We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dolphin Run Condos Unit 207”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Virginia Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolphin Run Condominium
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just finishing up a week here, overall very pleased. This unit is clean, well appointed, and includes linens. Furniture is comfortable and attractive. Being on the second floor at the end has advantages. The stairwell is near the unit door and allows you to skip the sometimes crowded elevators and take an easy one flight walk downstairs, past the pool, and out to the beach. It's also a quick walk to the parking deck, another advantage. Lastly, the private balcony is larger than the interior units and recessed so you are not looking directly at your neighbors, while still having a lovely view of the ocean. The side and rear views from the unit are not too attractive, but that is no big deal.

Good water pressure, plenty of hot water, and the individual AC units in each room work well but are very noisy. The WIFI is slow and unreliable, only working at all in certain places in the unit. Don't count on it.

Parking for more than one vehicle is problematic. Best to rent a space at the 9th street garage. 1 month $40.

The location on the boardwalk is excellent for families. It's quiet, convenient to many restaurants, and is just next to Rudee Inlet where you can easily walk to meet fishing and dolphin watching tours.

Decent WIFI would have made for a 5 star rating. WIFI is important to many people, folks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 67 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

My family and I stayed in Unit 807 in mid-August 2012. This is a three-bedroom/two bathroom corner unit with view of ocean and inlet. It was comfortable and family-friendly. We found the unit to be generally clean aside from stains on sections of the carpet. The bedroom set-up was good as one bedroom had a private bathroom with small balcony overlooking Atlantic Avenue and waterway. The other two bedrooms shared a full bathroom. One of these bedrooms also had a small balcony overlooking Atlantic Avenue. The main balcony off the living room provided a fantastic view of the ocean and the inlet. The unit was well equipped with everything we needed for the week. We rented this unit the week of the surfing contest - which was right outside our unit. Although some might not enjoy the activities surrounding this event, it kept the five teenagers/young adults in our family amused. The unit was suprisingly quiet at night.

Room Tip: Room 807 is corner unit which was generally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachloveMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed there Summer 2012. Don't expect the Staff to cater to your every whim, you're on your own a bit. Room's are nice, good location at the end, Lot's of parking for guests only, Good views, saw dolphins from the balcony twice. Clean, comfortable, everything worked, Average accomadations, slightly pricey.

Room Tip: Bring lots of people to spread the cost around as we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great, quiet location, oceanfront. We stay in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit with kitchen, living/dining area and balcony. I've always found it to be clean and comfortable. The staff is always friendly. I can always find a spot on the beach in front of the hotel. It's not packed like it is further up the beach. My only complaint is that you have to go out the front of the hotel and walk around the back to get to the beach. They really need to make an access to the beach that is more convenient. Still, a great place to stay. There is also a small gameroom, fitness center, indoor pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Near the end of Summer 2012, we stayed at this dump. A body condom would not have protected you from this piece of crap. While the location is on the beach and near the surfing area, Unit 707 is a piece of shi*. We left the issues listed below at the front desk and they blew us off. Once they got your money, they could care less about you. For this price point, stay at a newer hotel because you get better customer service and rights and don't have to bring your own pillows, blankets and sheets.

- fire in sauna on 1st floor has left the entire condo with a strong smokey smell that is not bearable and healthy. Firemen were here until the wee hours and we had to leave the condo and check into a hotel. Of course we weren't reimbursed.
- king bedroom bathroom bathtub is full of black mold, fan/light is dangling off the ceiling and shower head has chunks of missing tile around the pipe
- unit is full of fruit flies
- strong dryer exhaust odor in hallways is not healthy
- some of the comforters and curtains have nasty, disgusting stains
- a set of vertical blinds is completely missing in one bedroom and numerous individual blinds are missing
- numerous closet doors are off the hinged and not aligned
- teflon pans are totally worn out and have nicks and dings that have penetrated the coating
- freezer is full of broken shelves

Room Tip: Avoid the place completely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ElmoLuvsYa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed in unit 1201 for a week mid-September. The pictures online are very deceiving. The carpets in both of the bedrooms were filthy. There were gaps in the laminate wood flooring due to not being installed properly, the t-molding was not tacked to the floor. Exposed wires across the doorway of the master bedroom. Quite hazardous for anyone, but especially for my 2 year old son. The place didn't look like it had a good cleaning in months. I was totally disappointed. We paid a lot of money to stay in the unit, and it did not meet our expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed in unit 605 for a week in mid-August and found Dolphin Run and the unit to be great family accommodations. The location at the south end of the boardwalk/beach was great for walking out to the beach, walking to restaurants and activities, yet far enough from the bars and attractions for quiet nights. Our unit was clean, spacious, and provided dolphin sightings from the unit balcony and the beach as advertised! Parking was convenient & safe. We used the hot tub, but not the pool as we found the beach and day/evening activities sufficient for our high school and college aged kids. Renting linens, chairs, umbrellas and boogie boards from Ocean Rentals was also a good deal & convenient. We rented bikes for a 2 hour ride one day & found that allowed plenty of time for exploring the length of the boardwalk and the Rudee's Inlet area to check out the boat tour options too. I definitely recommend this to families with kids of all ages. Only benefit that would have been great was an outdoor pool, but that is a rarity for the majority of condos on the boardwalk. This was a good value, fun, and memorable for our family.

Room Tip: If you want good wireless internet connection, the lower floors like ours (6th) seem to be really go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kattriprevus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.1 mi away
Schooner Inn
Schooner Inn
#39 of 109 in Virginia Beach
434 reviews
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,042 reviews
1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#25 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,358 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Run Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Run Condominium

Address: 303 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3679
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Virginia Beach
Price Range: $800 - $2,300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 70
Also Known As:
Dolphin Run Condominium Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing