We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dolphin Run Condominium
Nearby Hotels
$194
$169
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$200
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$110
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceanaire Resort Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$92
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$96
$92
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Beachfront(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
$117
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$206
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Beach Club(Virginia Beach)
$140
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveler rating
23
27
2
6
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
27
2
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouthern endlarge living roomshopping cartsthe atlantic oceanbeach chairsfull sizetop floorunittinaboardwalkkeygarage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 68 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2006

We have been going to Virginia Beach for 15 years. This was the worst vacation we have ever had there! We made the reservations in July for a vacation in August. The people in charge of reservations at the Condominiums are dishonest. First they failed to mention that there is a $90 early cancelation fee. We called back the same day to cancel it (because at the end of the transaction, they told us if we didn't want to "deep clean" the room we would have to pay an extra $100) and they then told us about the fee, so we didn't cancel. They also didn't tell us about the East Coast Surfing Competition taking place the week of our vacation. It was set up right in front of the condo. Our ocean view turned into a view of porta-potties on the beach. They had a loud band that blocked out the sound of the ocean, another reason we rented an ocean-front room. We also had to walk 2 blocks down the street to go in the ocean, which was closed off unless you where in the surfing competition. When we complained to the manager at the condo he said that it wasn't his fault about the competition, claiming that in July he didn't know the dates of it and that he didn't know why we were staying there. He said some people actually stayed for the competition; but then again, if he didn't know when it was, how could he inform them of the dates to rent? I do not recommend staying at the Dolphin Run. It was overall a very bad and expensive experience.

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank donutmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2006

Please be forewarned before renting from this place. We rented a 2BR condo which we thought was $1400 a week landed up being over $1929 dollars! (including a $300 security deposit!)
We tried to cancel our reservations due to illness but we were told we will lose our entire deposit of $840! They will not give you a refund unless the property is re rented for that same week and same kind of condo.
I can understand adding a small fee but to lose that amount of money is heartbreaking.
We wish this was more clear in the contract because we would have never agreed to it. Unfortunately, illness can happen which can cause you to cancel a vacation. We hope we have saved someone from making the same very costly mistake we did. Now we have lost over $800, it just isn't fair.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
15  Thank tj98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2006

The rooms were clean, the view was great--but, there are a few things you should be aware of...We booked about 3 weeks prior to our travel date. When we called to book our room we were not told that we must bring all of our paper products-including toilet paper!
I received this information 3 days before leaving along with a rental agreement to sign. This agreement also stated that the unit must be cleaned with our own cleaning supplies before departure, or pay the $100 cleaning fee; which we had to notify Dolphin Run of 2 days before our arrival. This fee had to be paid right at check-in. The towels were the typical hotel towels. They were waiting on one of the beds on arrival along with the bed sheets. We were driving in and did not arrive until late, we had to make all 3 beds upon check-in. We were not given replacement towels or sheets for the duration of our stay. We were given 2 hand towels and wash cloths for the kitchen. A sponge and/or a cleaning brush for the dishes were not provided either. I was informed that this was a cleaning product-therefore it was not included. I asked the front desk for another plastic garbage bag for the kitchen garbage can, once again I was told that this was a paper product! We were just amazed that a place that charges what it does cannot provide its guests with simple items--even Motel 6 gives you toilet paper! In addition, there are no beach towels or umbrellas. You must bring all of this or rent an umbrella at the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank KEKWaterford_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolphinrunvb, Manager at Dolphin Run Condominium, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2006

Dolphin Run provides fully furnished condominiums with a complete inventory which are each privately owned. Unlike renting at a hotel we do not offer or have staff available to do daily cleaning and restocking of each property, and we do not offer daily maid or towel service. We provide full linens matching the beds associated with each unit, towels and kitchen items required for your stay. Some additional items, if requested, will be provided when available. We also provide washers and dryers on each floor for your laundry needs. Renting one of our condos is like renting somebody's house, many items are furnished for you, some cleaning items and paper products may be low and will need to be replaced when shopping at one of the close markets. We do care about your comfort and we supply many items upon request, initial paper products are placed in all bathrooms and we make sure you are aware we do not replace or restock daily. Within 5 to 7 days from the date you place your reservation, Dolphin Run sends you a lease with a check-in package detailing our services, inventory in the units and any items you need to bring with you for your stay. We do our best to get this information out as quickly as possible, of course, with some short notice reservations and mail time, this information my arrive later than we would like. Our policy on request cleaning is not as stated above, we ask if you would like to arrange for cleaning at the end of your stay that you "must make arrangements within 48 hours of check-in", we have always been lenient on this and allowed up to 4 days after check-in for this decision to be made. In order to schedule the required workers to perform this additional cleaning we must establish a cut off day and we ask that you make payment at the time of your request. The requirement for payment at check-in for cleaning pertains to that guest who has requested this additional service either at the time of reservation or after but for some reason have not made payment before their arrival. Beach towels are a personal item which we request you bring with you and we make our guest aware of this in the lease package. We do not have the facilities to stock or provide/rent beach equipment or umbrellas. Immediately in front of our facility, located on the beach, chair and umbrella rentals are available, this service is provided the full length of the beach and vendors can normally be found close to each lifeguard station. We will always strive to make your stay at Dolphin Run as pleasant and enjoyable as possible and provide our guest with any items we can to ensure this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2005

We just returned from VA Beach staying at the Dolphin Run Condos for 7 days. It was absolutely wonderful!!! The condo we stayed in was on the 7th floor and was a two bedroom. Very spacious rooms consisting of master bedroom with king bed, dresser, chest, two end tables, nice sized tv with stand/ vcr/dvd player, ac/heat unit, attached was a full bath. 2nd bedroom had two queen beds, chest, dresser tv with dvd/vcr ac/heat unit and right outside the room was a 2nd full bathroom. It had a full kitchen fully furnished and a very large living room with entertainment center tv/vcr/dvd/surround sound, loveseat and couch that pulled out for a bed, ac/heat unit. Balcony was off the living room...what a view over looking the boardwalk and right out to the ocean. Saw dolphins every day many times!!! We had no problems at the condo and would highly recommend staying here. The only down fall that we had was that the pool was being replaced when we were here but we really didnt miss it.

17  Thank chillioh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York
110
Reviewed May 19, 2005

When we made our reservations, the pool was being changed, but promised us that it would be available to use. Well of course it wasn't available, they are still working on it. You think they would offer us a discount or something. They said "NO WAY". The rest of the hotel was ok, but not impressed with it. Look around at the other places, you'll find more for your money. Parking was bad, you rent a three bedroom condo and they only give you one parking spot, you think with a 3 bedroom they would give you at least 2 parking spots. Saved the WORST FOR LAST, the service was horrible. Everytime you talked with an employee, they were rude and unhappy working there. Of course I would be upset if I worked for them and they promised the guests and employees one thing and would not deliver them. PLEASE LOOK AT OTHER PLACES.!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews