it. This was the quietest hotel I've ever stayed in. We were not woken up once from noise of other people or housekeeping. We would definitely stay here again. *there's also a restaurant/bar right next door with a great 2 story deck to eat at and people watch.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMcG216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTwiss, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Fairfield Inn & Suites. I am sorry for the issues you had involving the wear and tear of the room. I am sure it was a pleasure and an honor to serve you. I want to assure you that we will work to improve these issues. Thank you again for your comments and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#7 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach...
#33 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia Beach
Holiday Inn Oceanside Virginia B...
#20 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#25 of 108 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 1901 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3310
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Fairfield Inn Virginia Beach
Fairfield Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing