We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy”

Swan Terrace Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Swan Terrace Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 1,435 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Centerville Turnpike
Description: 'Fresh, local cuisine with a touch of Southern elegance.' The award-winning Swan Terrace Restaurant takes guests on a sensory journey inspired by both regional and authentic Colonial dishes. The menu features locally grown fruits, vegetables and the freshest seafood as well as prime beef, lamb and pork prepared to perfection. Dine by the fireplace or alfresco on the lakeside terrace.
Locust Grove, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This place has one incredible Sunday brunch! Their special dinners and events are always well done. It is not a large venue but very pretty. I love how it open to the terrace in good weather.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ckhbrodt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, Manager at Swan Terrace Restaurant, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Good Evening,
Thank you for letting others know how you enjoyed the Swan Terrace Grill. Sunday brunch is a full scale buffet extravaganza. My favorite part of Sunday Brunch is the action stations where you can receive a made to order omelet or waffle, as well as crabcakes. We look forward to when winter is over and we can again take care of guests on our Outdoor Terrace with a view of the English Gardens or our Lake with Abigail the Swan. It is our hope that you will join us again in the future.
Regards,
Cheryl Stephens
Asst. Manager
Swan Terrace Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    62
    23
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I visited swan terrace a few times during my stay, and I was always blown away by it. I love the tables near the fireplace, it offers a wonderful view of the grounds. Once in awhile they have a pianist playing, beautiful music. A good range of items to choose from on the menu, and the brunch had a delicious spread too. More importantly the service was genuine and caring, a wonderful team!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank truthbetold87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, Manager at Swan Terrace Restaurant, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Good Evening,
Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review. We are pleased to hear that not only did you enjoy the food but that you also received excellent service. Sunday Brunch is a weekly event that many guests come to frequently and bring the entire family. We have various musicians that perform for several events in the restaurant including a pianist for Afternoon Tea and Sunday Brunch, while we use Jazz Bands for our outdoor and ballroom events. If you have a chance to visit the Founder's Inn in the future we hope you will again dine with us in the Swan Terrace Grill.
Sincerely,
Cheryl Stephens
Asst. Manager
Swan Terrace Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

It was Virginia Beach's restaurant week last week so it's a great time for us to try a three course meal at a very reasonable price at a restaurant we haven't dined before. The service, food and atmosphere was wonderful. My husband had the rockfish with ham risotto and I tried the grilled pork chop with roasted winter vegetables (parsnips, turnips, carrots and potatoes). I had the cauliflower soup as an appetizer and red velvet cheesecake for dessert. My husband had the roasted beet appetizer and the apple feta crumble for dessert. The food was delicious and the portions the perfect size. We hope to return soon for another wonderful meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janisrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, Manager at Swan Terrace Restaurant, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Good Evening Janism,
We are very happy to hear that you joined us during restaurant week. The entrees you and your husband ordered were 2 of the items that are my personal favorites on our a la carte menu. The Menu was designed in order to give our guests a wide variety of the options on our full menu. We look forward to having you return to try even more items from our menu such as the crispy pork belly appetizer and our signature Dish of Hampton Roads winning Beef and Bone entree. When you make your future reservation please mention you were a restaurant week guest so we are able to stop by your table and speak with you about your experiences.
Warm Regards,
Cheryl Stephens
Asst. Manager
Swan Terrace Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Charles, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Mouthwatering Monday Is Amazing”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Earlier this month my wife and I attended the Mouthwatering Monday Australia wine dinner at Swan Terrace Grill at Founders Inn & Spa. What an amazing and wonderful dinner this was, and a fantastic value for six courses plus wines! The menu was so well thought out, and each course beautifully presented, beginning with kangaroo sliders and crocodile satay hors d'oeuvres - we had never eaten either before and they were delicious - followed by Tasmanian trout salad, Barramundi, lamb, a Wagyu beef filet and ending with a kiwi pavlova! Each was paired with a special wine. We especially enjoyed our Australian host, who discussed each course and explained where in Australia the food was from, complete with a map on our menu. We felt like we had a virtual trip to Australia! For sure we'll be going back for each of these monthly meals.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard23310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, Manager at Swan Terrace Restaurant, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Good Evening Richard,
We are pleased to hear that you joined us for our Mouth Watering Monday event. The Kangaroo was my favorite dish of the evening. We offer these wine pairing dinners on the fist Monday of each Month. We enjoy pairing the theme of each event with the speaker or music to create a wonderful ambiance. We create each menu with care to be something guests may keep as a memento from the evening. I am very happy to hear that you plan to join us for future Mouth Watering Monday Events. Please continue to let us know how we do when you visit us in the future.
Fond Regards,
Cheryl Roberts-Stephens
Asst. Manager
Swan Terrace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
“Swan Terrace VA Beach - EXCELLENT!!!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My wife and I dined there for the first time, during VA Beach's Restaurant Week - a bit of a drive from our house, but as it turned out, well worth it! The meal was far superior to what we expected of a "reduced rate" special week meal - the portions were large, perfectly prepared, served timely and hot. Our server, Emily S., was cordial, helpful with menu items, and very attentive throughout the meal. We were also visited by the manager to ensure we were enjoying ourselves, which we were! The ambiance of Swan Terrace is first rate, with high ceilings, lovely view, and a live pianist playing traditional favorites. This was a first class restaurant experience, and we've already booked a future visit in a few weeks.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank and Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundersInn, Manager at Swan Terrace Restaurant, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Good Evening Frank and Maria T,
Restaurant Week is one of my favorite times of the year as it allows many people to try restuarants they have never visited before as in your case. I am very pleased that you enjoyed both the meals and the service you received while dining with us. Emily is one of our regular dinner servers and she has many good suggestions for not just the meal but beverage pairings as well. We look forward to having you dine with us again in the future and are always here to be of assistance if you need anything.
Warm Regards,
Cheryl Roberts
Asst Mananger
Swan Terrace Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swan Terrace Restaurant also viewed

Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Swan Terrace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing