We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Fancier Restaurant in VA Beach”
Review of Aldo's Ristorante

Aldo's Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Aldo's Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 1,459 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Northeast Virginia Beach
Description: Aldo's Ristorante- Locally owned and operated is the Award winning Local's favorite for fine Italian Dining since 1988. Aldo's has a rich history of serving the highest quality Italian cuisine with the freshest ingredients. Aldo's is proud to offer our guests an extensive wine list that has won the coveted Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 1995. Come and enjoy lunch or dinner at Aldo's. We feature delicious food, wonderful wines, superb service and excellent value!
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We made some last minute OpenTable reservations for Aldo's when it seemed like other plans with friends were going to fall through. When we arrived, we noticed this restaurant was trying to be more upscale than other restaurants you'd find at the beach, as there was even a sign on the front door that said that proper attire was acquired, you can't wear hats, etc. We asked the host staff if they could seat us at a table that could accommodate two more, as another couple told us they were coming. The staff was able to give us at a table for four by the piano. We felt a little underdressed when we came in, as the host staff had suits and ties and some guests were dressed more formally, as well. Thankfully, there were other guests who were dressed even more casually than we were, so it didn't seem like much of a big deal.
Our waitress was very friendly and attentive. The food was pretty good. I ordered the chicken parm, which I would have finished all of if it wasn't for the fact that I didn't want to go to bed feeling stuffed full of food. The food is a little pricier than what you would find at a typical chain Italian restaurant, but it was worth it. We would definitely come back here again (and probably with pants, instead of shorts).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah K, Guest Relations Manager at Aldo's Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

We're glad you and your guests left Aldo's full and satisfied. Receiving feedback from our guests helps us improve and grow. Thank you for the review and we hope you stop by the next time you're in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 179 of 313 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

Went there this evening. Ordered the Zucchini Frittata which was tough and greasy. The green was a dark green as if the squash were old - tasted old as well. Ordered Chicken Picatta which is my usual. The chicken looked manufactured - undercooked and my fork would not go through it - tough as leather - seemed microwaved and had no saute indication. Completely white/light pink & unappetizing - the knife barely went through it - usually it is succulently tender. Clearly their concern for quality has greatly diminished. My waiter was one I have seen before. Didn't seem to really care about our experience - quick and on to the next - not authentic. A very kind waiter stepped in as the original did not have time to show concern. No accommodation was made. Ordered a Mozzarella appetizer and paid full price for all. The meal was over priced, under-served and quality well below it's cost. This is no longer my favorite and my visiting business associates will go elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank A J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah K, Guest Relations Manager at Aldo's Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

We are sorry that you had a bad experience at Aldo's. We pride our restaurant of 25 years with serving the most delicious food available, but we are human. Please contact us directly at the restaurant so we may remedy your bad experience. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Figured we had to get away from the beach area to avoid the tourist trap restaurants. Drove 10 to 15 minutes inland and found Aldo's. Great atmosphere, professional wait staff and very good food. We would go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mass_traveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah K, Public Relations Manager at Aldo's Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

We're glad you enjoyed your visit to Aldo's Ristorante. We hope you'll come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

when visiting Virginia beach we decided to try this restaurant. we first called for a reservation. then we called for directions. we then called about byob and they said yes and where we could buy wine. they never mentioned a cork charge in any of the 3 phone calls. we had a wonderful meal and great service. they also had their own bar which we commented on and still no mention of the cork charge. we then get the bill with a charge of $25.00 per bottle which we had 2 of. when we asked why a charge they said that was their policy. we told them no one told about this and all they said was that they were sorry. we told them we from out of town but they could care less. I might never get back there but I think they handled this situation poorly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BARBARA I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah K, Guest Relations Manager at Aldo's Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

We're sorry about the miscommunication. Please feel free to call us at the restaurant so we may settle this. 757-491-1111. Despite the miscommunication, we're glad you and your guests were able to enjoy your meal with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

A great Italian restaurant off of Laskin Road. Nice interior providing a very god ambient for dining. The menu is very diverse, great daily specials, everything sounded tempting when quoted by the very attentive staff. Although I was in a bit of a hurry I enjoyed my dinner. Highly recommended for a nice romantic dinner or just with friends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lothar56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah K, Guest Relations Manager at Aldo's Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful recommendation. We hope next time your visit won't be rushed and you can enjoy one of our delicious desserts. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aldo's Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Aldo's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing