We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silver Wedding Anniversary Reception”

Swan Terrace Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Swan Terrace Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 1,435 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Centerville Turnpike
Description: 'Fresh, local cuisine with a touch of Southern elegance.' The award-winning Swan Terrace Restaurant takes guests on a sensory journey inspired by both regional and authentic Colonial dishes. The menu features locally grown fruits, vegetables and the freshest seafood as well as prime beef, lamb and pork prepared to perfection. Dine by the fireplace or alfresco on the lakeside terrace.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
“Silver Wedding Anniversary Reception”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Thanks so much to Jessica (Manager) and Almira and the rest of the staff for an amazing customer service!!! My husband and I were very happy to let everyone know that this place is superb!! and we will use them again and again!!! Great food, excellent service and great ambience!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nenen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, Manager at Swan Terrace Restaurant, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Good Evening Nenen2014,
Thank you for taking your time to write a review of your experience on trip advisor. We work hard to ensure that all guests have a wonderful experience. We enjy being a part of a special event and do our best to make each guest feel special. We are pleased that you will return to dine with us again. Guests that return to us allow us to make a true connection. When you return please remind us of the time you spent with us on your anniversary so we may again show you how special your time together is.
Warm Regards,
Cheryl Stephens
Assistant Manager Swan Terrace Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    62
    23
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Brunch with Brother and Sister-in-law”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My brother and his wife were in town for a few days. We usually do lunch at least once at Swan Terrace.
The Saturday Brunch was excellent. Three entrees-Roast Pork with Apples and Currants, Roast Chicken,
and a seafood. Several salads, two soups, Cheese and Fresh Fruit, and the outstanding Bread Pudding.

They were quite busy for a Saturday, two large parties plus an inhouse Marriage Retreat.

Overall, excellent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, Manager at Swan Terrace Restaurant, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Good Evening Ken L.,
I am pleased to hear that you brought your family, that was visiting from out of town, to the Swan Terrace for our Lunch Buffet. The chef's work hard to ensure a nice selection of entrees as well as side items everyday. The soups are creations of each member of the culinary team as they use the freshest ingredients possible to create every soup you will find on the buffet. The Bread Pudding is a signature item that will always be available on the buffet whether it is a normal lunch or a holiday buffet. It is the one desssert out guests will always ask for. I hope that you will join us again soon as we have many opportunities to try new and exciting dishes such as our Mouth Watering Monday Wine Pairing Dinner or our Saturday Afternoon Tea. If we can ever be of assistance please let us know.
Fond Regards,
Cheryl Stephens
Asst. Manager
Swan Terrace Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“poor service”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Don't arrive late for the breakfast or lunch buffet -- nothing is refreshed after the first offering and later pickings are very slim.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Golfmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, Manager at Swan Terrace Restaurant, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Good Evening Golfmom2,
I offer you my apologies that during the time you dined with us the buffet was not kept refreshed until the restaurant was closed. It is our responsibility to ensure all of our guests are given the same offerings whether they choose to join us at the beginning of service or the end. Please be assured that we take every review into serious consideration in order to prevent any defects from happening a second time as well as to recognize the positives.
Regards,
Cheryl Stephens
Asst. Manager
Swan Terrace Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, VA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location for surprise 90th birthday party”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We recently celebrated my grandmother's 90th birthday party at Swan Terrace Grill. Everything from planning to food to service was spot on. Management went out of their way to make sure everything went smoothly. We had a semi-private area overlooking the pond at the back of the main room. Gift and cake tables were provided and all tables were beautifully decorated. We had the buffet for lunch and all the food was delicious - cheese board, soups, salad, fresh green beans, roasted potatoes, baked chicken, pork tenderloin, flank steak, rolls. More mouthwatering desserts than I can name here. And as wonderful as event planning and the food were, the service was even better. We had two dedicated servers - Kai and Emily - who went out of their way to make sure it was a successful party. We were a large party but they didn't overlook a thing. It was fantastic. We wanted a special event to mark a special occasion. Swan Terrace did not disappoint. It was a great event.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VickyLynn00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, Manager at Swan Terrace Restaurant, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Good Evening VickyLynn,
Thank you for writing a review on your experience with your grandmother's 90th birthday. It is a pleasure to plan special events with our guests but we gain the most pleasure when all the details come together and our guests have a great event with their friends and family. Kai and Emily are two of our best team members and I am glad that you enjoyed their care. I hope that in the future your friends and family will join us not only for special events but for a restaurant that you join for a regular dining experience.
Warm Regards,
Cheryl Stephens
Asst. Manager
Swan Terrace Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad Dining Experience”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Heard great reviews about Swan Terrace so decided to try this restaurant. Our family had reservations and prime rib was the special. Service and food was very poor. The restaurant ran out of our first choice of wine and bread for our table. We waited one hour and 15 minutes for a dry cut of prime rib that looked like a round steak and was not cooked to our order. When it was time for dessert we also asked for coffee that never came because the waitress forgot. The ambience was great with a big fireplace and the grounds were lit beautifully.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank norikos2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, Manager at Swan Terrace Restaurant, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Good Evening Noriko,
I offer my apologies that your food and service did not match the great reviews that you had heard about us. The prime rib special is an event that we have every Thursday night. I am truly sorry that the prime rib did not meet your expectations. We take our reviews seriously and have meetings with our culinary team to ensure that we correct any defects. I hope that you will join us again and give us a chance to give you a good experience to replace the bad one you had on your first experience with us.
Sincerely,
Cheryl Stephens
Asst. Manager
Swan Terrace Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swan Terrace Restaurant also viewed

Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Swan Terrace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing