We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Marlin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Marlin Motel
Ranked #88 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

BLUE INN is in the process of renovating. Room 110 right next to the rental office and by the pool was very satisfactory to me. It is equipped with full fridge & stove, micro-wave, plenty of cupboards. But as of then (sept 2013) no table & chairs, no dishes, pots & pans. It will come as the owner/manger (?) told me... He is somehow shy but helpful. Bathroom is renovated, good bedding, a block away from the beach.

Unit 110 ? Lot's of space. A good choice for a couple and even for a party of 4 when it's ready... Enquire before you go .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    29
    16
    12
    32
See reviews for
48
21
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We used to go to Blue Marlin many years ago. It started to become run down, so we stopped going. We recently found out that they had been sold and undergone major renovations. So, we decided to try it again. The rooms appeared to be clean. They have new furniture and the bathroom and floor was completely redone. Unfortunately, the beds had bed bugs. We didn't find this out until around 4:30AM when I work up feeling something bite me. We immediately got out of the bed and ripped off the sheets. We colllected the bugs in a cup. Threw everything that we had in plastic bags. The front desk manager was very nice and apologetic. They actually washed all of our clothes in their industrial washer. We didn't stay another night. We drove home. That evening I started to feel very sick. I woke up the next day with bug bites all over my body. I had an allergic reaction with over 350 bites/bumps. I wound up going to the doctor for a shot to help alleviate my symptoms. They reimbursed me for my hotel room, but not for my doctors visit or shot. So, buyer beware. Check your rooms thoroughly before bringing your luggage into a hotel room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank j4elmwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Virginia Beach hotels

Matawan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
176 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I was a bit concerned after reading some reviews, and my husband was ready to change hotels when I told him about some them, but we went wearily.
We were surprised, and happy we stuck with original plan.
I paid about 60.00 a night for a 3 night stay. I would say we got our money's worth.
The location is fantastic, the room was clean, and we had no issues.

For the money it was definitely worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sugarmag13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were scheduled to arrive on a Monday and stay thru Saturday. At the last minute we decided we wanted to go a day earlier. Blue Marlin was able to accommodate us. We told them it would be a late arrival and they said no problem. We arrived at 1:30 a.m. and they were there waiting for us. The staff was amazing. They gave a us an oceanview room for the first night. We weren't suppose to check into our room with a kitchenette until Monday at 4. They said no problem. Come to the office any time after 11 a.m. and we will have the room ready for you. The room was very spacious with a large living area with 2 beds, large kitchen and good size bathroom. The floors were tile which was great because you weren't tracking sand and water onto carpet. Location shouldn't have been better. 7-Eleven right across the street. Restaurants all very close and the boardwalk 1-1/2 block walk. In addition, it is the center of the boardwalk where a lot is going on. Pool was very clean and quiet. I searched for hotels with what I was looking for for at least a week until I found the Blue Marlin. And for the price it sounded too good to be true. I'm glad we stayed!

Room Tip: Make sure you bring hangers and a clothesline as there are no closets in the rooms. Also, while the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paradis1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Blue Marlin motel may look like a regular hotel, but its not. This place had gorgeous rooms for the price we paid. The pool was nice and crystal clear blue, and it was very much relaxing. The noise level was good, and it was peaceful. The room had a full kitchen, comfortable beds, and a nice big bathroom. It was a little less than a block away from the beach and shops, which I absolutely loved. I would defiantly go back when I plan a trip to Virginia Beach again.

Room Tip: Corner suite next to the pool, is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aleshia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We chose the Blue Marlin based upon recommendations for Best Virginia Beach value and stayed for 1-week. We are so glad to have stayed there and will definitely return. It was even better than expected. Here are examples of our pleasant surprises:

1. Price/value - If you have searched for nice hotels based upon price and location then you already know this.

2. Location to Beach - We saved money by not booking a hotel right on the beach and ended up being amazed by the location of the Blue Marlin. It is right across the street on the beach, Atlantic Avenue, and an easy, safe 2-minute walk. Also, since the Blue Marlin is only 4 stories, it's probably easier to get too and from the beach than at one of the high rise beach hotels. We ended up on the 4th floor with an awesome view of the ocean.

3. Location to Activities - You may know that Atlantic Avenue, an easy 1 minute walk from the hotel, is "Beach Street USA" with tons of free, great, family entertainment every night. The Blue Marlin is about directly in the middle of Beach Street with an equal amount of activities on either side of Atlantic. This location couldn't be better!

4. Room - Very clean. Also, the tile floors were a nice touch to easily manage the sand from the beach. The in-room refrigerator allowed our family to have breakfast in the room and make lunch for the beach. Although their is no freezer in the refrigerator and no ice machine at the hotel, a 7-11 is an easy 1 minute walk. Also, the pool was a great, quick way to refresh after the beach and sand.

I would highly recommend this for travelers wanting a great value and an amazing location. Thanks Blue Marlin. See you next year!

Room Tip: The top floor (4th floor) all have great ocean views if you like views and don't mind stairs or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We visited this motel at the end of June. Paid for a room with ocean view. The people at the office were rude, it felt like the last thing they wanted to do is to work. The motel looks bad, poor and neglected. The room we've got was dirty and full of dust. The lamp did'nt work and the bath tub was dirty. When we asked the man at the front desk to change the room, he argued and insisted that "the motel's rules" are that he can give us another room only after he sees the room and convinced that it is not clean. When he got to the room he argued that it was clean and refused to give us a different room. After an argument he agreed to give us a different room. When we got into the new room we foundout that it was dirtier: hair on the bathroom walls, sand on the sheets. It was late and we could'nt look for a different hotel so we stayed, could'nt fall a sleep, just waited for the morning to come so we can run away from this dump...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barnoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
19 Atlantic Hotel
#63 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Northeast Virginia Beach
Cerca Del Mar
Cerca Del Mar
#93 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Super 8 Virginia Beach Oceanfron...
#70 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oceans 2700 Hotel
#57 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency
#77 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Beach Carousel Motel
#76 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Marlin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marlin Motel

Property: Blue Marlin Motel
Address: 2411 Pacific Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Marlin Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Marlin Inn & Suites is located right in the middle of vacation district, where all the fun and excitement prevails. Just a block and a half away from boardwalk and the ocean, our motel personifies simplicity and luxury like no other VA Beach HotelsThis plush family owned motel, is made more special with the personalized attention and gracious behavior of the owners, who make sure that your stay is as pleasurable and joyous as you can imagine it to be. Our newly renovated motel boasts of an enhanced and improved ambience and upscale amenities. Rooms and suites, adorned with the finest of features, add a majestic touch to your stay. We consider it our priority to serve our guests with the exceptional service and best of facilities in a time bound manner. Our motivated and experienced staff is always at your service to provide anything that your heart desires. We are acknowledged as one of the finest Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel for our impeccable service and attention to details. The pristine ambiance combined with our immaculate service is bound to enhance your comfort and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Blue Marlin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Marlin Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing