We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place! A great local spot.”
Review of Five 01 City Grill

Five 01 City Grill
Ranked #740 of 1,420 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Mediterranean, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
82 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Love this place! A great local spot.”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Whether we sit at the bar and get happy hour specials, or get a table in the dining room, the food is always great. Their pizza is incredible and there are always several desserts offered that are always changing. (There's almost always two types of bread pudding - its amazing). We generally receive excellent service as well. I love this place!

Helpful?
1 Thank sarahannimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    16
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Locals favorite”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Great bar atmosphere. Locals meeting locals. Service is friendly and spot on dinining room service and wine selections make it a great place to meet friends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
262 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not as good as I expected”
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

First time to the 501. Had heard good things. Nice decor. Big bar and decent sized dining area separate from
the bar. Big wine selection. We were a large party and too much for one server so service was slow. There is a regular menu and a tapas menu. Our server raved about the sirloin chili as their soup de jour. I tried it but it was just average at best. Not as good as the chili as Jason's Deli and other places. I also had a hamburger which was quite good. It came with fries that are served very crisp. Not to my liking but others at our table thought they were good. My wife had a salad which she liked a lot. One person ordered a petite filet and petite was the operative word as it was smaller than my burger. Another got a barbecue chicken pizza. Not my cup of tea but they enjoyed it. Dessert was shared by all. I'm not one for desserts at mealtime so I did not partake but others enjoyed it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrfiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We ate at the Five 01 City Grill for the first time during the 2012 Neptune Festival at Virginia Beach. We ate both lunch and dinner there on separate days. They have a bar area in which the nose was very loud. The noise wasn’t bad during lunch, but for dinner it was still too much for me. We ate in the dining room for both meals. The food and the service were very good. We will probably go back (for lunch) the next time we are in Virginia Beach. If you haven’t been to Virginia Beach it is a great place to go and enjoy yourself.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MB_and_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia beach, virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicous food”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The food was great. The atmospher was relaxing. It was always busy. The best to be seated was to make a resrevation even if it is only for one person. That is what I did. I was very pleased with what I saw and ate. To me the prices was good for what I go. This place is more for couples and adults only. I can't wait to go back. This time I am going to set in the bar area so I can what some t.v.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank manning42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five 01 City Grill also viewed

 

Been to Five 01 City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing