We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“I think the place houses section 8 tennants” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency
Ranked #73 of 110 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I think the place houses section 8 tennants”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I am an photographer as a hobby. I traveled to Virginia Beach to photograph an Airshow.
Check in was a breeze I went up to my room and fell fast a sleep after a 4 hour drive. About 1:30 a.m. I hear a bunch of yelling out on the balconey. Startled,I move the curtain aside and peek out.
A group of three Black guys are yelling back and forth to each other on the balcony. Never mind they are only 15 feet apart they are yelling. One guy is eating a bag of chips as he yells spraying them all over the floor of the balconey. I called down stairs,called the Police nothing. It went on for a good 40-45 minutes. The Police did show up and I believe took one away. I would have opened the door and talked to them but I had $2500.00 in camera equipment in the room. Besides,theis may have been their plan! I had the impression that this Hotel may have year round residents who are section 8.
For what it's worth my room was very clean and free of smells. However,at night I am not going to call this a place I would call safe. A lot of people just hanging out and walking real slow.
As I left in the morning I could see cigarette butts and a half bag of potato chips strewn out on the balconey. Truly a class act.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dave3006308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    43
    36
    19
    39
See reviews for
75
25
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Motel is in great location management is poor service frontdesk is excent. DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU DON'T WANT TO BRING BED BUGS IN UR HOUSE ...maneger even BLAME ME that I brought the bed bugs in the motel while I'm the one got beated up and need to go to the doctor!! And I cannot get my money BACK go else where for better service

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvermist0116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Virginia Beach hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

No service, horrible customer service, smelly place... Go somewhere else, even the low rates are not worthed. They took wrong reservation, we had no apologies from them and no help to find à place for the last day of our vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deladu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel for the past two summer's. Rooms were reasonably priced, and not too far to walk to oceanfront. Could be better stocked with more dishes in the kitchenette rooms. Not enough for the max. number of guests allowed. Phones need to be replaced in rooms. They are old and beat up. Internet only works if you go sit right outside of office. Need better routers for service throughout hotel. A laundry facility on grounds would be great to have. A/C in rooms need to be cleaned. Rooms smell when you first turn ac on. Just more routine mat. overall and this little hotel could be a great mini vacation spot at the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhouff67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence Rhode Island, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

very disaponted with hotel managment, bad customer service. the only good thing is the location other than that stay away. very dirty from stairs to rooms. im still trying to get refunded for a night i did not spent there. STAY AWAY

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TTsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

I don't like to think of myself as snobby or "upperclass", and I'm not the least bit high maintenance to believe I need to stay at the Ritz Carlton when I go on vacation. When my family pulled into the parking lot of the Sundial, it reminded me of an inner city rundown dump....VERY outdated...OLD tv....OLD furniture...the bathroom door was EXTREMELY narrow...the room was clean, the location was nice, staff was courteous and helpful though....the outside was basically a big cement block painted brown...they claimed it was no smoking but the room reeked of it...I was afraid to walk barefoot in the room, and kept my shoes on the whole time. Next time, I will defiantly be staying somewhere else...if you're single with no kids and want to stay somewhere cheap, you might be ok....me, my husband or children won't be stepping foot in that place again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bswilson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I was very disapointed in this hotel. When my friend and I first arrived I pulled down the blanket and there was blood on it all over the inside, and when we told the front desk they acted like it wasn't a big deal. On top of thta some of the lights were out and there was a a good size hole in the wall, sorry but my friend and I both agreed that we would never go back there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
Northeast Virginia Beach
Cerca Del Mar
Cerca Del Mar
#97 of 110 in Virginia Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Northeast Virginia Beach
19 Atlantic Hotel
19 Atlantic Hotel
#58 of 110 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Oceans 2700 Hotel
#55 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alamar Resort Inn
#53 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Atrium Resort
#41 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
Beach Carousel Motel
#70 of 110 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency

Property: Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency
Address: 308 21st St, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach > Northeast Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 110 Hotels in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Sundial Inn Motel and Efficiency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Inn Motel And Efficiency Hotel Virginia Beach
Sundial Motel Virginia Beach
Sundial Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing