We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service but poor kitchen” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of IHOP

IHOP
Ranked #955 of 1,405 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Northwest Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great service but poor kitchen”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

One of the things I really enjoy is taking my daughter to breakfast. I have been doing this since she was little and now she is learning to drive. We tried the newly located IHOP on Virginia Beach Boulevard. The wait staff was attentive and apologetic about the time it took for our meals to arrive (this was 8 AM on Sunday morning before the after church rush.)

It takes a lot for me to provide a negative review but IHOP management need to address the kitchen in this particular location. I suggest the IHOP location on First Colonial near Lasking Rd for a better experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Georesearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    6
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
“closed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

The new address is 4401 Virginia Beach Boulevard, Virginia 23452. It's located basically across the street from the old one, in what used to be the Silver Diner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ashipprop4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
408 reviews
355 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“New Location - Needs Improvement”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We live near the old Silver Diner - Town Centre - Virginia Beach and were saddened to see this landmark disappear. However, we were encouraged when we learned that IHOP had acquired the location at 4401 Virginia Beach Blvd (replacing the old restaurant at 4452). However, we were not too encouraged, as our experience historically with IHOP has not been very favorable. I remember when we were accused of passing a counterfeit bill at another IHOP, treated very poorly - however later exonerated by the police and the Secret service (The bill was genuine), poor service, ice cold food - and the other TripAdvisor reviews have also not been very flattering. This time - more of the same - we arrived prior to opening, thinking that this was a 24-hour facility as the older one - and we were not invited in, even though there was an open waiting area inside. My meal was delivered in stages and served cold. My wife's meal was not what she had ordered. We are willing to give this place the benefit of the doubt, as it just opened for business. However, I would like to think that it will not simply maintain the status quo.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tfig218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
461 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Good service, Decent Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stopped in here on the two mornings that I was in town for work.

First day - Swedish crepes, two eggs w/ sausage and tea
Second day - French toast, sausage and coffee

Both meals were ok. Standard order - hard to screw it up. Average fare for an Ihop.
French toast was no where near as enticing as the photos made it appear.
Service was good. Kristina was very friendly and prompt on the second day. Can't remember who the server was on the first day, as he/she wasn't that good.

Being located next to Town Center, the mall, etc... this place definitely needs an overhaul/renovation. It's OLD, worn down, and has the feeling of some third-world diner.

Location: Close to downtown
Parking: Free, paved lot
Bathrooms: Don't expect much
Food: Average
Service: Friendly
Ambiance: Interesting clientele - good for people watching.

Would recommend: I guess.
Would patronize again: Probably not

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank COTraveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice place and good service, will return.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Nice place and very clean appearance. Food was very good. Waiter was very courteous and attended to us with a sense of urgency. Drinks were at our table within minutes. Food was served Hot and in a timely manner. Not once did we have to wait on the waiter for refills etc... We were very satisfied with the overall service and will return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tee-REC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to IHOP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing