We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”
Review of Aldo's Ristorante

Aldo's Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Aldo's Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 1,435 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Northeast Virginia Beach
Description: Aldo's Ristorante- Locally owned and operated is the Award winning Local's favorite for fine Italian Dining since 1988. Aldo's has a rich history of serving the highest quality Italian cuisine with the freshest ingredients. Aldo's is proud to offer our guests an extensive wine list that has won the coveted Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 1995. Come and enjoy lunch or dinner at Aldo's. We feature delicious food, wonderful wines, superb service and excellent value!
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average at best”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

No bread! What authentic Italian restaurant doesn't offer bread. No meatballs or meatsauce- disappointed 6yrs old. Food was blah, nothing great. The manicotti was horrible. The server had to recheck the specials several times while telling us about them. We would definitely not go back. This place used to be good, 10 yrs ago.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeanieBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah K, Guest Relations Manager at Aldo's Ristorante, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We're sorry to hear your time at Aldo's wasn't well spent. We take feedback from our guests very seriously. Please call a manager at the restaurant so we can correct this situation. 757-491-1111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    67
    18
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Franklin,Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“SUPERIOR ITALIAN RISTORANTE!!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have eaten at almost every Italian place in Tidewater. Our first trip to Aldo's was by accident.
Before Aldo's opened, the location was a pizza shop, and our sons love to eat there. We live in Franklin, VA which is a sixty plus mile drive. We arrived, and it was gone, and Aldo's was there. It was the beginning of a long affair with Jim Farci. He met us at the door, and we have been friends ever since. Twenty plus years!! The finest service, the friendliest staff, and the superior freshly prepared food for you and your Family or Friends. Also, one of the most beautiful restaurants in the area with atmosphere plus. When dining at Aldo's, it is like going home to have Mama prepare your favorite meal. ENJOY, YOU HAVE EARNED IT!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rcduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah K, Guest Relations Manager at Aldo's Ristorante, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We're glad your first trip to Aldo's Ristorante turned into a long lasting relationship. We love our guests and love hearing when they leave satisfied. If you have any input please feel free to share it with our feedback section of our website at www.aldosvb.com. We hope you'll come back and see us sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Busy and slow”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Aldo's was packed when we got there but we're seated fairly quickly for our 7:30 reservation.
They sat us near the back which was fine until the piano player started who was really loud. I prefer to have much softer music or none at all.

As soon as the waiter comes to your table they ask if you want Focaccia Bread before you look at the menu and realize its a $4.00 appetizer. Having gone to Aldo's a few years ago and falling for the same bread upgrade charge Trick I knew the bread didn't come with the meal. Since we were not provided bread like most Italian Restaurants and didnt see on any other tables I assume they dont offer bread, which i find very cheap of them, especially considering the prices are high and everything is al la carte.

We ordered the tomato and mozzarella appetizer which was good but came with only two pieces which is expensive for $10.
Both main dishes tasted good but took a long time to get served to the table. And when we got the food it was just luke warm my guess being that it sat back in the kitchen and was not brought out right away when done. Maybe that was because our waiter was busy at other tables and pouring water. ( Couldn't a fancy restaurant have a water boy for that?)

Overall very average, have found much better/cheaper Italian at the beach.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deanva1856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah K, Guest Relations Manager at Aldo's Ristorante, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We're sorry your experience wasn't the best during your last visit with us. We take our guest's feedback very seriously. If you have any other input or concerns you would like to share with us please feel free to visit our website's feedback section. www.aldosvb.com. We hope you'll give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Anniversary Celebration”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We Love Aldo's and have been dining here since 1988. They recently had a 25th anniversary dinner special which was wonderful. The food s consistently outstanding and the atmosphere is romantic. We love to get a table near the piano on weekends and recommend having the calamari which is divine. The seafood and pasta dishes are delicious and the wine list has something for everyone. One of our Favorite local restaurants!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarGuru51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah K, Guest Relations Manager at Aldo's Ristorante, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed our special menu. We love to be consistent, but change things up every once in a while. It makes us happy to hear that our guests had a great time and enjoy coming back to see us. We hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best of everything”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The all time best in my 16 years in Virginia Beach. Classy, while not pompous. The stuffed veal chop is a continual favorite. well prepared wine list.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank KenOlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah K, General Manager at Aldo's Ristorante, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We're glad you had a great evening at Aldo's Ristorante. We enjoy hearing from our repeat guests about their experiences. You help to make us one of the best in Hampton Roads. We hope you come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aldo's Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Aldo's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing